Customer Reviews for

Come Back: A Mother and Daughter's Journey Through Hell and Back

Average Rating 4.5
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A must read for every mother and every daughter!

This book is a heavy read and goes into great detail the abuse suffered by Mia (the daughter) and the real life struggles of the "other" parent (Claire) as she realizes, accepts and fights the past, present and future ramifications of not only adolescent sexual abuse, b...
This book is a heavy read and goes into great detail the abuse suffered by Mia (the daughter) and the real life struggles of the "other" parent (Claire) as she realizes, accepts and fights the past, present and future ramifications of not only adolescent sexual abuse, but drug abuse and a host of other emotional problems that can only be described as unbelievable, but true. Read this book!!! If there is a female in your life, read this and learn the power of a mother's love!

posted by cnb29 on February 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Found this to be somewhat a bore

I just got re-obsessed with reading, and i love to read memiors and stories about real life and triumph through hardships...but this book was really a disappointment...reading everyone else's reviews makes me feel like i'm missing something b/c i don't agree with most o...
I just got re-obsessed with reading, and i love to read memiors and stories about real life and triumph through hardships...but this book was really a disappointment...reading everyone else's reviews makes me feel like i'm missing something b/c i don't agree with most of them. I enjoyed reading Mia's portions of the book, but I found Claire's dialogue to be redundant and poorly expressed. Something about the manner in which she writes, i can't put my finger on it, didn't have a good flow for me. In every effort i made to stay interested, i failed. I suppose i might have been looking for more of a knock-down vividness of life in addiction and teen despair but as i literally read every other page to skim through to the end, i was left disappointed overall.

posted by Anonymous on September 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    A must read for every mother and every daughter!

    This book is a heavy read and goes into great detail the abuse suffered by Mia (the daughter) and the real life struggles of the "other" parent (Claire) as she realizes, accepts and fights the past, present and future ramifications of not only adolescent sexual abuse, but drug abuse and a host of other emotional problems that can only be described as unbelievable, but true. Read this book!!! If there is a female in your life, read this and learn the power of a mother's love!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    A necessity for any parent of a drug addicted child

    Claire and Mia's story is the most real memoir I've ever read. As the mother of a heroin addicted daughter and a survivor of childhood sexual abuse, it truly hit home. Claire's story was dead on as to what it's like to watch your child destroy her life. I've said the words and thought the thoughts in this book over and over. As far as Mia, in some cases, she said the exact same things I've heard from my own daughter so many times. As an abuse survivor, it helped me to understand so much of the pain and confusion that go along with being a survivor. For any parent who has gone through the hell and insanity that is drug addiction, this book gives some amazing insight into the hard work that is required for recovery. I hope and pray with each day that my daughter and I reach the point that Claire and Mia have.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    I have actually attended the school Spring Creek Lodge Academy i

    I have actually attended the school Spring Creek Lodge Academy in Thompson Falls, Montana. I read this book years ago when I was actually at the school. I stumbled across it looking for books to purchase for my nook and found it fascinating. Sometimes you forget about certain aspects of your life and than randomly stumble upon them.
    For anyone who has questions about whether this book is like all of the rest of the Memoirs out there, IT"S NOT! You should definitely purchase it whether you have had problems with addiction or not. Everyone in life knows someone who has addiction problems or experiences them yourself. It is a very good read. DEFINITELY BUY!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    A must read!

    I first read this book on paperback form. My mother was the one who gave me the book and told me i should read it. As soon as i started the book, I could not put it down. I cried on certain parts and was truly amazed on what they went through. I finished this book in a few days and was blown away.This book went around our office for a month. Now that i have my nook, i bought it. You will honestly not be disappointed on this book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Wonderful book, a must to read!

    Claire and Mia brought back so many memories to me and I think they told their story the way it should have been told. I wish all kids were required to read this book so if they were going thru this they might come forward or think about their actions.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic

    This book was so deep. I read it in a few days....and i loved it. I really loved it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    absolutely amazing!

    I could not put this book down! I am a full time nurse with three kids and I couldn't put this book down! This book is completely engaging from the first page and I was incredibly sad when I finished it. I am not a person that will read a book a second time but this book is definitely one I would consider. My only regret is that I loaned it out and can't remember who has it! This book is absolutely what prompted me to begin reading again. I highly recommend this book to everyone. I hope there will be another book from this mother-daughter team.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Abused children

    This is a great book to help parents know there are others out there facing the same battles, as well as showing there is a light at the end of the tunnel!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Powerful.

    Strong Bio of two strong women. I could not put this down. Thanks to Claire and Mia for sharing their story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    A mother-daughter journey through hell and back is as real as it

    A mother-daughter journey through hell and back is as real as it gets. The writing style is informative and heart-breaking. It is a great read to understand drug-addiction from the addicted's point of view and also their families.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    If you have ever worried that your child might make a mistake th

    If you have ever worried that your child might make a mistake that would bring her or him immeasurable harm; if you have ever loved someone who suffered from addiction &/or other serious emotional problems; if you have ever said "What's wrong with these kids nowadays, anyway?" READ THIS BOOK. This is a painfully honest description of what faced this family as they went through the most trying times of their lives, and how they found their way back to the love that was always there. I commend the courage of this family to open up their already bruised hearts in order to help the rest of us. Buy the book. You won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Review

    I enjoyed this book about a mother and daughter finding each other and the love that was always there. This book made me think about my relationships with people.adults will like this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Wow!

    This memoir was so insightful of how we act. I learned about this mother and daughter and even learned some things about myself and improving on my own attitudes and actions. Recommend everyone to read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    This book ia transformative

    What a great book for parents and kids to read. To hear this classic story being told from both sides while watching them both go through there transformation is just brilliant. Reading this book knightly shed light on what my daughter and I are going through but it also shed light on my own childhood which helped in my transformation.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2009

    TEENAGERS SHOULD REALD

    I loved this book.It was very hard to read because it was so real. I am not a mother.But I was a daughter just like Mia. This book opened my eyes more than they were already opened. I reccommend teenagers and parents to read but more to teenagers. Teenagers lose sight of who they are hurting in their acts of running towards freedom.This book will definetly give them a realization of who and why theyre hurting. All in all GREAT book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2006

    A profound and moving reading experience

    I found myself completely immersed in this journey of two extraordinary women. I not only enjoyed the humor infused throughout this heart wrenching story, I found the full range of emotions present at every twist and turn. This novel should be read by everyone: not only those who have children or are considering the joys of parenting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Coi Come back

    Very compelling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    This is the first book followed by the sequel 'Have Mother, Will

    This is the first book followed by the sequel 'Have Mother, Will Travel-A Mother and Daughter's Journey Around the World and Back'. An extremely honest memoir with sections written by mother (majority) & daughter, including their recollections, thoughts & feelings. Parts are very sad & scary (reading as a mother of two daughters). I appreciated the honesty of both sides of the story & I was totally interested the whole book. I didn't agree with everything at the school in Eastern Europe (lifestyle, seminar philosophy) as well the seminars the mother attended. But I could understand the mother's last-hope attempt at finding a safe place for her daughter be safe & to get effective treatment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    An amazing read

    Thank you for this book Claire & Mia! You both inspire me!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    absolutely loved this book, must read

    absolutely loved this book, must read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5