Customer Reviews for

The Color of Law

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    This is one of the best books I have read this year. I read 3-4

    This is one of the best books I have read this year. I read 3-4 books a week and just happened to see this book. I have now ordered all of his books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    Once it got going, it was really rolling

    I loved this book. Just discovered this author and love his writing. This was the second book I've read by him, but I WILL read more!! It was a little slow starting out.. but.... great ending. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    Great story

    Will rrad all of these

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    Highly recommend

    I am a new fan of Mark Gimenez this is my 3rd book and I wasn't disappointed once you start his books you won't want to stop reading. You won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2014

    A very good, entertaining read

    A friend recommended this book to me. I had never read any of Mark Gimenez
    books before. I wasn't disapointed. It was entertaining and never slow. The charactors were likable and I cared about what happened to them. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    I think this book was highly entertaining, and I was so happy th

    I think this book was highly entertaining, and I was so happy that A. Scott Fenney (the main character) appears again in another book, Accused. I hope Mr. Gimenez writes more stories with this character. I have read a couple other books by him, and find them highly enjoyable/suspenseful also!! I definitely would recommend this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    G Awesome book

    One of my favorite books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    good solid read

    the main character is a local boy who made it big, first with Texas football and then in a high-powered lawyer firm. Except along the way he gave up his principles for money and prestige. He gets assigned a probono criminal murder case and meets up with long lost friends as well as makes new ones.
    I enjoyed this book and will look for more by this author. I especially love the relationship between Boo and Pajame very sweet and real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Another Perry Mason!

    Okay novel, interesting in parts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Atticus Finch

    The main character in The Color of Law wanted to be another Atticus Finch. At first he seems to go along with whatever his firm wants him to do, with whatever will make the most money. But Gimenez develops his character, tweaks his underdeveloped conscience. Even though he could lose everything and encounter extreme danger, the main character ultimately exhibits true courage and does what is right. If you like books by John Grisham, you'll love this outstanding story by Mark Gimenez.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    loved the book, hope he writes more.

    really good law story. hard to put down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE COLOR OF LAW - WAS THE FIRST HALF A NOVEL?

    Having dealt with a few lawyers in my time, I really wondered whether the first half of the book was actually a novel. The first half describes how many lawyers are and how our judicial system actually works. It isn't about justice any more - if it ever was - it isn't about what's right or wrong, it's all about winning and losing; and, OF COURSE, it all comes down to the money. Read the first half if you really want to learn all about "truth, justice, and the American way." (I never could figure that out! Why did they have to add "and the American way?" I thought truth and justice were SUPPOSED TO BE the American way. Shows you what I know!) In the second half of the book, the main character - our hot-shot lawyer who supposedly has everything - has an awakening which, of course, causes him to lose almost everything (he still has his kid because his wife ran off with the golf pro from the country club). But now he realizes that he is much happier in his new life than he has ever been, God's in His Heaven, and all's right with the world. (I would like to meet JUST ONE lawyer like this.) Despite all of this fairy tale nonsense, the book is still a worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    WOWWWWWWWWWWW

    Great book. I love all Mark Gimenez books. I think I have read them all. I would recommend them to everyone. Great book for a long flight. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    Great read. Interesting Plot .

    Highly recommended. Quick, interesting read with interesting subplots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    Fast read if you like legal thrillers

    I REALLY liked the story. It was a real page-turner which kept me wanting more. However, the author lost me with the ending. I would have given this book five stars, but the author simply tied up all the loose ends in the style of a 3rd grade composition. I do look forward to reading other works of Mr. Gimenez.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    Mark Gimenez is a keeper.

    I just finished reading 'The Abduction' last week and was blown away by this authors talent. So went back and ordered this, his first book and was just as amazed with his plot line, characters and his inner struggle to do the right thing. Yes, we all want to make $1,000,000 a year and I know I would hang on to that way of life as hard as he did. He fought for a long time against doing the right thing and was pretty much forced into redeeming himself. I think that had it not been for Boo, Pajamae, Bobby and Louis pushing him to defend Shawanda Jones, he would have been content to stay with The Firm. Remarkable turnaround and a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    The best law thriller I've read for a LONG time

    I could not put this down - could we have another john Grisham? But better! When is his next novel due out??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    Stereotypes Abound

    Decent enough plot if you can stomach the racist stereotypes throughout the book. Too bad Giminez felt the need to exploit stereotypes just so that the protagonist could later redeem himself. Sheesh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    Entertaining

    It's not a deep and philosophical commentary on life, lawyers or race ralations and I don't think that it was intended to be. It is simply a fast-paced and very entertaining fiction novel. Color of Law would be a great book for your next flight,cruise,etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    Slam Dunk!

    Okay, all those who believe the American legal system is a big joke will find their viewpoints justified in this story of a sensational Dallas murder trial. The author, a former Texas lawyer himself, pulls no punches about the real motive for most law practices: money, and more of it. Justice doesn't matter much. For our hero Scott Finney, this works just fine with him - until he reluctantly takes on a pro bono case involving a prostitute accused of murdering the playboy son of a Presidential hopeful. At some point during the case, he begins developing a conscience - and this brings about a dizzying fall from grace. I loved this story, except for one unfortunate fact: Mr. Gimenez has NO ear for children's dialogue, never mind how smart the kids are. Otherwise, a great debut novel - I look forward to more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2