Customer Reviews for

The Colorado Kid

Average Rating 3.5
( 589 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(168)

3 Star

(146)

2 Star

(83)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

I picked up this book, not because I'm a Stephen King fan (although I am), but because it was part of the new Hard Case Crime division of Dorchester Publishing. I'll admit, the variety of authors they've collected to write for them is extensive, and THE COLORADO KID jus...
I picked up this book, not because I'm a Stephen King fan (although I am), but because it was part of the new Hard Case Crime division of Dorchester Publishing. I'll admit, the variety of authors they've collected to write for them is extensive, and THE COLORADO KID just happened to be the first one in the Hard Case group to make it to the top of my to-be-read pile.

I understand, after reading THE COLORADO KID, why so many people on here posted negative reviews. I understand, because just like the main characters in the story told me, a mystery with no resolution plain and simply pisses people off. People want a happy conclustion to a problem--whether it be why 9/11 happened, why oil prices are so high, why a young woman in Wisconsin was murdered, or how a man from Colorado went to work one morning and ended up dead on a little island off the coast of Maine only hours later.

Not KNOWING, not having Mr. King spell it out for us, angered many a reader of this book. Should it have? Maybe. But I actually felt like there WAS a resolution to this story--that being that not everything in life has such a tidy ending as we want our stories to have. Of all the people who end up dead in the US every year, how many do you think go unsolved as to cause of death, or in the case of murder, capturing a perpetrator? Life--this roller-coaster ride that we get onto daily and hang on to since our very lives depend on it--is not black and white, and it sure as heck doesn't offer us up tidy conclusions at the end of every day.

THE COLORADO KID is, quite simply, a character study of not knowing. We can get the facts, we can extrapolate what we believe happened based on those facts, but in the end, it's all a mystery.

Kudos to Mr. King for taking an idea, running with it, and showing that he just doesn't give a flying fig if we get it or not. This book left me with questions, yes, and I actually thank him for that. A book that makes you think and question will always be worth more than a book that doesn't.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Unusual King

I got this because the TV show "Haven" is based on this story and I wanted to find out how it all started. How this became a tv show based on troubled people took a great deal of imagination. Most short stories have a beginning, a middle, and an end with resolution. Thi...
I got this because the TV show "Haven" is based on this story and I wanted to find out how it all started. How this became a tv show based on troubled people took a great deal of imagination. Most short stories have a beginning, a middle, and an end with resolution. This one has a beginning, a middle, but no real resolution except for no resolution. It's ok. It was worth the $1 I paid for it. But I certainly would not have paid more. The cover is misleading. My recommendation: Only read it if you are a hard-core King fan or like the TV show "Haven".

posted by shydragon on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    I picked up this book, not because I'm a Stephen King fan (although I am), but because it was part of the new Hard Case Crime division of Dorchester Publishing. I'll admit, the variety of authors they've collected to write for them is extensive, and THE COLORADO KID just happened to be the first one in the Hard Case group to make it to the top of my to-be-read pile. <BR/><BR/>I understand, after reading THE COLORADO KID, why so many people on here posted negative reviews. I understand, because just like the main characters in the story told me, a mystery with no resolution plain and simply pisses people off. People want a happy conclustion to a problem--whether it be why 9/11 happened, why oil prices are so high, why a young woman in Wisconsin was murdered, or how a man from Colorado went to work one morning and ended up dead on a little island off the coast of Maine only hours later. <BR/><BR/>Not KNOWING, not having Mr. King spell it out for us, angered many a reader of this book. Should it have? Maybe. But I actually felt like there WAS a resolution to this story--that being that not everything in life has such a tidy ending as we want our stories to have. Of all the people who end up dead in the US every year, how many do you think go unsolved as to cause of death, or in the case of murder, capturing a perpetrator? Life--this roller-coaster ride that we get onto daily and hang on to since our very lives depend on it--is not black and white, and it sure as heck doesn't offer us up tidy conclusions at the end of every day. <BR/><BR/>THE COLORADO KID is, quite simply, a character study of not knowing. We can get the facts, we can extrapolate what we believe happened based on those facts, but in the end, it's all a mystery. <BR/><BR/>Kudos to Mr. King for taking an idea, running with it, and showing that he just doesn't give a flying fig if we get it or not. This book left me with questions, yes, and I actually thank him for that. A book that makes you think and question will always be worth more than a book that doesn't.

    60 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Love it or hate it, readers will always remember it

    The two elderly reporters of the Weekly Island and their intern Stephanie are discussing unsolved mysteries with a Boston Globe reporter. Afterward Vince and David tell Stephanie about a case they shared with nobody until now the story of THE COLORADO KID, a man who in 1980 is found dead on a beach on Moose-Look Island off the coast of Maine. An autopsy shows that a piece of meat is wedged in back of his throat and the cause of death is given as asphyxiation. The two reporters know he is not an islander and nobody recognizes him. It is only luck that the intern who was with the police that night remembered a cigarette tax label on the cigarette pack in the shirt the man was wearing and remembers they didn¿t come from Maine. As police find the pack in the evidence room and see that it was bought in Colorado, the reporters send a picture to all the Colorado newspapers and that leads to the victim¿s wife identifying the body but that is not the end of the mystery, only the beginning and is one that has haunted the two reporters for a quarter of a century............. Readers are either going to love this book or hate it but they will always remember it. That is the trademark of a Stephen King story. Like his horror novels, this work is very atmospheric with plenty of descriptions so that readers can see in their minds the events unfolding. The two elderly reporters are likeable old coots with distinctive personalities and an ability to tell a mesmerizing story that keeps Stephanie glued to her seat wanting to hear the whole tale just like the audience................. Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    What a great story

    The story grabbed me from the first page. I was so excited, and then to find a young journalist investigating the incident, with two older and jaded editors, was enlightening. I also knew that the older generation has great stories, but this is crazy good writing!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Stephen King never fails!!

    This is one of my favorite books, I have read it far too many times to count!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    If you like thiss, watch "Haven" on SYFY If you like this, watch "Haven" on SYFY

    Very good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a must read!

    This is the first Stephen King book I have ever read because I don't enjoy horror. I like the television series "Haven" which I read was based on this book. This book is a great read with suspense and a great story line. I felt like I knew the main characters when I got to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    I really liked it....

    But i can see what the author meant about either liking it or really disliking it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    An excellent mystery

    Truly a great short story from a master storyteller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    wahoo!

    Looooved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Superb

    The dialogue is so real, and the story grabs the reader, slowing pulling you. Always small towns, with big problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    AMAZING

    Great book its a must read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Amazing

    Kingwont let u dwm

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Colorado Kid

    This is Steven King of old. Glad to have him back. A fine character study of three. A story that lets you work on it after the book closes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    When does the movie come out?

    Darabont, etc. This could easily be as compelling as "Shawshank Redemption."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really Good!

    The best cheesecake I ever ate.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Great book

    I loved this book because while it wasn't as gory or scary as some of his other books, it's one that has made me think the most. This story will definitely stick with me for years. Im not even dissapointed it's not like the tv series. But i can see why they would want to base it off this book :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    MUST READ!!!!

    Kudos to Stephen King! This is a fantastic book, that will make you wonder how it should end for the rest of your life!! EXCELLENT READ!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    you must buy it!

    you will have to buy it cause you wont ever be able to put it down cause i wasnt able to put it down i had even read it in around 17 hours and to stephen king this is a wonder ful book and i am a big fan of your fiction writting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    I loved this story.

    I love the accents he gave the two old reporters. And I love how he left you wondering, what if? King makes you think and I feel that's what makes him such a good author. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Since When Have All Mysteries Been Solved?

    I picked up this book, not because I'm a Stephen King fan (although I am), but because it was part of the new Hard Case Crime division of Dorchester Publishing. I'll admit, the variety of authors they've collected to write for them is extensive, and THE COLORADO KID just happened to be the first one in the Hard Case group to make it to the top of my to-be-read pile. I understand, after reading THE COLORADO KID, why so many people on here posted negative reviews. I understand, because just like the main characters in the story told me, a mystery with no resolution plain and simply pisses people off. People want a happy conclustion to a problem--whether it be why 9/11 happened, why oil prices are so high, why a young woman in Wisconsin was murdered, or how a man from Colorado went to work one morning and ended up dead on a little island off the coast of Maine only hours later. Not KNOWING, not having Mr. King spell it out for us, angered many a reader of this book. Should it have? Maybe. But I actually felt like there WAS a resolution to this story--that being that not everything in life has such a tidy ending as we want our stories to have. Of all the people who end up dead in the US every year, how many do you think go unsolved as to cause of death, or in the case of murder, capturing a perpetrator? Life--this roller-coaster ride that we get onto daily and hang on to since our very lives depend on it--is not black and white, and it sure as heck doesn't offer us up tidy conclusions at the end of every day. THE COLORADO KID is, quite simply, a character study of not knowing. We can get the facts, we can extrapolate what we believe happened based on those facts, but in the end, it's all a mystery. Kudos to Mr. King for taking an idea, running with it, and showing that he just doesn't give a flying fig if we get it or not. This book left me with questions, yes, and I actually thank him for that. A book that makes you think and question will always be worth more than a book that doesn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8