Customer Reviews for

Comanche Moon (Comanche Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

So Touching, so a permanent part of your heart!

The story of Loretta and Hunter and battles of their different worlds was such a compelling story. I couldn't put this book down. My heart laughed, loved and cried throughout this great book. As usual, Catherine Anderson hooked me on the first page. There were so many d...
The story of Loretta and Hunter and battles of their different worlds was such a compelling story. I couldn't put this book down. My heart laughed, loved and cried throughout this great book. As usual, Catherine Anderson hooked me on the first page. There were so many different scenes that touched me. The sadness, the frustration and the love of all in the story brought me into their lives as only great characters and great story would. The way she let this story unfold, with a realism that gave you front row seat to all of it, will forever make this book one of my most favorite Catherine Anderson books.

posted by gina-bookjunkie on July 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

very sad story

this was my first book by this author the story was compelling and the characters were engaging but then she comitted a terrible fopah amy masters a twelve year old was gang raped by 23 men and we don't even get the details of their deaths it is mentioned in passing wha...
this was my first book by this author the story was compelling and the characters were engaging but then she comitted a terrible fopah amy masters a twelve year old was gang raped by 23 men and we don't even get the details of their deaths it is mentioned in passing what was she thinking such a horrible and unforgiveable plot twist I wrote the author and told her so but she was to ashamed to respond I vehemetly don't recommend this book unless your cold blooded I will never read her agian when rape occurs in a love story I drop the author heed my warning

posted by davey800 on May 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So Touching, so a permanent part of your heart!

    The story of Loretta and Hunter and battles of their different worlds was such a compelling story. I couldn't put this book down. My heart laughed, loved and cried throughout this great book. As usual, Catherine Anderson hooked me on the first page. There were so many different scenes that touched me. The sadness, the frustration and the love of all in the story brought me into their lives as only great characters and great story would. The way she let this story unfold, with a realism that gave you front row seat to all of it, will forever make this book one of my most favorite Catherine Anderson books.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    This story really sucked me in. It had everything: a bit of adv

    This story really sucked me in. It had everything: a bit of adventure, history, culture, and romance all combined. I enjoyed the dynamics between the characters, the personalities of Loretta & Hunter, and the historical information made it really come to life for me. I absolutely loved every page. It was one of those books where you can't wait to get to the end because it's so gripping and emotional, yet you don't want to finish it because then it will be over. Luckily there are three other books in the series that will help console me now that I have arrived at the final page. I've only just started reading Catherine Anderson and I have to say she is one author that hasn't disappointed me. Her characters are so three dimensional and you can't help but sympathize with them and root for them when they're facing difficult times. I definitely encourage people to read this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    It Doesn't Get Any Better!

    Hunter and Loretta. I can picture this fierce warrior and his stubborn captive. Hunter is really a strong and exciting character.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    high hopes but disapointed and a bit angry at end

    big fan of Anderson, espeically the Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan series. The prophecy i thought was romantic which made me really want to read it. Great at first but slowly got worse. I could deal w/ the fact Hunter had a wife with child who was killed, i sympathized. As i learned more of Hunter, my feminist side kicked in, ready to give him a piece of my mind. Though Hunter is kind and wise at times, he believes that women should always obey the men and that a man can use his strength on a woman if she doesn't obey -- he didn't believe that women should be abused but he still used his strength a couple of times to hold Loretta down. I was suprised and angry that Anderson made Hunter that way and that Loretta could fall for him despite it. In all other Anderson books, the heriones wouldn't deal with that, it would be the deal breaker! Espeically in the Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan series, the men never used their strength againest the women in any way. Again, the prophecy was romantic, but i wonder if in real life, though overall Loretta and Hunter are good people, they'd actually fall in love. Hunter would always have the final word. Well-researched but Hunter is my least favorite hero out of all of Anderson's main men.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    very sad story

    this was my first book by this author the story was compelling and the characters were engaging but then she comitted a terrible fopah amy masters a twelve year old was gang raped by 23 men and we don't even get the details of their deaths it is mentioned in passing what was she thinking such a horrible and unforgiveable plot twist I wrote the author and told her so but she was to ashamed to respond I vehemetly don't recommend this book unless your cold blooded I will never read her agian when rape occurs in a love story I drop the author heed my warning

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    A pretty good writer, but strange. Why would this woman go back

    A pretty good writer, but strange. Why would this woman go back again and again to the home of the uncle who tried to rape her and was only stopped by the Indian love interest? I don't think any woman has ever been as fickle and screwed up as this character. The frequent references to Catholicism and nipples are strange, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A beautiful poignant story of love and overcoming cultural differences ┬┐Comanche Moon┬┐ mad for a memorable read.

    A beautiful poignant story of love and overcoming cultural differences ¿Comanche Moon¿ mad for a memorable read.

    Hunter was an alpha male hero who does what he has too to get what he wants. It took him a bit to warm up to Loretta, but once he did he fell hard. He fell in love with her and even though he could have taken her whenever he wanted he waited for her to be ready. Hunter was patient and kind with Loretta.

    Loretta did not have great experiences with the Comanche in the past and because of this steadfastly fought any feelings of affection she had for Hunter. I really liked her she was strong and very brave. The relationship between her and her cousin Amy was very sweet and you could tell that they had a strong bond.

    The relationship between Hunter and Loretta was sweet and heartwarming. They had many obstacles in their way, but were able to find their way back to one another against all odds.

    For a sweet and heartwarming read check out ¿Comanche Moon¿ by Catherine Anderson.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    Blah

    yeah...i think i'll be lining the bottom of my birdcage with the pages of this one...

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Nah.

    One of the boring bad ones im afraid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Highly recommended....

    Peaked my interest immediately and stirred my heart. Catherine Anderson certainly knows her characters and carefully unfolds her plot....very passionate, very insightful. Loved it! Bought whole series and am so satisfied!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    I LOVE this book.I have read and reread it over and over. Hunter

    I LOVE this book.I have read and reread it over and over. Hunter is amazing and you will find yourself falling in love with their story and the comanche nation. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Another Unforgettable Story! Reviewed by Big Ed's Girl

    Catherine Anderson has long been a favorite author of mine, and I have yet to read a book of hers that I haven't loved; I am eagerly looking forward to reading all the books in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Loved it

    I could not put this book down. It was the perfect blend of romance, history, and drama. After reading a similar hearbreaking Comanche romance by another author, this book offered the hope and happy ending I was needing. I can't wait to read the rest of the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Wonderful the second time around!

    Although I read this story several years ago in paperback, it is still a really well written book. As a matter of fact because of how well i enjoyed the book, i wound up buying it again in ebook format along with the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    I love this story ... it is a beautiful romance that brought me

    I love this story ... it is a beautiful romance that brought me from fear for Loretta to great happiness for Hunter and Loretta's relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    LOVE

    I absolutely love this story. So sweet. A must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Rate this highly.

    This is not just another indian captures a white. This story has feeling and is so spell bounding that it will hold you to the end. After reading this you will want to read the other books in the Comanche Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Stunning historical romance. I am amazed at the beauty of this s

    Stunning historical romance. I am amazed at the beauty of this story. A great reminder that we are all brothers and sisters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    It's a romance...

    ... so of course love must find a way. I'm not so sure that an orphaned whitegirl made mute by the horror pf her parents massacre at the hands of a Comanche raiding party and a warrior made bitter by the death of his wife and child at the hands of a white raiding party really could pvercome the rift. Still, I found Hunter's character multifaceted as he tried to find his way through the cultural morass that separates him from his love. He didn't always understand his Loretta but he cherished her nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    Super read!

    LOVED this book, from start to finish. Can hardly wait to read the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5