Customer Reviews for

Comanche Moon

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Commanche Moon

    This is a wonderful book! It is about double the length of dead mans walk, and the plot is alittle more dull. But it still is a great book! You learn alot more about who call and gus really are which is good. The book seems to have almost ended 3/4 the way through and the last part is just setting up for lonesome dove. Dead man's walk is better but this was still a great way to follow and lead into lonesome dover.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Another McMurtry Triumph

    To date I have purchased and read Dead Man's Walk and Comanche Moon, the first two books in the four book series regarding the adventures of Gus and Call (central characters). I have also purchased Lonesome Dove and The Streets of Laredo, the remaining two books in the series and am looking forward to reading those.
    Larry McMurtry spins an exciting yarn that keeps you reading well past the time you originally planned to put the book down for the day.
    I readily admit that I wish there were more books in the series.
    At any rate, readers have my strongest recommendation for reading this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2003

    Comanche Moon Saga was amazing

    I have been fan of Larry McMurtry since I was a little girl. Everytime I would read one of his books, I feel as though I was there in the old west. Comanche Moon was an amazing book! I only wish it were a movie to be included in my Lonesome Dove video series. It answers a lot of questions about the Rangers, it provides all the smart comments that Augustus and William spouted off at one another in the movies. Augustus with his love for women, and Call with his mind for business. It answers a lot of questions on where Blue Duck came from, and why he's so mean. Even Captain Skull's horse; Buffalo Horse... to the Comanche's, had a personality! Larry McMurtry is an amazing writer! Bringing all his characters to life in the old west! Though life was SO hard for the women then, sometimes I wish I were born back in the 1800's.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Great Build-up to Lonesome Dove

    Honestly, I thought that Gus's characterization in Dead Man's Walk bordered on caricature, but in Comanche Moon McMurtry begins to introduce us to the Gus we all know and love in Lonesome Dove. I thought Maggie's life was portrayed well and supports her frequent mentions in Lonesome Dove. That said, Comanche Moon would make a fine stand-alone novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Fantastic follow up to Lonesome Dove

    Fantastic follow up to Lonesome Dove. Would give 10 stars if possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    Is Comanche Moon the same as Horseman, Pass By?

    This is not really a review. But does the Comanche Moon Nookbook have the wrong cover on it? Or is it also called Horseman, Pass By?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    What book did you read?

    To the writer of the "This Book Stinks" review I say, if you couldn't get into this book, and were BOARD (learn how to spell and people might take your reviews seriously), you must be dead. This western has it all. Humor, characters, drama, suspense and action. McMurtry is at the top of his game in this prequel to Lonesome Dove. Curl up with this book on a rainy afternoon and you will not want to put it down. Do yourself a favor and don't let one bad reviewer keep you from this wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    epic concluded

    I'm not a big western fan, but I do love this series. It was great to have all of these larger than life figures and have all the loose ends tied up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2007

    this book stinks

    This book is one of the worest i have ever read it made me sleepy and board. The plot has no color.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2003

    Comanche Moon carries the Lonesome Dove proudly

    Comanche Moon is the fourth and supposedly final volume of McMurtry's popular epic western series, Lonesome Dove. However, the book is actually the 2nd volume if you were to read them in chronological order. This novel spans the 20 year timeline between Dead Man's Walk and Lonesome Dove. Streets of Laredo, the fourth volume, finishes the Lonesome Dove tale. McMurtry has an unrivaled ability to tell stories, especially westerns. His attention to detail never fails to wonder, as the reader gets lost in a time and place long forgotten. As usual, McMurtry writes plain and describes with ease, so that even younger readers could follow the story, even though the content might suggest otherwise. The story does feature adult themes, such as extreme violence and sexual situations. Comanche Moon is my favorite Lonesome Dove book after the original. However, I'm not sure this novel stands on it's own without one having read at least Dead Man's Walk first. I suggest reading all these novels in the order the story flows. Start with Dead Man's Walk, then Comanche Moon, Lonesome Dove third, and then finish up with Streets of Laredo. This is alot of reading, I know, but if you enjoy westerns, you owe it to yourself to read these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    Another fine book from the Lonesome Dove series, marred by poor proofreading

    Although this book works because of the strong characters previously established by McMurtry, it is disheartening to find that the book was so sloppily edited. There are numerous minor proofreading errors that make it abundantly clear that neither McMurtry nor his editor bothered to read the final printer's proof. This makes it difficult not to suspect that McMurtry is just clearing his notebooks of some old material left over from the earlier novels. It's still good reading, but not quite up to the earlier books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2001

    I thought that comanche moon was great

    I give Comanche Moon five stars,because I thought it was great book in the continuationo of the Lonesome Dove series. I liked Comanche Moon,because I liked all of the Lomesome Dove characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2000

    Stupendous way to end a superb series!

    The continued saga of Gus and Call follows them through their ranger days, including their fight with Buffalo Hump and the beginning of their relationship with Blue Duck. A definite must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3