Customer Reviews for

Collide (Collide Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 347 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(235)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I received an ARC copy from the author in exchange for an hone

I received an ARC copy from the author in exchange for an honest review...




4.5 Stars!! Collide is Freaking Phenomenal! 




I'm so glad that this was the book to start off my 2013! I love the way Gail McHugh writes! Her prose is so smooth, the story flowed seamles...
I received an ARC copy from the author in exchange for an honest review...




4.5 Stars!! Collide is Freaking Phenomenal! 




I'm so glad that this was the book to start off my 2013! I love the way Gail McHugh writes! Her prose is so smooth, the story flowed seamlessly. I think one of my favorite things about this book was the fact that there was so much raw emotion that bled from its pages. 




 




Emily: Her character developed beautifully. Broken, but hanging on to the things she holds dear. Her boyfriend, her sister, her best-friend Olivia, and her boyfriend Dillon. Things seem to be coming together, until.....(enter incredibly, painfully gorgeous, dreamy, fu*kable, amazing, charming Gavin.)




 




Gavin: Like seriously... where is the machine that turns our book boyfriends into flesh because I am completely head over heels in love with this delectable dude! Gavin Blake is just ...Wow! They way he loves is stunning. The things that he makes Emily feel *sigh*....Fate definitely had a good time with these two, and it will have you holding your breath, jaw dropping to the floor,and smiling like a fool! 




 












Collide is the total package, steamy, fun, and a little heart-wrenching. Gail does a wonderful job at making you feel like you are part of everything that's going on throughout the whole book. By the end, if you don't already feel like you know the characters personally, you may need to re-read it 'cause you definitely missed something. Her characters are as real as they come.

posted by BookWorm_Madison on January 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Wait to read

I want to warn fellow readers to wait until the second or third books comes out. If you are like me and want to read a book that has an ending and not wait months for it then wait for the whole series to come out. The story line was okay but Emily drove me crazy i hope ...
I want to warn fellow readers to wait until the second or third books comes out. If you are like me and want to read a book that has an ending and not wait months for it then wait for the whole series to come out. The story line was okay but Emily drove me crazy i hope she grows a backbone in the next book.. I wish this trend of writing books in three parts would end:(

posted by 767079 on January 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    It was good

    But the ending sucked. I wanted to punch the writter in the head!!!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Surprised...

    Ok, so if you don't love your fiance, and you can't be with the man you do love, why not just be with NO ONE? Why would Emily marry Dillon, a man she is no longer in love with, just because she isn't ready to deal with her scary emotions for Gavin? Also, I effing HATE the end of this book. This cliffhanger sh't has got to stop. If the author knows a second, or more, book is happening, why not just wrap up the first. I'll still buy the next book. The plot is strong. The sexual tension is palpable. The emotions are heart-wrenching. I went through the entire book waiting for the payoff, a reward for putting me through the drama and stress of these characters. I got nada. I would have give this book 5 stars if it wasn't for the ending. Over the trend of breaking books up. It's greedy, and it makes me want to NOT buy the next book to be spiteful. But, d@mn if I don't want to know what happens. I will say I enjoyed the ending because Emily finally sees people for who they are, if ya know what I mean (if you have read it, then you do. If not, then you are not in on this one, sorry.) I recommend this book, but only after warning potential readers, i.e. customers, that it is not a stand alone, and you hate cliffhangers, well, wait for the next however many to come out first, because this one is a doozy. oh, yeah... I EFFING LOVE GAVIN. I hate the term "book boyfriend" so I will call him my book lovah. Mmmmmmm .....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Anonymous

    I loved this book!! I fell in love with Gavin. Got so frustrated with Emily.. was able to connect with the characters. Would love to read more. Would recommend!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    Never have I ever read a book with more emotional angsty goodnes

    Never have I ever read a book with more emotional angsty goodness than Collide. From the very beginning, I bought every single word Gail McHugh was selling and then some. And, you know what's weird? I'm usually not a fan of love triangles. Or cheating. Collide has the love triangle to beat all love triangles, as well as some cheating. And, I just could not get enough. So, bravo to Ms. McHugh for doing what few authors have been able to do.

    Emily moves to New York to be near her boyfriend Dillon and her BFF Olivia after her mother passes away in her home state of Colorado. After only a few days in the city, Emily meets Gavin completely by chance. And, it's sorta love at first sight. Except Emily's already in love with someone else. As time moves on and Dillon and Gavin both show their true colors, Emily has to decide what is more important - the past or the future.

    I'd heard nothing but amazing things about Collide from many other new adult fans. I bought it for my Kindle over the summer. And it sat there. For months. I'm not sure why. I just didn't get to it. Then, I bought the audio version from Audible. And, I was like, WHOA. I am such an idiot for not reading this sooner!

    Initially, I wasn't a big fan of Emily's. It was glaringly obvious who the right guy was, and yet she spent the entire span of the book denying it, even in the face of some pretty convincing evidence. This was one of those books for which a padded Kindle cover is a good thing - you know - for the times you want to throw it across the room because you're so damn frustrated. On one hand I wanted Emily to realize what was doing from the beginning. On the other hand, her self-denial made for some pretty amazing sexual tension between she and Gavin.

    OMG - it was beyond delicious. Gail McHugh knows how to write the heat. I'd classify Collide as a mature NA book. And the heated tension between Emily and Gavin is the best part of the book. It was palpable on every single page. It doesn't hurt that McHugh made Gavin this amazingly perfect specimen of a man. I think any encounter between him and a woman would overheat my senses. But with Emily - the woman he loves more than his next breath - swoon city, baby.

    Dillon is the biggest jerk EVER - I kept waiting for the moment when Emily realized what the reader had known for awhile. It was a very long wait. Gail McHugh was able to weave a powerful message into her epic love story - a message about finding your inner strength and beauty when someone all but rips it away from you. Other reviewers called it "stupidity" or Emily being a door mat. But, I get what Gail McHugh was trying to say. Sometimes, especially in the face of a tragedy when you're at your weakest, others are able to convince you that you need them and are not able to make it on your own. It sucks, but it happens all the time. This book was very real in that aspect. By the end of Collide, Emily has finally started reclaiming her voice and her life, and although you don't get to see Dillon's comeuppance, you know it's coming.

    Collide ends on one of those good kinds of cliffhangers. Most of the loose ends are tied up and the story comes to a close, but there's one big thing left undone that absolutely compels you to read the next book in the series. By the time the end rolled around, I was very glad that I had had the foresight to purchase the audio version of Pulse (Collide #2) and had it waiting for me. Because, although the ending was good, I was left wanting to know what came next.

    The banter between Emily and Gavin is many times lighthearted and sweet. Olivia's and Emily's restaurant is funny and real and amazing. Those moments were the lightest of the book. For the most part, Collide is angsty with a capital A. It's perfect for when you want one of those super emo romantic books. Just, trust me when I say, have Pulse ready to go before you finish. You'll thank me for that bit of advice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Good read

    Liked the book. Have to admit I wanted to reach in the book and shake Emily a couple times. Hate that I have to wait to find out what happens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    can't wait until the second book comes out.

    can't wait until the second book comes out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2015

    good read

    good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    Tick....Tock.....Holy literary blue balls!!!! Thank goodness I h

    Tick....Tock.....Holy literary blue balls!!!! Thank goodness I have Pulse locked and loaded and ready to go or I would have been pulling my hair out with a major book hangover!

    Emily reminds me of Kiera from Thoughtless because I wanted to shake her, smack her and put gum in her hair. What are you doing girl? Everyone around them knew her true feelings except her. Chicks that have their heads jammed up their bums while these rich hunky men throw themselves at her make me SO insane!! Pick Gavin because Dillion is a tool, but pick ONE because you cannot have both, damn it.

    Now. Mr. Gavin Blake. I love that angst filled, bottle cap loving stud. Even though I am from Red Sox nation, this is a Yankee fan I can get on board with. He might have just crept on to my list of top book boyfriends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    This and more reviews at The Book Bar.co Rating: House/Well; an

    This and more reviews at The Book Bar.co

    Rating: House/Well; an intoxicating mix of sexual tension and moral dilemma.

    We met Gail McHugh at the Phoenix Author Signing Event and she handed us her first book for a giveaway. I've loved the original cover since I first saw it and couldn't wait to read this book. New cover... just as sexy.

    I read this book over the weekend and, honestly, put it down twice, but these characters and the storyline haunted me. I NEEDED to finish it.

    At first, the book introduces you to the characters and makes you think that Emily is a pure hearted individual and Gavin is some careless, sexy, business mogul that is in need of Emily's guidance. So, wrong. Gavin is a caring man in need of love and Emily is there to pick him up... and crush him.
    In a room filled with people, in that moment, she felt oddly alone-until her eyes locked onto Gavin's. For Emily, the world seemed to stop. The music whispered in the background while voices became muted and unimportant. Again, the undeniable connection between them was apparent from across the space, even if not witnessed by anyone else. It was there-unwavering and unrelenting. She found it hard to breathe as the overwhelming tidal wave of emotions took hold and pulled her into the current, pounding and roaring with power greater than hers.
    Collide. McHugh, Gail. pg. 231

    Emily is torn between her supportive boyfriend, Dillon, and Gavin, a true 'soulmate' if she believed in them. I couldn't stand Dillon's sudden change in demeanor and while reading about him I just wanted to find out why he was acting differently. What changed him? Was he always like this and Emily just never saw it?

    I think I connected more with the Gavin character and perceived the situations from his point of view. Emily's indecisiveness, despite all her loved ones stopping her and begging her to realize what she really needs to do, drove me crazy.

    Collide is the first in the Collide series, followed by Pulse. I NEED to read Pulse. I need to know what Emily's next move is going to be. I want to make sure Gavin gets a happy ending, even if it isn't with Emily. Ahhh Emily!  I want to grab you by the shoulders and shake some sense into you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    Wow! Although this story was a page turner, it was extremely dis

    Wow! Although this story was a page turner, it was extremely disturbing at times. Emily Cooper is too nice, a real people pleaser!. She needs to think about what she wants out of life instead of letting her deceitful fiancee run her life. Dillon has changed from the caring, thoughtful young man into a controlling, cruel and abusive monster. When hot, millionaire Gavin Blake offers her a loving relationship, Emily can't accept because of that insane fiancee of hers! I hope book #2 resolves the various conflicts because that ending was horrible!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Pretty good

    Very emotional story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Well written

    Great character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Can't wait for the 2nd!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    GREAT READ!!!

    GREAT READ!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Intense

    Great love scenes lots of passion got a little redundant but reakly picked up towards the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Great book

    Love this book great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Review

    This book was the best one ive read in a long time. Laughed and cried. Second book is Pulse and it finished the story perfectly. I suggest you read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Pretty Good book! If you like the steamy scenes and a persistent

    Pretty Good book! If you like the steamy scenes and a persistent guy like Gavin.....read on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ¿Attracting, compelling, colliding, their chemistry - to say the

    “Attracting, compelling, colliding, their chemistry - to say the least - was explosive.”

    Wow!! Gail McHugh has an amazingly artistic touch to her writing. She paints very vivid images throughout the entire story that give you goosebumps and leave you on an almost sensory overload with the imagery.

    This story had me from the very beginning! I was caught up in the intense emotions faced by Emily as she first experiences her mother’s death, and then learns to make her way in a city completely foreign to her. At times, I really wanted Emily to have a bit more of a backbone, particularly when it came to Dillon and the completely awful ways in which he treated her.

    And then there’s Gavin Blake...*sigh*...He’s a bottle-cap tossing, Yankees-lovin’, alpha male with an insatiable need to be with Emily. Who can blame Emily for wanting to also be with him? But there’s that annoying little situation with Dillon, her boyfriend! Is it possible for her to let him go? Is Gavin done with his past? But how to argue with the intense emotional attraction and pull that they have for each other?

    I loved the secondary characters, too. Olivia, her best friend, had me laughing out loud constantly with her don't give a damn attitude. I felt they all added to the story without overpowering it with their own stories.

    As you can imagine this book takes you from highs to lows and makes you want to scream a few times! I loved the absolute intensity of it and as it is a cliffhanger (I run from those!), I am SO glad I chose to wait to read it until Pulse was available.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Really good read

    Really good book, anxiously waiting for the sequel pulse to be released!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4