BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Colonel's Lady

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Colonel's Lady

Known in Christian fiction circles for her frontier writing, Laura Frantz once again thrills fans with her latest release, The Colonel's Lady. Set in 1779 in the wilds of Kentucky, this novel takes on facets of several different genres. Historical romance, inspirational...
Known in Christian fiction circles for her frontier writing, Laura Frantz once again thrills fans with her latest release, The Colonel's Lady. Set in 1779 in the wilds of Kentucky, this novel takes on facets of several different genres. Historical romance, inspirational fiction and suspense fill the pages, as readers are transported back in time to the Colonial frontier. A great inspirational read for the summer! Laura Frantz once again brings readers a novel set in Kentucky. Frantz has a connection to Kentucky through her own family history and it becomes evident in her writing. She treats the area and her subject matter with reverence and esteem. She doesn't shy away from the harsher side of frontier life, not does she forget about the significance of this time in history. I thought she did a remarkable job of describing the sights and sounds for the reader, but also the emotions involved in being in a fort that was literally under siege. Frantz has a knack for creating characters that the reader will become interested in. Roxie is a woman of some influence in Virginia, but she is willing to give all that up to join her father on the frontier. Life is very different from what she is used to at Fort Endeavor and she is forced to re-think her prior life and what was important to her. Her is a young woman, who is considered all but a spinster, who is given another chance at finding love in the most unlikely of places. I think readers will fall in love with Roxie and find themselves rooting for her and Cass. Cass is a man who has many facets. There's a lot to him. He is an Irishman in a foreign land, so to speak. He takes his duty seriously and he treats every life under his command with diligence and care, including Roxie. He feels responsible for situations that leave the people in the fort at the mercy of the redcoats and Indians. He takes a lot on himself and it is clear that it weighs him down to an extent. I think readers will find him gracious, accepting and yet solid. He has great character and a loving heart, but he seems to sabotage himself when it comes to love. As if he doesn't feel worthy. I liked the idea that Frantz uses to bring these characters together. I thought it was fresh and original. The inspirational or Christian aspect of the book is well written and doesn't overpower the story. It flows into the book naturally and doesn't seem forced. The biblical references and the ideas of redemption and faith are treated with respect and come across as a part of the novel and not just inserted to make the book inspirational. It is obvious that the author has a deep faith of her own and knows how to express it and how it plays out in everyday life. I liked how Frantz weaved faith into the fabric of the novel along with history, romance, and some suspense. The overall result is Christian fiction at it's best! Readers who love history and romance will certainly get their monies worth with this book, as well as readers who love the frontier and Western writing. Suspense fans will also get what they want as Cass and Roxie try to weed out the spy, and try to survive the every day hardships of the frontier. Whats more suspenseful than life or death on a day to day basis? I think there is something for everyone with this book and Frantz has written a well crafted inspirational novel. I recommend it to all my readers. If you haven't tried inspirational fiction, this is definitely a good place to start!

posted by Justpeachy1 on August 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent

Good writing and story. Didn't get bored.

posted by flipflopgirl40 on July 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I have been waiting for a chance to read this book since I recei

    I have been waiting for a chance to read this book since I received in for Christmas two years ago. I have heard so many good things about this author's books, and I wasn't disappointed. Let me start off by saying I generally tend to stay away from books so closely related to war and war-like times for personal reasons, so I was a little hesitant when I started reading this book and realized it was set in the middle of a war. However, as I got further into the book, the war faded from my mind because the author does such a wonderful job of bringing her characters to life. The plot is set in Kentucky at Fort Endeavor. The author gives such a rich description of life on the remote Kentucky fort that I felt like I was living in that time! The picture she painted was bleak and depressing at times, as I'm sure it was for some of the soldiers who were sent to the remote forts with no settlements near.

    The main characters, Roxanna Rowan and Colonel Cassius McLinn, were very well developed in my opinion. Because the author does not focus too much on the secondary characters, even though they were important to the story, I feel like I really got to know Roxie and Cass and could feel their emotions and love, as they did. There were times when I could have shaken both of them silly because of their stubbornness and hard-headed ways. I loved watching their lives unfold individually and together.

    For a Christian novel, I was surprised as the amount of drinking that was done in the book. However, it was vitally important to the story. For one, the remoteness of the fort caused soldier morale to slip very easily. Giving the soldiers something to numb their pain was probably one of the only ways to keep their morale up. Second, it allowed the reader to really connect with the changes in Cass throughout the book. The author, by no means, glamorized the drunken state of things. Instead, she effectively showed the reader that drinking does nothing but numb the pain for a short time. The only thing that Cass could rely on to take the pain away and ease his guilt was God. The author does a fantastic job of showing both Cass' and Roxie's spiritual development.

    Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I would love to read more by this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    loved it

    We need more clean romance novels!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Suspense and History Rolled Into One

    As usual I was drawn into the people and places of Frantz's novel as I opened the covers of this book. Roxie and the residents of the fort each in their own ways won over readers hearts. Of course there is also little mute Abby who wheedles her way into everyone's lives she touches with just a look. Abby and everyone else assume she belongs to the Colonel because looks can't lie but twins can. Frantz has woven a number of mysteries into the plot of this novel that all seem to be somehow connected to the Colonel but their true link both to him and one another proves to be a twist no one is quite ready for when it is finally revealed. Frantz keeps readers turning pages wondering what is really going on at the periphery of things that is not ever truly explained but you know things aren't "right" as the story progresses. You have to pick up a copy of this book to see what I mean.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    An outstanding novel!

    This was an outstanding novel! The author grabbed my attention on page one and held it until the end - fantastic author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    An okay story. Pretty well written.

    Just not a grabber

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Loved it..a good read!

    This is my first book by Laura Frantz. I saw someone reading this book and I was attracted to the cover and title. (I love period romance books) This book is a clean romance novel that doesn't go past kissing,good kissing that is, but don't let that bore you if your the type of reader that wants more out of a romance book; this book is hot and the lead up to the romance is nail-biting! You will get butterflies from reading it. I can't wait to read another of her books! Laura Frantz is a great author, I highly recommend her to teenagers, her books contain a lot about God and scriptures entwined with her characters, again its clean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    RATING:4.5! AN EXCITING HISTORICAL ROMANCE SET IN KENTUCKY! THE COLONEL'S LADY BY LAURA FRANTZ...

    THE COLONEL'S LADY by Laura Frants is an exciting inspriational historical romance set in 1779 Kentucke Territory.This is an exciting and engaging story of an Irish American Colonel,Cassius McLinn and a genteel,brave Virginia woman,Roxanna ,whose father served under the Colonel. It has everything you would want in a historcial romance. It has romance,love,faith,deception,secrets,intrigue,forgiveness,a spy,healing,danger,hardships,the Kentucky wilderness,Indian raids,and the tumultuous frontier of 1779. "The Colonel's Lady is written with vivid details and the wild beauty of the frontier of old. Roxanna Rowan and Colonel McLinn,have a lot in common athough they try to hide their attraction it becomes fact of all who know them. Colonel McLinn killed Roxanna's father during a campaign,or so he believes.He is truly an Irishman with a twin who is reeking havoc on the Colonel's life. Roxanna has come to Fort Endeavor unbeknown that her father has been killed, to be with her father,she has no money and no where else to go,most of her family are dead.This is a fast paced,action packed,adventure with love,a bit of romance,a lot of danger,and a touch of faith.Love can truly conquer all with the help of prayer and our Lord. A must read,a keeper. This author has truly found the inside turmoil,struggles,dangers,in this vast Kentucky frontier and its people. "The Colonel's Lady" is a story you won't want to miss. It will appear to historical, romance, inspirational, and anyone who would like to get lost in another time and place. This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher. Details can be found at Revell,a division of Baker Publishing Group and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1