Customer Reviews for

The Colorado Kid

Average Rating 3.5
( 607 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(172)

3 Star

(147)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

68 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

I picked up this book, not because I'm a Stephen King fan (although I am), but because it was part of the new Hard Case Crime division of Dorchester Publishing. I'll admit, the variety of authors they've collected to write for them is extensive, and THE COLORADO KID jus...
I picked up this book, not because I'm a Stephen King fan (although I am), but because it was part of the new Hard Case Crime division of Dorchester Publishing. I'll admit, the variety of authors they've collected to write for them is extensive, and THE COLORADO KID just happened to be the first one in the Hard Case group to make it to the top of my to-be-read pile.

I understand, after reading THE COLORADO KID, why so many people on here posted negative reviews. I understand, because just like the main characters in the story told me, a mystery with no resolution plain and simply pisses people off. People want a happy conclustion to a problem--whether it be why 9/11 happened, why oil prices are so high, why a young woman in Wisconsin was murdered, or how a man from Colorado went to work one morning and ended up dead on a little island off the coast of Maine only hours later.

Not KNOWING, not having Mr. King spell it out for us, angered many a reader of this book. Should it have? Maybe. But I actually felt like there WAS a resolution to this story--that being that not everything in life has such a tidy ending as we want our stories to have. Of all the people who end up dead in the US every year, how many do you think go unsolved as to cause of death, or in the case of murder, capturing a perpetrator? Life--this roller-coaster ride that we get onto daily and hang on to since our very lives depend on it--is not black and white, and it sure as heck doesn't offer us up tidy conclusions at the end of every day.

THE COLORADO KID is, quite simply, a character study of not knowing. We can get the facts, we can extrapolate what we believe happened based on those facts, but in the end, it's all a mystery.

Kudos to Mr. King for taking an idea, running with it, and showing that he just doesn't give a flying fig if we get it or not. This book left me with questions, yes, and I actually thank him for that. A book that makes you think and question will always be worth more than a book that doesn't.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

38 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Unusual King

I got this because the TV show "Haven" is based on this story and I wanted to find out how it all started. How this became a tv show based on troubled people took a great deal of imagination. Most short stories have a beginning, a middle, and an end with resolution. Thi...
I got this because the TV show "Haven" is based on this story and I wanted to find out how it all started. How this became a tv show based on troubled people took a great deal of imagination. Most short stories have a beginning, a middle, and an end with resolution. This one has a beginning, a middle, but no real resolution except for no resolution. It's ok. It was worth the $1 I paid for it. But I certainly would not have paid more. The cover is misleading. My recommendation: Only read it if you are a hard-core King fan or like the TV show "Haven".

posted by shydragon on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pulp Mystery With a Twist

    Stephen King pulls a fast one with his Pulp-Mystery, The Colorado Kid, dragging the reader into the tale with an intriguing mystery that begs to be solved. A man that no one seems to know is found dead on an island off the coast of Maine, with no identification and sparse clues as to how he came to be there. <BR/><BR/>In typical King fashion, he grounds his story with interesting but believable, hometown characters that could easily be the people next door. However, I had a hard time believing that Stephanie McCann, a University of Ohio student, working as in intern at The Weekly Islander, the small newspaper for Moose-Lookit, the town where the tale takes place, would give up on the life she had known and her husband to be just so she could stay in Moose-Lookit and work for the newspaper. I was also disappointed in the way King ended the story. I know why he did it, especially after reading his notes on the subject, and I think he¿s probably right, but I was still disappointed.<BR/><BR/>The Colorado Kid is a good, fast read that I¿m sure you will enjoy.<BR/><BR/> ¿ Bob Avey, author of Beneath a Buried House

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Liked

    Found this short story very interesting. Loved learning where the series Haven got it's start.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    Don't know what all the whining was about

    Before purchasing The Colorado Kid I read some reviews. They all complained that they read it to get answers to the questions raised on the show Haven. That is just sad. This was a very enjoyable and typically well written Stephen King story that they actually based a great TV show on and I for one was very happy to have spent my time reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    All about the characters

    The Colorado Kid is one of those King writings that might make you shake your head at first. It doesn't have a standard ending. And that's the point. Despite all the horror and supernatural, King's forte is his characters, and what he accomplishes in 120 pages in this story is amazing. Is it his best short work? No, but not his worst either. Pick a two hour time slot, turn off your cell phone, open this story, and let yourself get lost in it. It's an unsolvable mystery, but the real story is in the telling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    General Fyre

    Blood drips from his forhead onto the photo, blurring the colors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Great book

    Was a great read. But was to short. It did not have much to do with the series Haven on sci-fiction channel. I would recommend this book to any Stephen King reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Another winner for Stephen King

    I bought this book because of its mention at the beginning of the Haven TV show. I knew the two stories connected only tangentially, and there were no elements of horror. It's about a mysterious death and an unexplained cross-country journey. Taken alone it is a fast-paced story and an easy read. I finished it in two sittings. Don't let the cover fool you, there is no sultry femme fatale to complicate the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Great story!

    Stephen King is an exceptional storyteller and I really enjoyed the book! For the people complaining about the ending, he tells you from the beginning that the mystery is never solved, so I don't understand what you're complaining about. All in all, this is a good story and I would recommend it for a fast entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Recommend to all Haven viewers.

    I love the TV series Haven and wanted to read the book it was based on. While reading this story , I could visualize the two elderly newspaper men on the show.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Nice read

    Great read for spending a day off relaxing with my nook. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    recommended

    Nice quick read. The two older newspaper characters are enjoyable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Loved it!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting enough

    I huned and hunted for this book because they based the TV show HAVEN oon this book. So I was hoping for a lot more. The story was wwell written - Stephen King. How could it be not good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    A little short but a very enjoyable book

    I love Stephen King and all of his books. I really enjoyed this book it was a quick read. Even though the death of the Colorado Kid is not solved at the end of the book I think it was well written. As Stephen King pointed out...not all crimes are solved in real life either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I was interested in this book since it was the basis for the Syfy series, "Haven". It did not disappoint. The threads that were brought into the TV show were obvious. As a stand alone story, it was excellent. The story is quirky in style and content. Although it was not an 'action' story, it contained enough story line to keep you involved and moving forward. The only disappointment for me was that, to my knowledge, Stephen King has not returned to the island or the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Grreat!

    Stephen King never disappoints me. Couldn't put it down. Only wish it was longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Completely amazing

    I decided to read this book so I could have back round on one of my favorite shows, Haven on SYFY channel, but as I started reading I realized that what people said was true. The book is better then the show. The King spun the story so it sucked you in and you didn't want to stop reading till the end. With an awesome plot and characters, I highly recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    A good read

    I Got this book because I watch Haven on the Scyfy channel. It was a giod read. No unnecessary vulgarity or ceaseless rambling.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    Loved it!...but then I Love all of King's stuff!

    Good little weekend read...especially a beach weekend!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Worth The Read

    If you're into mystery's it's a great book. You cant put it down, because it leaves you hanging on every word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9