Customer Reviews for

Collide (Collide Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 353 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(241)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I received an ARC copy from the author in exchange for an hone

I received an ARC copy from the author in exchange for an honest review...




4.5 Stars!! Collide is Freaking Phenomenal! 




I'm so glad that this was the book to start off my 2013! I love the way Gail McHugh writes! Her prose is so smooth, the story flowed seamles...
I received an ARC copy from the author in exchange for an honest review...




4.5 Stars!! Collide is Freaking Phenomenal! 




I'm so glad that this was the book to start off my 2013! I love the way Gail McHugh writes! Her prose is so smooth, the story flowed seamlessly. I think one of my favorite things about this book was the fact that there was so much raw emotion that bled from its pages. 




 




Emily: Her character developed beautifully. Broken, but hanging on to the things she holds dear. Her boyfriend, her sister, her best-friend Olivia, and her boyfriend Dillon. Things seem to be coming together, until.....(enter incredibly, painfully gorgeous, dreamy, fu*kable, amazing, charming Gavin.)




 




Gavin: Like seriously... where is the machine that turns our book boyfriends into flesh because I am completely head over heels in love with this delectable dude! Gavin Blake is just ...Wow! They way he loves is stunning. The things that he makes Emily feel *sigh*....Fate definitely had a good time with these two, and it will have you holding your breath, jaw dropping to the floor,and smiling like a fool! 




 












Collide is the total package, steamy, fun, and a little heart-wrenching. Gail does a wonderful job at making you feel like you are part of everything that's going on throughout the whole book. By the end, if you don't already feel like you know the characters personally, you may need to re-read it 'cause you definitely missed something. Her characters are as real as they come.

posted by BookWorm_Madison on January 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Wait to read

I want to warn fellow readers to wait until the second or third books comes out. If you are like me and want to read a book that has an ending and not wait months for it then wait for the whole series to come out. The story line was okay but Emily drove me crazy i hope ...
I want to warn fellow readers to wait until the second or third books comes out. If you are like me and want to read a book that has an ending and not wait months for it then wait for the whole series to come out. The story line was okay but Emily drove me crazy i hope she grows a backbone in the next book.. I wish this trend of writing books in three parts would end:(

posted by 767079 on January 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 241 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Thought this book was excellent. I couldn't put it down, as it is more realistic than some of the other books out there today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2014

    Collide by Gail McHugh is a roller coaster of emotions and if I

    Collide by Gail McHugh is a roller coaster of emotions and if I could have given it 10 stars I would have.
    I was captivated by the first chapter “Chance Encounters”.  This is where we meet Emily Cooper, a recent college graduate, who has just recently lost her mother to cancer.  She is getting a fresh start by moving to New York City to live with her best friend Olivia and be near her boyfriend Dillon.  Oh how I love Miss Olivia, he feisty, tenacious ways are stark contrast to Emily’s prim and proper demeanor.  Dillon on the other hand, is an over bearing, manipulative horses arse.  
    After taking on a job as a waitress at a small café, she meets Tall, Dark, and Handsome Gavin Blake, who she later finds out is actually friends with her boyfriend and small group of friends.  Oh Gavin, Gavin, how I love thee.  He is a charmer, a swooner and all around good guy.  What is not to love about him?
    There were times throughout the book I wanted to slap some sense into Emily, I am so glad I kept going.  This is not your normal girl meets boy and falls in love type of story.  These characters are complex and the story is not all butterflies and rainbows.
    I can’t believe I waited so long to read it, looking forward to the second book Pulse as the first book ended on a cliff hanger. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2014

    best book ever

    best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Awesome book! Can't wait for Pulse to arrive to finish this capt

    Awesome book! Can't wait for Pulse to arrive to finish this captivating love story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love a story that I can lose myself in, that makes me feel, an

    I love a story that I can lose myself in, that makes me feel, and makes me fall completely in love with all the characters. This was it. My heart felt like it was in a million pieces when I finished. Loved it!

    There were such interesting and complex characters throughout. The whole dynamic of who likes who and the build was amazing. That build killed me too because Gavin and Emily's pull towards one another was so intense. Loved their chemistry!

    Gavin wasn't the stereotypical rich guy to me. He had so much depth and I loved how he and Emily's relationship evolved and how persistent he was. So many thing with him just made me catch my breath and completely fall in love with him. I was neutral on Emily for about half the book, trying to figure her out, and then bam! I got it. I really liked her and felt for her. I'm not sure what else to say without spoiling anything but I get how and why she ended up making the choices she made. Dillon… talk about a character that makes your skin crawl. For as much as I loathed him, I thought he was really well written because he elicited all these emotions from me.  

    I thought the story was well developed, everything flowed nicely, and I really liked all the secondary characters. They all made sense and were well written. This story is told from third person and I really enjoyed it. It's was nice knowing what both Emily and Gavin were thinking throughout. 

    The end. Excuse me while I sit in the corner crying since my heart has been ripped out of my chest… cliffhanger! This book had me anxiety ridden and stressing out. It got under my skin and make me want for these people, hope for them, and cry for them. This book had me completely wrapped up and emotionally invested. 

    I fell in love, I got twisted up, and my heart got broken. It was just a fantastic read that had me rooting for these people that were meant to be together but had so many ups and downs and obstacles along the way. I need Gavin and bottle caps and Pulse (book #2) immediately. 5 stars all the way. Loved it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Great

    Great story line. Great characters. Will read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Highly Recommend!

    Phenomenal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2014

    EXCELLENT SERIE!

    EXCELLENT SERIE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Loved it!

    Best book I've read in along time! Couldn't put it down! Read the entire book in two days! Thankfully I was on vacation so I had the free time to do so! Just started the second book, pulse and already can't put it down either! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Couldn't Put This Book Down

    One of the best Love Stories I have read in a long time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Highly Recommend!

    Very good book. A book that you just can't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Loved from beginning to end!

    This book is beautifully written. You will love the storyline and characters immediately. I would highly recommend this book. I can not wait to start "Pulse". Gail McHugh has quickly became one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    WOW! Loved it! Pulse~ LOVED It too! Gavin Blake, HOT, HOT, did I

    WOW! Loved it! Pulse~ LOVED It too! Gavin Blake, HOT, HOT, did I say HOT?? and.....smartass that was soo sexy! My favorite books of all time, didn't want him to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    !

    Loved this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Recommend.

    Yeah!! Hot, hot, hot!! Love these kind of romance novels. Head over heels in love hero, worships the heroin. Never gets old when it's done right. Sequel is out titled PULSE. I recommend these books.
    S.A.K.
    P.S. a little cheezy at times
    but, oh well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    One of my favorites

    I just read this for the second/third time, and it gets me going the same as it did when I read it the first time. I love this series and wish there were more sequels coming. Gavin's love for Emily makes me want more. More.more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Collide

    Oh my god!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Could not put it down!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Love!

    This series was amazing!! I fell in love with gavin he was such an amazing character! I dont know how many times i found myself laughing so hard throughout these books. It was definitly worth the read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Oh holy heck

    One of the most amazing books! Cant wait for book two

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Amazing

    When I read this book couldn't wait for the next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 241 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13