BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Colonel's Lady

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Colonel's Lady

Known in Christian fiction circles for her frontier writing, Laura Frantz once again thrills fans with her latest release, The Colonel's Lady. Set in 1779 in the wilds of Kentucky, this novel takes on facets of several different genres. Historical romance, inspirational...
Known in Christian fiction circles for her frontier writing, Laura Frantz once again thrills fans with her latest release, The Colonel's Lady. Set in 1779 in the wilds of Kentucky, this novel takes on facets of several different genres. Historical romance, inspirational fiction and suspense fill the pages, as readers are transported back in time to the Colonial frontier. A great inspirational read for the summer! Laura Frantz once again brings readers a novel set in Kentucky. Frantz has a connection to Kentucky through her own family history and it becomes evident in her writing. She treats the area and her subject matter with reverence and esteem. She doesn't shy away from the harsher side of frontier life, not does she forget about the significance of this time in history. I thought she did a remarkable job of describing the sights and sounds for the reader, but also the emotions involved in being in a fort that was literally under siege. Frantz has a knack for creating characters that the reader will become interested in. Roxie is a woman of some influence in Virginia, but she is willing to give all that up to join her father on the frontier. Life is very different from what she is used to at Fort Endeavor and she is forced to re-think her prior life and what was important to her. Her is a young woman, who is considered all but a spinster, who is given another chance at finding love in the most unlikely of places. I think readers will fall in love with Roxie and find themselves rooting for her and Cass. Cass is a man who has many facets. There's a lot to him. He is an Irishman in a foreign land, so to speak. He takes his duty seriously and he treats every life under his command with diligence and care, including Roxie. He feels responsible for situations that leave the people in the fort at the mercy of the redcoats and Indians. He takes a lot on himself and it is clear that it weighs him down to an extent. I think readers will find him gracious, accepting and yet solid. He has great character and a loving heart, but he seems to sabotage himself when it comes to love. As if he doesn't feel worthy. I liked the idea that Frantz uses to bring these characters together. I thought it was fresh and original. The inspirational or Christian aspect of the book is well written and doesn't overpower the story. It flows into the book naturally and doesn't seem forced. The biblical references and the ideas of redemption and faith are treated with respect and come across as a part of the novel and not just inserted to make the book inspirational. It is obvious that the author has a deep faith of her own and knows how to express it and how it plays out in everyday life. I liked how Frantz weaved faith into the fabric of the novel along with history, romance, and some suspense. The overall result is Christian fiction at it's best! Readers who love history and romance will certainly get their monies worth with this book, as well as readers who love the frontier and Western writing. Suspense fans will also get what they want as Cass and Roxie try to weed out the spy, and try to survive the every day hardships of the frontier. Whats more suspenseful than life or death on a day to day basis? I think there is something for everyone with this book and Frantz has written a well crafted inspirational novel. I recommend it to all my readers. If you haven't tried inspirational fiction, this is definitely a good place to start!

posted by Justpeachy1 on August 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent

Good writing and story. Didn't get bored.

posted by flipflopgirl40 on July 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Colonel's Lady

    Known in Christian fiction circles for her frontier writing, Laura Frantz once again thrills fans with her latest release, The Colonel's Lady. Set in 1779 in the wilds of Kentucky, this novel takes on facets of several different genres. Historical romance, inspirational fiction and suspense fill the pages, as readers are transported back in time to the Colonial frontier. A great inspirational read for the summer! Laura Frantz once again brings readers a novel set in Kentucky. Frantz has a connection to Kentucky through her own family history and it becomes evident in her writing. She treats the area and her subject matter with reverence and esteem. She doesn't shy away from the harsher side of frontier life, not does she forget about the significance of this time in history. I thought she did a remarkable job of describing the sights and sounds for the reader, but also the emotions involved in being in a fort that was literally under siege. Frantz has a knack for creating characters that the reader will become interested in. Roxie is a woman of some influence in Virginia, but she is willing to give all that up to join her father on the frontier. Life is very different from what she is used to at Fort Endeavor and she is forced to re-think her prior life and what was important to her. Her is a young woman, who is considered all but a spinster, who is given another chance at finding love in the most unlikely of places. I think readers will fall in love with Roxie and find themselves rooting for her and Cass. Cass is a man who has many facets. There's a lot to him. He is an Irishman in a foreign land, so to speak. He takes his duty seriously and he treats every life under his command with diligence and care, including Roxie. He feels responsible for situations that leave the people in the fort at the mercy of the redcoats and Indians. He takes a lot on himself and it is clear that it weighs him down to an extent. I think readers will find him gracious, accepting and yet solid. He has great character and a loving heart, but he seems to sabotage himself when it comes to love. As if he doesn't feel worthy. I liked the idea that Frantz uses to bring these characters together. I thought it was fresh and original. The inspirational or Christian aspect of the book is well written and doesn't overpower the story. It flows into the book naturally and doesn't seem forced. The biblical references and the ideas of redemption and faith are treated with respect and come across as a part of the novel and not just inserted to make the book inspirational. It is obvious that the author has a deep faith of her own and knows how to express it and how it plays out in everyday life. I liked how Frantz weaved faith into the fabric of the novel along with history, romance, and some suspense. The overall result is Christian fiction at it's best! Readers who love history and romance will certainly get their monies worth with this book, as well as readers who love the frontier and Western writing. Suspense fans will also get what they want as Cass and Roxie try to weed out the spy, and try to survive the every day hardships of the frontier. Whats more suspenseful than life or death on a day to day basis? I think there is something for everyone with this book and Frantz has written a well crafted inspirational novel. I recommend it to all my readers. If you haven't tried inspirational fiction, this is definitely a good place to start!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2014

    With both bold and intricate strokes, master storyteller Laura F

    With both bold and intricate strokes, master storyteller Laura Frantz has painted a breathtakingly beautiful tale in The Colonel's Lady. With equal amounts of history and romance, this literary gem will immerse you into another time and place and keep you turning the pages until the satisfying conclusion. The hero is among my favorites I've ever read.
    ~Jocelyn Green, author of Yankee in Atlanta

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Curl up on a stormy day and enjoy this story.

    Frantz is one of my favorite writers. the colonel's lady is written for the historical readers. I believe I enjoyed the book just for the plot and the enjoyment. It could be good for book club discussions as it touches on historical facts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I have been waiting for a chance to read this book since I recei

    I have been waiting for a chance to read this book since I received in for Christmas two years ago. I have heard so many good things about this author's books, and I wasn't disappointed. Let me start off by saying I generally tend to stay away from books so closely related to war and war-like times for personal reasons, so I was a little hesitant when I started reading this book and realized it was set in the middle of a war. However, as I got further into the book, the war faded from my mind because the author does such a wonderful job of bringing her characters to life. The plot is set in Kentucky at Fort Endeavor. The author gives such a rich description of life on the remote Kentucky fort that I felt like I was living in that time! The picture she painted was bleak and depressing at times, as I'm sure it was for some of the soldiers who were sent to the remote forts with no settlements near.

    The main characters, Roxanna Rowan and Colonel Cassius McLinn, were very well developed in my opinion. Because the author does not focus too much on the secondary characters, even though they were important to the story, I feel like I really got to know Roxie and Cass and could feel their emotions and love, as they did. There were times when I could have shaken both of them silly because of their stubbornness and hard-headed ways. I loved watching their lives unfold individually and together.

    For a Christian novel, I was surprised as the amount of drinking that was done in the book. However, it was vitally important to the story. For one, the remoteness of the fort caused soldier morale to slip very easily. Giving the soldiers something to numb their pain was probably one of the only ways to keep their morale up. Second, it allowed the reader to really connect with the changes in Cass throughout the book. The author, by no means, glamorized the drunken state of things. Instead, she effectively showed the reader that drinking does nothing but numb the pain for a short time. The only thing that Cass could rely on to take the pain away and ease his guilt was God. The author does a fantastic job of showing both Cass' and Roxie's spiritual development.

    Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I would love to read more by this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Decent

    Good writing and story. Didn't get bored.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    The colonels lady

    My only wish is that i could give it more stars. This book was beautiful, romantic, exciting, nerve biting, and suspenseful. There were times when Roxanna truly made me want to fling the book across the room. But i kept returning because the relationship between her and Cass was that special. I loved the women that she traveled with and the energy that they bought to a dying fort in the middle of no where. I especially, loved the fact that they had an african american character that was a central character. Bellas character was very powerful and important important in the story. She spoke her mind and for that i loved her as much as the main characters. Buy the book and read it twice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Laura Frantz is a great author. I have read 3 of her books so fa

    Laura Frantz is a great author. I have read 3 of her books so far and have LOVED every one of them.  
    The author does a brilliant job of keeping the book exciting and full of suspense.  I was hooked by the first chapter.
    I highly recommend this book and all of the authors books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the third book I've read from Laura Frantz and I was hoo

    This is the third book I've read from Laura Frantz and I was hooked by the very first chapter. It starts off at a very suspenseful and dangerous scene and retained that quality till the end of the book. I loved Roxie and her relationship with the Coronel. She was always very strong and took charge easily. Its easy to see how she could win over the Coronel as well as the whole Fort so easily. This book is worth the read: the historical aspects are up to par and I loved seeing the slight allusion of Fort Click to the first novel she wrote.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Great Read

    Wonderful book set in the Revolutionary War on the frontier that stays true to the times and keeps the reader interested.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    The colonels lady

    This book blew me away! Although the story didn't seem to pick up until 70-100 pages into the story, once it did pick up I couldn't put the book down. I found myself staying up until the wee hours of the morning just to find out what would tranpire next. This book was well written and the emotions of what the character's were feeling were so well described, you will feel as though you can relate to these charaters on a deeper level. I will surely recommend this book to everyone I know. I can't wait to read more books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Loved It!

    The Colonel's Lady is so far my favorite book by Laura Frantz. I've never read a book that made me feel so many things. It's like I was there in the book, and the characters were so real. Absolutely loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    Highly recommeded!!!

    Another great book from Frantz! Her history in the book was "right on target" and I so much like a great novel with not smut!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    loved it

    We need more clean romance novels!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Suspense and History Rolled Into One

    As usual I was drawn into the people and places of Frantz's novel as I opened the covers of this book. Roxie and the residents of the fort each in their own ways won over readers hearts. Of course there is also little mute Abby who wheedles her way into everyone's lives she touches with just a look. Abby and everyone else assume she belongs to the Colonel because looks can't lie but twins can. Frantz has woven a number of mysteries into the plot of this novel that all seem to be somehow connected to the Colonel but their true link both to him and one another proves to be a twist no one is quite ready for when it is finally revealed. Frantz keeps readers turning pages wondering what is really going on at the periphery of things that is not ever truly explained but you know things aren't "right" as the story progresses. You have to pick up a copy of this book to see what I mean.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Love, Love Love this author!

    You are never disappointed with Laura Frantz! She delivers an excellent story, so full of historical facts and insight! I recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    Slow

    I love historical romance but this story seemed to drag on without any real direction. Was unable to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2014

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel! I'd like to read more of her wo

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel! I'd like to read more of her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    An outstanding novel!

    This was an outstanding novel! The author grabbed my attention on page one and held it until the end - fantastic author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    OUTSTANDING Book

    There good books, great books & Outstanding books, This is an OUTSTANDING book from page 1-end. I never wanted to put it down, wanting more & more.

    There were times I wanted to reach through the pages and give Roxie a shake or 2 to wake her up, there were time I wanted to hold Cass within my arms and tell him all would be righted... On a scale from1-10, I would give this book an 11 1/2 ... OUTSTANDING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    Inspirational,

    Was caught between being anxious to see what happened next...and hating to see it end. A faith-building story, reinforcing so many great feelings of God's magnificent plan for each of our lives. Prayer is such an awesome tool in so many situations! Praise be to God!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3