Customer Reviews for

Colony

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bar Harbor Maine

This is one of my favorite stories, a lovely read about an old woman and her story of love on an island in the Northeast. We have been vacationing in Bar Harbor Maine for 30 years and Ms Siddens captures the romance and beauty of this coastal community. I walk by the st...
This is one of my favorite stories, a lovely read about an old woman and her story of love on an island in the Northeast. We have been vacationing in Bar Harbor Maine for 30 years and Ms Siddens captures the romance and beauty of this coastal community. I walk by the stately and majestic homes and imagine the stories of love and lost in these families from generations gone by. The author captured it completely.

posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Mixed Emotions......

I have only one MAJOR complaint with this book -- I did NOT appreciate the slur on Christianity which I won't go into because of revealing the storyline for those who haven't read this. However EVERYONE NEEDS to know what happens when you die -- you go either to heaven...
I have only one MAJOR complaint with this book -- I did NOT appreciate the slur on Christianity which I won't go into because of revealing the storyline for those who haven't read this. However EVERYONE NEEDS to know what happens when you die -- you go either to heaven or to hell and you don't get to heaven the way this book portrays. Having read other books by Siddons this one seemed different. I can see there are mixed reviews by the professionals and the readers. I would say it was heart gripping and written well but seemed just a litte 'wordy' sometimes which of course is what some people prefer so that wouldn't be a negative comment necessarily. It was sad because of all the tragic things that happened but also realistic for a generational novel. I wanted to quit reading a couple of times but I couldn't and when I did finish I felt like I had just lost a friend. So I would recommend this book especially to those that like long meaty novels that take awhile to get through.

posted by Anonymous on July 19, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2004

    Mixed Emotions......

    I have only one MAJOR complaint with this book -- I did NOT appreciate the slur on Christianity which I won't go into because of revealing the storyline for those who haven't read this. However EVERYONE NEEDS to know what happens when you die -- you go either to heaven or to hell and you don't get to heaven the way this book portrays. Having read other books by Siddons this one seemed different. I can see there are mixed reviews by the professionals and the readers. I would say it was heart gripping and written well but seemed just a litte 'wordy' sometimes which of course is what some people prefer so that wouldn't be a negative comment necessarily. It was sad because of all the tragic things that happened but also realistic for a generational novel. I wanted to quit reading a couple of times but I couldn't and when I did finish I felt like I had just lost a friend. So I would recommend this book especially to those that like long meaty novels that take awhile to get through.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2006

    Bar Harbor Maine

    This is one of my favorite stories, a lovely read about an old woman and her story of love on an island in the Northeast. We have been vacationing in Bar Harbor Maine for 30 years and Ms Siddens captures the romance and beauty of this coastal community. I walk by the stately and majestic homes and imagine the stories of love and lost in these families from generations gone by. The author captured it completely.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    CT Reader

    Claassic Rivers-Siddons, so great. I feel like I know every character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not as expected

    This book of Ms Siddons was not as engrossing as her others. While a good read it was a bit drawn out. The characters are not very appealing either.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    LOVED IT !!!!

    Read it 10 years ago and it still pops into my head when I think of a good book. 1st book I read of Ann's and became a instant fan.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2000

    ABSORBING STORY OF MAINE AND ITS COLONIES

    Colony is an absorbing book that the reader will find almost impossible to put down. The narrative is tight and pulls many characters together in its' tale of old families that vacation in a colony on the Maine coastline summer after summer. Siddon probably one of the best novelists of her genre is a powerful story teller and a wonderful writer. Unlike Danielle Steele, her stories are not contrite and redundant but fresh and beautifully worded with the necessary sexual descriptions without the gratuitous wordage of other fiction novelists. This book is well worth reading and my only objection is to the ending which I felt had an unnecessary appendage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Marine base

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Another great book by Anne Rivers Siddons.

    Anne R.Siddons is one of my favorite authors. I have been reading her books for many years, and enjoyed every one of them. I am from the South, and she is very good with the description of the location of the story and the people who make this one (Colony) a "can't put down book".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2003

    felt a bit cheated

    I enjoyed reading this book and pondered over the relationship of Peter to Elizabeth. The not so subtle clues suggested, very srongly, one relationship and then, to my surprise, without any foreshadowing, it turns out to be something else. A something else that left too many unanswered questions. I thought it was a cheap shot not worthy of Siddons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2000

    Everyone should have a 'retreat' to escape to

    I loved it and hated it at the same time. Siddons has a unique way of writing and does an excellent job of holding your interest. The characters, the scenery, the emotions, everything was so vivid it brought me to tears one minute and had me laughing the next. I was used to reading more light-hearted novels, so this one frustrated me because of all the hardships Maude had to bear, her mother-in-law especially. However, it was because of those trials that I came to love her character and admire her strength. I would highly recommend the book, but only with the comment that 'real life', as this book portrays, is not always a blissful romance with a perfect ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2