Customer Reviews for

Color Me Grey

Average Rating 4
( 340 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Alex is Awesome!

Move over James Bond, there's a new secret agent hitting the scene. Petite and polished Alexis Stanton hardly seems the type, but raised in a family that gave etiquette equal time with special ops training, she proves she's not one to be underestimated.

After quittin...
Move over James Bond, there's a new secret agent hitting the scene. Petite and polished Alexis Stanton hardly seems the type, but raised in a family that gave etiquette equal time with special ops training, she proves she's not one to be underestimated.

After quitting her dullsville job doing data entry, Alex responds to a mysterious newspaper job advertisement and realizes right away that her special training is exactly what White and Associates are looking for. Employed by the mysterious and attractive Mr. White, Alex is given the new moniker Ms. Grey and instantly thrust into secret missions with her life on the line. She may be in over her head, but she's not about to show it because she's also having the time of her life.

Color Me Grey was a fun and exciting book. J.C. Phelps keeps the action and suspense high and manages to hint at romance just enough to make the characters exceptionally intriguing. I loved Alexis Stanton as the heroine - she's tough but also smart and sensitive; larger than life but still easy to relate to. The book was well written with a perfect pace, and as all my favorite series entries do, it tells a succinct story while still keeping readers eager for its sequels. There's nothing Grey about whether or not Phelps knows how to write - clear as black and white, she is a wonderful storyteller and an awesome author to check out!

posted by LJ_Guerrero on January 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Really?

An adult woman lives rent free in her parents' guest house AND they pay her an allowance; Really? She leaves a mainstream job and applies for a "mystery" position. Although she is never told that she has the position, she finds herself embroiled in a myriad of surrept...
An adult woman lives rent free in her parents' guest house AND they pay her an allowance; Really? She leaves a mainstream job and applies for a "mystery" position. Although she is never told that she has the position, she finds herself embroiled in a myriad of surreptitious activities that even includes killing. She out performs every male on the team; Really? This is a far-fetched tale that I finished only because I wanted to see if we would discover that it had all been a dream.

posted by lspt on January 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    Pretty cool spy thriller

    Color Me Grey is told from first person point of view, and I think it was done well, and usually the only time I read books like this is in college English lit. classes(the female character in 1st person point of view). Alexis Stanton becomes a secret agent of sorts, with the nickname of Ms. Grey. She tells how she gets recruited, then her training, and then a crucial mission that she participates in that has a lot of personal meaning for her. I thought it was a very creative novel.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Anonymous

    Not realistic but fast and easy read . Ready for next book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    it was a good read

    it was a good read a little lengthly though

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    enjoyable great read

    i really liked this book. i knew how it was going to end, because of the way it was going, but i kept hoping for a lil more action.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Excellent

    great read - author keeps you on your toes in a supsenseful, cute novel of intrique.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    loved the storyline and the main character

    Although it was riddled with bad grammer and syntax, I loved the storyline and found the author has a great imagination; therefore I purchased the sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Easy Read

    Poorly written/edited, but great content! On to book two......!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Dawes Awesme

    Truly a great by a gifted writer

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Enjoyed

    Easy read. Pleasantly surprised. Will definitely read more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Good strong female role

    Aside from the writing, I loved this book! I fell in love with Alex's character immediately. I love that she is tough, no nonsense and kicks ass just as much as the guys. A great, fun read! Ready for the next in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Fun read

    It's great reading about a strong female who can stand on her own two feet. Tore through this in a day. Drew me in and now I'm off to buy the other two books in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Great book

    Good plot with a strong woman

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A lot like Alias...

    I liked this book. If you're into strong capable female heroes, you will like this book. It reminded me a lot of the television series Alias, which I loved. The first person narrative was sometimes a little exhausting, but overall I thought this book was good. The ending was a tad rushed and I think if the author spent less time describing her training, the ending could've been more developed. But overall a good beginning to the Alex Stanton series. I will be purchasing the other books in this series to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Enjoyed the read. Funny and kept me turning the pages. Read it in a few hours and will read the next two. Unless you're a die hard english major, the punctuation or grammatical errors are no big deal. It's written how people actually speak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Love this series!

    Love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Loved it!

    It is very easy to read and extremely enjoyable. I find that many of the e-books I read have a lot of grammatical errors and spelling mistakes and that find that difficult to read and end up deleting the book. This book and only one error that I found and that made it more enjoyable for me to read.
    Sorry, I am a stickler for proper spelling and grammar. Ask my son.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Like "Heller" series... kinda.

    If you've ever read the Heller series this series is a similar premise. Young woman working in an all male "security" firm with a hot boss that she can't stop fantasizing about. The writing isn't the best quality, but the characters are very enjoyable. The book narrates a bit slow. The main character is completely unrealistic (which is fine with me). However, I find it silly that she calls herself independent while living off of daddys money, and that she actually has a well-paying job and is still a mooch. No smut, little-to-no cursing. Not a bad read. I'll definitely keep reading the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Fun, Fast and Enjoyable

    If you read "Heller" and liked it you'll like this book too. Very similar styles of story telling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    Great read BUT the number of pages for this ePub book is wrong;

    Great read BUT the number of pages for this ePub book is wrong; SMASHWORDS publishing is notorious for this flaw and that's the reason for only a 4 star rating. The book has not been compressed therefore the page numbers are off, you will notice that it starts after page 2 when it jumps to page 4 also when you check to see how many pages are left in a chapter. While this is a great book and I will buy the next 2 it’s still a shame that the publisher can’t get a simple FREE piece of software that would solve this problem. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    I enjoyed this book, but was dissappointed in the short length.

    I enjoyed this book, but was dissappointed in the short length. 160 pages is an afternoon for me so I wished it had more story to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5