Customer Reviews for

Come Away My Beloved

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Every morning, my grandmother and I read a few pages out of this book every morning to be our prayer for the day. Sadly, the book is very old and quite "torn up." Many of the pages are ripped. It became so bad that many of the pages became unreadable. I promised her I would find this book somewhere and buy it for her. The first stop we made for her birthday shopping was Barnes and Noble. We asked a Sales Person and he said that they had a few in stock. On my grandma's birthday, when she unwrapped this present, she was so happy. My grandma loved reading this book. Along with this book, we bought her a $15 gift card to Barnes and Noble for her future book spending. Thank you Barnes and Noble. Another customer of yours is once again satisfied with their purchase.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Second to My Bibles, It's My Favorite Book

    When I am lonely and have no one to talk with, I open this book and let the pages fall where they may. No matter why I am crying or sad or confused, the pages open to the thing that God wants me to know about how much He loves me and all the good He wants for me in that moment! Since 2006, I'v been writing notes in the margins (responses back to Papa, Adonai, God)as I read what God just said to me on the pages. This book is so encouraging and personal and intimate; I feel as though I am sitting on a loveseat, snuggled in the arms of the Lord as He assures me of His love. Every page is filled with evidence taken straight from the Bibe, but in everyday (the more recent editions substitute "you" for "ye" and "thou") and very tender language. I've bought about 10 copies to give to friends, and now they are so much more in love with Him. It's the very best gift to give to a young person going away to college, to a single friend, a solitary senior citizen (like me), or to someone who does not know the Lord and feels alone! This book can introduce them to the Bible, or at the least, open their curiosity enough for them to go find a Bible and keep seeking. I love it and thank God she wrote it!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Great Book!

    I purchased this book as a gift, but I have a older copy for myself that I cherish. The cover is different, but whenever I feel as though I need to hear from God, I grab this book. It is like having a spiritual meal at your fingertips. I just hope the person I gave this to enjoys her copy as much as I have enjoyed mine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Personal Time with God

    When a friend introduced me to this book approximately 10 years ago. I could not put it down. You start reading one inspirational writing and you just want to keep going. The writings speak right to your heart and you find yourself in God's presence and you don't want to leave, the words draw you in and fill you. Some of the writings make you examine yourself in a deeper way. You will start to think about how you treat people, and what is God trying to tell you about yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2005

    Life Changing Read

    This book was powerful. It is like sitting down and having a conversation with God. It is extremely Biblical and filled inspiration consistant with the heart of the Father. I know I will read this book over and over for years to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2000

    This book is a blessing

    An Evangelist friend of mine handed me this book one day when I was going through something. She told me to open it and just read the first thing I see. I did that and it applied to my life as of that day. It was encouraging. I think everyone would enjoy it. It's had the same result to everyone that I hand it too as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    This is an amazing book.

    This book is worth it's weight in gold. I have breast cancer, this book reminds me of Fathers love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Love it!

    Really enjoying the intimate time this leads me in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Best devotional book I own

    Concise daily readings with a boost for your whole day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspirational

    Biblically based, this book reads as if the Lord is speaking to you and your concerns. I keep it by my bed with my Bible. An excellent daily devotional, reading one entry at a time. The cover is soft leather, even beautiful to the touch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2007

    The most moving prose I've ever read!

    These love letters to and from God speak to your heart, soul, and spirit. No matter how many times you read it, it speaks anew to you each time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2006

    32 years

    This book first brought so much strength to me 32 years ago when my mother lost her battle with cancer when I was 20 years old. Now, I am sharing it with my son's girlfriend who is 21 years old and whose mother is battling for her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2005

    Love Letters from God

    I have had this book for 30 years and am still drawn to it. When I tell people about it I tell them it's a book of love letters from God. It sits on an end table in my living room and from time to time it seems to call out to me saying 'read me.' I pick it up and look at the section headings page. One section seems to stand out. Then I look at the list of enteries for that section and one entry always stands out from the others. I read that entry. Every single time that entry is EXACTLY what I need to hear at that moment. Last night when I was creating a webpage offering Hurricane Katrina help and encouragement I immediately thought of this book and, wouldn't you know it, there was an entry that was perfect. One line said 'Yea, thou shalt walk upon the waves, and the storm shall but drive thee more quickly to the desired port.' What a wonderful confirmation that all things that happen to us are meant for the good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2002

    IT TOUCHES THE SOUL OF THE READER

    My best friend gave me a copy of 'COME AWAY MY BELOVED' a few years ago.It is one of the most amazing books I have ever read next to the Bible. I prayerfully pick it up and open it at random and it is as if God Speaks to my present circumstance. I have handed it to friends and family and asked them to do the same and they are amazed, even the non-Christian ones feel as if they have been spoken to. Also I have been on the phone talking long distance with someone and have read to them with the same results. Words truly from the Heart of God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2002

    Awesome book

    I've had my copy of this unique book for over 8 years. I'm always recommending it to others who then want to borrow mine... but I read the passages at random and get blessed over and over again... so I'm ordering copies to give away. It will bless you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2000

    The Closest Book to God, After the Bible

    I only want to say I LOVE this book! I've read it many times, sent it to my mother and gave it to my daughter for Christmas! They whole heartedly agree with me, you can hear the Lord speak to your heart and soul in this book! I can't say enough good things about it and nothing is bad! Buy it for yourself and then you will get it for your loved ones, after you see what I said was true!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2