Customer Reviews for

Collide

Average Rating 3.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING!

Amazing again! But what else did I expect out of a Shelly Crane novel they are always amazing! This book was unique like all the other books she writes. This is Dystopian somewhat but not like Divergent or Hunger Games. Sherry is smart, kind, loyal and loving. She is am...
Amazing again! But what else did I expect out of a Shelly Crane novel they are always amazing! This book was unique like all the other books she writes. This is Dystopian somewhat but not like Divergent or Hunger Games. Sherry is smart, kind, loyal and loving. She is amazing even though she doesn't know it, but shes not like some other YA heroines that complain that there ugly and blah... blah. Her brother is a special, someone that is destined to do something great for the human race, which is why he is protected by the Keepers, alien type race that watch over there charge until they fulfill there destiny. His keeper is Merrick who has watched Sherry as well even though she wasn't his charge. In the beginning she thinks that she disgusts him but the opposite is true he loves her but doesn't think she could love an alien. Which you would think since he knows her so well he would know she can love anyone. The romance is intense, but not to graphic, the action is amazing and the smaller characters are awesome. Love Jeff! The ending is a bit sudden but still good. A must read!

posted by Luna_Maxwell on May 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This was an exciting story, with mystery, loyalty, danger, and o

This was an exciting story, with mystery, loyalty, danger, and of course the kind of love that Shelly Crane is so good at conveying. Merrick is so sweet and protective, you melt whenever he’s on screen so to speak. Sherry is young, but so maternal over her brother and...
This was an exciting story, with mystery, loyalty, danger, and of course the kind of love that Shelly Crane is so good at conveying. Merrick is so sweet and protective, you melt whenever he’s on screen so to speak. Sherry is young, but so maternal over her brother and mature, having been through her fair share in her life, making her incredibly endearing.

The mini colony that evolves brings a great element of suspense as you never really know about some people, and you know that nothing lasts forever. The bonds and introductions made will carry on throughout the story, and I have no doubt they’ll come into play across the series too. There’s a lot of building, for the world and the relationships, which sometimes makes it feel a little slow or drawn out, but it gives the story plausibility and leaves you antsy to see how things progress in the next book!

Collide will have you in awe and on the edge of your seat. If you’re looking for a little sci-fi with your romance, you will enjoy this story without a doubt.

posted by Mebuffy on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    AMAZING!

    Amazing again! But what else did I expect out of a Shelly Crane novel they are always amazing! This book was unique like all the other books she writes. This is Dystopian somewhat but not like Divergent or Hunger Games. Sherry is smart, kind, loyal and loving. She is amazing even though she doesn't know it, but shes not like some other YA heroines that complain that there ugly and blah... blah. Her brother is a special, someone that is destined to do something great for the human race, which is why he is protected by the Keepers, alien type race that watch over there charge until they fulfill there destiny. His keeper is Merrick who has watched Sherry as well even though she wasn't his charge. In the beginning she thinks that she disgusts him but the opposite is true he loves her but doesn't think she could love an alien. Which you would think since he knows her so well he would know she can love anyone. The romance is intense, but not to graphic, the action is amazing and the smaller characters are awesome. Love Jeff! The ending is a bit sudden but still good. A must read!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My absolute fav series...

    Sherry has a horrible boss, hippy parents and a lazy brother. She is lonely and her abusive ex-boyfriend doesn't make her life any better. But one day the moon goes missing and "visitors" show up in other peoples dead bodies. This is where her boring life makes a u turn.

    So we have the Lighters who are bad. But they come to earth making people think they are good and that the Keepers are the bad guys. Which in all actuality the Keepers are good. In fact they are here watching over the Specials. Who are humans with a special purpose in their life, they just don't know what it is yet. Confused yet? Don't be. Shelly explains the whole story clearly. She pulls you in and you just want to stay there and never leave. I was constantly thinking about it when I wasn't reading it and forcing myself to put it down so I could go to sleep late at night.

    Characters...oh wow the characters. I love these people if they were my own family..if not better. She gives each character the perfect amount of attention so you know who they are. My favorite? Merrick of course. I adore him. So adorable and cute and funny. But best of all so protective and loving. I want a Merrick of my own. *And I will hug him and squeeze him and call him George, er Merrick* Well hubby might not approve of this. Oh well. Sherry can have him for now. I love how everyone bands together and become a family living in hiding. What a great group of people, taking care of each other and being there during the times it was needed.

    Like I said before, your drawn into the story. Riding on the highs of love right along with the characters...and fearing the unknown of a world spiraling out of control. The story and the characters stay with you long after your done reading.

    Absolutely A Must Read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    This was an exciting story, with mystery, loyalty, danger, and o

    This was an exciting story, with mystery, loyalty, danger, and of course the kind of love that Shelly Crane is so good at conveying. Merrick is so sweet and protective, you melt whenever he’s on screen so to speak. Sherry is young, but so maternal over her brother and mature, having been through her fair share in her life, making her incredibly endearing.

    The mini colony that evolves brings a great element of suspense as you never really know about some people, and you know that nothing lasts forever. The bonds and introductions made will carry on throughout the story, and I have no doubt they’ll come into play across the series too. There’s a lot of building, for the world and the relationships, which sometimes makes it feel a little slow or drawn out, but it gives the story plausibility and leaves you antsy to see how things progress in the next book!

    Collide will have you in awe and on the edge of your seat. If you’re looking for a little sci-fi with your romance, you will enjoy this story without a doubt.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Really great!!!

    Although, not as good as her Significant series, Shelley did an amazing job on this book. Can't wait to read the others!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Booooooorrrrrrrrrriiiiiing

    To much fillers I have to skip a few pages. It was a snooze fest. some parts were okay but it was very very slow no action no excitement I don't think I will be the rest of the series. I'm glad is free or I would have had to ask for a refund on this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!

    Oh yeah, right up on my favorites shelf!! This book was so good! I love this whole story! It is scary and beautiful all at the same time. Merrick *sigh* Merrick is just amazing!! And Sherry just needed someone who loved her enough to make her see what a wonderful and loving person she is. I have actually really grown to love all the characters and I cannot wait to see how they all grow and change even more as the story goes on! I could gush a little more about how wonderful this was but right now I'm too excited to get started on Uprising!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Great Great

    Excellant plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Great

    Dispite some of the reviews the book is actually very good. You should read and write what you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Why

    Why do they put an editorial button but there never r any?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Ok

    Didnt keep my attention. I like to get to the end of the book and feel like i have to know wht happens to the characters. By the end of this book i really didnt care. Wont finish the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Poorly written

    Author is unable to keep track of her own character's background. Matt is introduced as an older male that Sherry meets for the first time in a grocery store, yet a mere 50 pages later we bump into Racine, Matt's older sister who has been good friends with Sherry since grade school???? Lot's of confusing, contradictory story telling had me giving up at around 90 pages feeling like I had just watched a low budget teen flick with horrible acting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Hello

    Tried three times to finish reading this book but couldn't get into the convuluted story plot. I like science fiction but give a story plot. Deleting book from library. Giving two stars because the author tried to write a book; maybe with some editing? It would improve, or rethinl the plot?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Took awhile to get into but jmm44

    Was a really good story about what could be the end of the world as we know it!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Love Shelly Crane

    Loved this whole story. There is romance but also a great story line.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    very good

    one of my fav series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Shelly seems to be independent

    She really stick sup for her brother Danny

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Great ebook

    I was unsure at first about this book but about half way through I was hooked. I still like the Significance series the best but this one is a close second.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Batman

    The sample was absolutly awesome.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2