Customer Reviews for

The Colorado Kid

Average Rating 3.5
( 589 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(168)

3 Star

(146)

2 Star

(83)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

I picked up this book, not because I'm a Stephen King fan (although I am), but because it was part of the new Hard Case Crime division of Dorchester Publishing. I'll admit, the variety of authors they've collected to write for them is extensive, and THE COLORADO KID jus...
I picked up this book, not because I'm a Stephen King fan (although I am), but because it was part of the new Hard Case Crime division of Dorchester Publishing. I'll admit, the variety of authors they've collected to write for them is extensive, and THE COLORADO KID just happened to be the first one in the Hard Case group to make it to the top of my to-be-read pile.

I understand, after reading THE COLORADO KID, why so many people on here posted negative reviews. I understand, because just like the main characters in the story told me, a mystery with no resolution plain and simply pisses people off. People want a happy conclustion to a problem--whether it be why 9/11 happened, why oil prices are so high, why a young woman in Wisconsin was murdered, or how a man from Colorado went to work one morning and ended up dead on a little island off the coast of Maine only hours later.

Not KNOWING, not having Mr. King spell it out for us, angered many a reader of this book. Should it have? Maybe. But I actually felt like there WAS a resolution to this story--that being that not everything in life has such a tidy ending as we want our stories to have. Of all the people who end up dead in the US every year, how many do you think go unsolved as to cause of death, or in the case of murder, capturing a perpetrator? Life--this roller-coaster ride that we get onto daily and hang on to since our very lives depend on it--is not black and white, and it sure as heck doesn't offer us up tidy conclusions at the end of every day.

THE COLORADO KID is, quite simply, a character study of not knowing. We can get the facts, we can extrapolate what we believe happened based on those facts, but in the end, it's all a mystery.

Kudos to Mr. King for taking an idea, running with it, and showing that he just doesn't give a flying fig if we get it or not. This book left me with questions, yes, and I actually thank him for that. A book that makes you think and question will always be worth more than a book that doesn't.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Unusual King

I got this because the TV show "Haven" is based on this story and I wanted to find out how it all started. How this became a tv show based on troubled people took a great deal of imagination. Most short stories have a beginning, a middle, and an end with resolution. Thi...
I got this because the TV show "Haven" is based on this story and I wanted to find out how it all started. How this became a tv show based on troubled people took a great deal of imagination. Most short stories have a beginning, a middle, and an end with resolution. This one has a beginning, a middle, but no real resolution except for no resolution. It's ok. It was worth the $1 I paid for it. But I certainly would not have paid more. The cover is misleading. My recommendation: Only read it if you are a hard-core King fan or like the TV show "Haven".

posted by shydragon on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Unusual King

    I got this because the TV show "Haven" is based on this story and I wanted to find out how it all started. How this became a tv show based on troubled people took a great deal of imagination. Most short stories have a beginning, a middle, and an end with resolution. This one has a beginning, a middle, but no real resolution except for no resolution. It's ok. It was worth the $1 I paid for it. But I certainly would not have paid more. The cover is misleading. My recommendation: Only read it if you are a hard-core King fan or like the TV show "Haven".

    32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    short

    This offering from Stephen King left a lot to be desired as far as I am concerned. It offers a mystery, then leaves the "solution" unsolved. Of course, you are welcome to invent your own theory, but that is not why I read a book. At least not a work of fiction. I actually quite enjoy reading about unsolved mysteries. I just like my novels neat, tidy, and all summed up at the end.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Not at all the same

    I was very disappointed with this book. IT IS NOT AT ALL THE SAME. The TV show is part of the mainland; the book is on an island. There is NO paranormal activity AT ALL in the book. The book has NO police chief. The female lead in the book is a newspaper intern reporter, not in anyway law enforcement.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Not as good ass "Haven" on SyFy.

    Its not his best work....but its ok :)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Wasn't as good as I wanted it to be.

    Haven is one of my favorite shows so I decided to read this while I waited for the next season to start. It was good, not great. Don't get me wrong, it was a good read, it just wasn't what I was used to from Stephen King or as interesting as the show. Left me wanting more, but only because it felt unfinished. Good for a quick read but don't expect much.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Terrible book, a comblete wastre Terrible book, a complete waste of money

    Worst king book I have ever read

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    my thoughts about the colorado kld by stephen king

    this is not one of stephen king's best stories, but it was an enjoyable light read to pass the day or evening with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    haven

    I don't know how they got a great show from this book by using two intrepid reporters dave and vincent but they did and i love the show the book was okay not great. Under the dome is up next for me :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Not a waste of time.

    Good tale, but with a "solve it yourself" ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Ok

    An ok read but if you are expecting Haven skip it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Well done

    Interesting take on the classic noir style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    recommend

    Good read overall. The characters are easy to relate to and the story line is easy to follow. Not typical Stephen King. Left me a bit empty in the end. Not a story that makes you want more, but does help potential writers stir up some new ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Good. Not great.

    Not his best book but still a good story. Great if you a looking for a quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Mystery

    Curiously enough, it's a murder mystery that is based on a newspaper clipping. At first I didn't think I was gonna like this one, but once giving it a chance I found myself pushing to the end to get more and more information on the island's story. Like Steffi, the two old men storytellers have you hanging on to the next bit of information. But after 25 years what makes you or her think that this mystery can be solved? It feels as if all the clues are there, so the answer should be too, right?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Was too short...but would still recommend it as a good read.

    I found that it was too short of a story for my taste. I was left wanting more, but what can I say...it's Steven King for ya! Anyways, I still think it is still worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    Nice Story

    This is in my opinion a very different story that I am use to from Stephen King. Not the usual ghoul coming out of the closet or floor. Regular people in a normal town with one unusual story. A murder; or was it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    Good story...that isn't a story

    Being a Stephen King fan, I was surprised I had not heard of this book before, though I will admit that I'm not a rabid fan. Not one of those who has his website in my bookmarks, chomping at the bit for any new piece of writing from the man. I heard about this book after watching the television series "Haven" on the SyFy network. This book, like a lot of King's later work, and like the TV series, the book doesn't really end, it just stops. It starts and stops in a fashion that reminds me of Larry McMurtry - where there is no real beginning, and no real ending, it's just a section of the lives of characters. I haven't read the reviews from other readers, but I suspect this story - which isn't a story as one character repeatedly points out - will have plenty of negative reviews. On the whole, I would not consider it "top shelf" work from King, but I do think it beats "Cell" by quite a ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    The Colorado Kid, A Mystery With An Original Tale!

    Stephen King's The Colorado Kid is a unique mystery, offering no twists or turns, but many deviations of what real mystery is, and Mr. King makes no apologies about his work. The book is fresh and because of the format of how the author unfolds the story, it makes the book compelling, but a little short in being a great mystery. I have read the different reviews and I tend to not to disagree with anybody. However; in the afterword of the book, King makes perfectly clear his intentions in writing the book. The book is good, even though is only less than 200 hundred pages, the characters are entertaining, and the plot of the story is unique. I enjoyed reading it, but when it comes to mysteries it fell a little bit short. The author deserves credit, he is a great storyteller, and The Colorado Kid proves it. If you are a devoted fan of his, you will enjoy it. At this point, I would enjoy any book of my favorite author. The following is not intended to be a spoiler, but one of the reasons I read the book is because I really like the show " Haven" which happens to be based on this book. However, the Syfy show site makes also clear that although it is based on The Colorado Kid, it also has other iconic characters from different King's books featured on the show. I would say, that is a plus for any King's fans. This is the first book that I read by Stephen King, and based on this work, I would probably try another book of his.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    Good

    I enjoyed this book but was disappointed to a degree with the ending. However, if you are watching the SiFy series Haven, the book and the series are no where alike. The series is much better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2006

    Stigler

    aside from his short stories, i do believe this is his shortest, look forward to reading it and i couldnt get into buick 8 it took so long for things to get rolling liked the storyline though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8