Customer Reviews for

Come Closer

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Um, I hate horror...

...yet this is brilliant. I was apprehensive about the whole demon thing, but I read it because I love Gran's DOPE. The story is wonderfully told, and it can be read literally or as a great metaphor for anyone who's ever feared he was 'losing it.'

posted by Anonymous on November 15, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Warning to reader...did not deliver.

I read Come Closer because I wanted to review a horror novel for Halloween. This book was in my TBR pile, so I thought I’d give it a shot. This quote from the description held great promise: “The mystery behind what's happening to Amanda in Come Closer is so frightening...
I read Come Closer because I wanted to review a horror novel for Halloween. This book was in my TBR pile, so I thought I’d give it a shot. This quote from the description held great promise: “The mystery behind what's happening to Amanda in Come Closer is so frightening that it "ought to carry a warning to...readers.”” Sadly, it did not deliver. Novels about demon possession can be very creepy, especially in a quiet not-so-obvious way that can sneak up on you. I did have one such experience while reading this book. I was about half way through it when I awoke one night a little after midnight thinking that I heard something. I opened the door to my bedroom, stepped into the hallway, and turned on the light. As I looked down the hallway towards the stairs, I had this ice cold feeling creeping up my spine. I thought about the tap-tap in the book. I thought, “I better find something down there making noise.” Thankfully, I found the dishwasher had finished its cycle and was emitting four small beeps every minute or so. Relief washed over me. And I was pleased to think that maybe the book was scarier than I thought. But when I finished it a day and a half later, I was still left disappointed. I think the issue for me was that the story lacked intensity. It was told in the past tense which took away the immediacy of the problem and the conflict. I never felt that heart-pounding rush of adrenaline spurring me on to find out what happens. I think if I was witnessing all of the events as they were occurring, it would have been much more horrifying. There would have been a sense of urgency, fear, and confusion. I didn’t sense or feel any of that from Amanda, the protagonist. In fact, she treated the whole nightmare quite nonchalantly. I felt she was weak and gave a half-hearted attempt to save herself. If you truly love horror, save yourself and find another book to read.

posted by Shewhirler on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2006

    Um, I hate horror...

    ...yet this is brilliant. I was apprehensive about the whole demon thing, but I read it because I love Gran's DOPE. The story is wonderfully told, and it can be read literally or as a great metaphor for anyone who's ever feared he was 'losing it.'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2003

    a haunting, masterful read.

    Freud believed that ¿unheimlich¿ or the uncanny is a much more fertile province in fiction than in real life, for it contains the whole of the latter and something more besides, something that cannot be found in real life. The contrast between what has been repressed and what has been surmounted cannot be transposed on to the uncanny in fiction without profound modification; for the realm of fantasy depends for its effect on the fact that its content is not submitted to reality-testing. The supernatural, albeit concepts of telekinesis, black magic, migration, and demonic possession, is this elusive and intriguing goddess, because it provides one that leads a hum-drum life with the possibility of something other. Sara Gran¿s second effort, Come Closer, is a spare and haunting story that migrates the reader from the definitive world of which we are comfortably familiar to a very different world dominated by a lascivious demon, Naamah, known by the Kabbalah as an evil spirit that has ¿a lust for life and a taste for violence¿ that assumes the body and mind of a young architect, Amanda. The central figure is a woman that lives a quiet life with her husband and her only thrill is the affections of a stray shepherd that lurks in her empty neighborhood. The story opens with an odd tapping that only occurs in Amanda¿s presence. Unable to locate the origin of the sound, she & her husband assume it¿s mice in the walls, a building abnormality. And so it goes. Soon thereafter, she mistakenly receives a book in the mail entitled, Demon Possession Past and Present and she receives visits in her dreams by a warm figure that was a childhood imaginary friend. They lay in sanguine sand, warmed and Amanda is filled with comfort and release. The dreams increase with fervor and soon Naamah is a voice teetering on her earlobe, eager to envelope Amanda, to create her anew. Slowly, things begin to change. Amanda burns her husband, accidentally, a black-out reveals that she has committed a slashing of a newsstand seller and a colleague and she repeatedly finds herself in bars donning sexy heels and painted lips, seducing men. Throughout the transformation, Gran effectively balances the psychological with the supernatural. Naamah is Amanda¿s id, delivering the freedom that she would otherwise never have. But a part of her intercedes, always, seeking to right things by visiting a psychiatrist, seeking a exorcism, a sliver of her ego clings while the rest of her slips away. Gran keeps the tension heightened to determine whether Amanda¿s life will return to normal ¿ she¿ll resume her safe life with Ed, peter along at her small firm or will Naamah sustain, consume Amanda whole. The story¿s progression is artful, subtle and the balance of Amanda/Naamah¿s interior point-of-view juxtaposed with her outward face is masterful in understanding the character¿s psychological transformation. One feels this is New York, but not really ¿ from the nebulous location throughout, the reader feels grounded and ungrounded at the same time. Gran in Come Closer asks us to question the things we firmly know. The psychological and supernatural are so intricately linked in this tale, that it is eerily accessible to the reader ¿ could the impossible be possible? What is possession? What are the limits of the pragmatic, scientific world as we know of it and how easily could it be compromised by the intangible? Sara Gran weaves a fine yarn between the two and delivers a wonderfully unpredictable ending in our predictable world.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Must Read!

    This was the first Gran book I read and I am hooked! Warning: If you scare easily, DO NOT read this on a dark, stormy night. Or in an old house prone to noises for that matter...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2003

    An excellent book

    This book may have been a bit too complex for a high school senior. Somewhere in between a noir thriller and a classic horror novel, Amanda's slow posession by a demon had me unable to put the book down. It keeps you guessing right until the very end, and it stuck with me for days afterwards.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Ghoulishly Grim

    One reviewer wrote about Freud which I think sums it up. This is a psychological thrill ride leaving the reader guessing if Amanda is possesed by the demon, Naamah, until the end. One question - did anyone else think Naamah = Amanha?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    <3 unforgettable.

    &lt;3 unforgettable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Must Read!

    An amazing book! A must must MUST read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1