Customer Reviews for

The Color of Magic (Discworld Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Oh magic, how freakishly wonderful are thou...such possibilities!

I've been collecting the Discworld books in no particular order for a few years now, mostly because my father always had an affinity for them and recommended them as hilarious and entertaining at the same time. Now that I finally got to read the first in the series I ca...
I've been collecting the Discworld books in no particular order for a few years now, mostly because my father always had an affinity for them and recommended them as hilarious and entertaining at the same time. Now that I finally got to read the first in the series I can see what the fuss is all about! There is plenty of humor, dry wit and magic, extremely complex scientific and fantastic themes and myriad of characters brighter than all the rainbows and flowers in the world combined. My head was spinning after few pages but somehow I couldn't stop reading; this incredible journey that Pratchett invites the reader on takes some time to get adjusted to, but once I let my mind go and read it slow, it all melted into a fantasy like no other. I can't really imagine kids reading it unless they are prodigies at understanding language because their little brains might pop from the amount of information given; I know mine was taken for a spin a few times!

So here we are, visiting a world that exists as a flat disc with water walling over the edges, carried by four giant elephants standing on an ancient turtle, covered in meteor holes and all sorts of space debris, swimming who knows where....In one of it's cities, Ankh-Morpork , a failed wizard by the name of Rincewind comes across Twoflower, a traveling little man with magical luggage, carved out of rare sapient pear tree that follows him everywhere on its tiny feet. Yes walking luggage, with teeth too, guarding his master and providing lots of entertainment through out the story. The two men are the only ones in the whole city who speak the same language and thus their zany adventures start. Hastily hired as a guide the magician, who sucks at magic but it awfully funny and likable, gets into all sorts of troubles with trolls, dragons, islands with lunatics chased by Death itself without trying to loose poor Twoflower who thinks the whole adventure as a great sight seeing trip, they escape all sorts of scenarios that take them form the murkiest depths of underwater caves into far away galaxies in deep space.

Seems like a lot and it is, but the novel takes all sorts of turns ad twists and one never knows what awaits our heroes on the next page. When Gods play magic dice and Fate and Death are in talks of getting them, our characters have a lot at stake and loosing such charming little fellows would certainly be horrible so the reader is constantly kept on a tight leash as the beauty of the story and its intricate pattern morphs into more fantastic scenarios. I can't even clearly say what this book is about other than being simply fantastic, albeit very complex. Folklore, mythology, fairy tales, comedy and drama, it's all here exquisitely woven for those who dare.

- Kasia S.

posted by Kasia_S on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

great book, but an error in the nook file

The book is fantastic, but there is a 10-word omission on page 130 of the file that may lead to some confusion. So while I recommend the book, I don't recommend buying it until Barnes & Noble or the publisher fixes the error.

posted by MatthewHooban on March 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Oh magic, how freakishly wonderful are thou...such possibilities!

    I've been collecting the Discworld books in no particular order for a few years now, mostly because my father always had an affinity for them and recommended them as hilarious and entertaining at the same time. Now that I finally got to read the first in the series I can see what the fuss is all about! There is plenty of humor, dry wit and magic, extremely complex scientific and fantastic themes and myriad of characters brighter than all the rainbows and flowers in the world combined. My head was spinning after few pages but somehow I couldn't stop reading; this incredible journey that Pratchett invites the reader on takes some time to get adjusted to, but once I let my mind go and read it slow, it all melted into a fantasy like no other. I can't really imagine kids reading it unless they are prodigies at understanding language because their little brains might pop from the amount of information given; I know mine was taken for a spin a few times! <BR/><BR/>So here we are, visiting a world that exists as a flat disc with water walling over the edges, carried by four giant elephants standing on an ancient turtle, covered in meteor holes and all sorts of space debris, swimming who knows where....In one of it's cities, Ankh-Morpork , a failed wizard by the name of Rincewind comes across Twoflower, a traveling little man with magical luggage, carved out of rare sapient pear tree that follows him everywhere on its tiny feet. Yes walking luggage, with teeth too, guarding his master and providing lots of entertainment through out the story. The two men are the only ones in the whole city who speak the same language and thus their zany adventures start. Hastily hired as a guide the magician, who sucks at magic but it awfully funny and likable, gets into all sorts of troubles with trolls, dragons, islands with lunatics chased by Death itself without trying to loose poor Twoflower who thinks the whole adventure as a great sight seeing trip, they escape all sorts of scenarios that take them form the murkiest depths of underwater caves into far away galaxies in deep space. <BR/><BR/>Seems like a lot and it is, but the novel takes all sorts of turns ad twists and one never knows what awaits our heroes on the next page. When Gods play magic dice and Fate and Death are in talks of getting them, our characters have a lot at stake and loosing such charming little fellows would certainly be horrible so the reader is constantly kept on a tight leash as the beauty of the story and its intricate pattern morphs into more fantastic scenarios. I can't even clearly say what this book is about other than being simply fantastic, albeit very complex. Folklore, mythology, fairy tales, comedy and drama, it's all here exquisitely woven for those who dare. <BR/><BR/>- Kasia S.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Intro to the Disc World Series

    The first book that I had ever read by Terry Pratchett was Hogfather and I now read it on Winter solstice every year. It was from that book that I wanted to read the first book of the Disc World series, which led me on the hunt for this book. I love the characters of Twoflower and his wizard guide, Rincewind. But it is the chest that steals the show so to speak. Although there are only a couple of the Disc World books that feature the adventures of Twoflower and Rincewind I loved every one and will miss the characters enough to want to re-read the books. With that said although there are several books in the series the books can be read in any order. I choose to read all of the books about Twoflower and Rincewind and then all of the books about Death and Susan. If you enjoy British humor and like to poke fun at reality then Terry Pratchett is the author for you and ¿The color of magic¿ is a good place to start.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Welcome to Discworld

    Although Pratchett's style at this point was still largely undeveloped, and he seems in this book to cling perhaps too tightly to the coattails of Douglas Adams (Rincewind the wizard is still nearly a clone of poor, bungling Arthur Dent), this is still a hilarious book filled with great little bits of satire, magic,. and adventure. Perhaps it's no longer the best intro to the Discworld and its inhabitants, as the tone of the stories changed after Pratchett's initial works, but it's still a great little romp. You'll grin through most of it, and laugh out loud frequently.

    This is without a doubt one of the best bathtub reading books ever written. Enjoy it--that's the point!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2002

    Oh my.......

    The luggage is the best part of this book! I can't believe how he turned something so ordinary in to something so hilarious! Next time I buy luggage, I hope I can find a piece half as entertaining. I picked up this book thinking it was something easy to read, I am now officially addicted! I'm half way through the series now, and am looking forward to going back and reading them all again! These are a must read for anyone who believes there is a world out there parallel to us, it will make believers of non believers, it will turn non readers in to avid bookworms! SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO not a waste of time!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Great introduction to disc world

    Read this series about 5 times and never get tired of it. If you enjoy funny and witty you will enjoy it too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An extraordinary romp through a brilliant imagination

    A brilliant and humorous tale in a fantasy setting that goes beyond anything that any other author has yet produced. Terry Pratchett's insightful and intelligent humor will keep any mind entranced in this most obscure world. This is a great read and will not get much time on your shelf due to rereading or lending it to someone who has yet to experience this amazing author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2002

    The Lord of The Rings meets Douglas Adams...

    OK, so it's not quite as epic as The Lord of The Rings and the humour is not quite as spontaneous as Adams, but it's an excellent work. Readers are introduced to the Discworld and some of its landscape. This is definitely an entertaining book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2015

    Good noval

    Fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2015

    A great writer passes from our midst

    With the death if this author we lose one if the all time greats. If you have never read his Discworld books now is a great time to start. I own all of them and there is not a bad one in the bunch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    I love Disc World

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2014

    I enjoyed this very much. A fast paced read for a Sunday afterno

    I enjoyed this very much. A fast paced read for a Sunday afternoon. Death had me rolling :p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    H

    H

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    you can't go wrong with disc world

    the first in the long disc world series, need I say more?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Fun read

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Funny and exciting

    Also check out the art of disc world, there are really neat character pictures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Charmingly modest brtish fantasy mock-epic!

    Color of Magic is set on the Discworld, floating through space on the backs of four elephants astride a giant turtle. The tale sets itself to challenge to typical fantasy epic. The story follows a failed wizard Rincewind and a naive/curious tourist Twoflower as they escape burning cities, destroy ancient evils, meet dragons and sail over the edge of the world. Color of Magic. Definitley a breath of fresh air from fantasy novels that take themselves too seriously. Abound with wityy humour and a wonderful cast of characters, The Color of Magic is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    great book

    loved this book. It's cute, whimsical and definitely worth reading. My only advise is buy the paperback version, it's cheaper than the electronic copy which imho shouldn't be more as it's actually saving them the cost of paper, and production.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    I just started the Discworld series by Terry Pratchett and I'm loving it. The characters are off the wall and hilarious, the mythos is never boring and it always leaves you saying, "What could possibly happen next?" Just when you think you've read about the oddest development you'll ever see, there's a new twist, We meet the cowardly loveable Rincewind, a sort of but not really magician who has something going on inside him that no one is really sure about but everyone is afraid of, not to mention he seems to have the best luck of anyone alive on the Disk. And we meet the cluelessly adorable Twoflower, vacationer from afar turned Disk explorer. Not to mention all his fun gadgets. His camera was fun enough, but his luggage has, well, a life of it's own. I can't wait to read the rest of this series and see where the story will go next. Nothing but adventure for our reluctant and adventure seeking duo.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    Loved it!

    This is one of my new favorite authors. He is so funny and I love his play on words. I am not generally a big sci-fi/fantasy fan, but my brother had me listen to "Eric" (another of Terry Pratchett's books) while on a little road trip and I am now addicted. He is spectactular at describing "The Discworld" in which his characters reside and travel about on. The Color of Magic is a quick read and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a little adventure, wit and humor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Masterful!!

    Such a masterful beginning to a highly-developed, fully-evolved universe. Considering the complicated interaction among the characters, this entr&#233;e into Discworld gives proper glimpses and hints at future insights that don't muddle the plot or confuse the reader with unnecessary tangents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6