BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Come Dream with Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Highly Enjoyable

    Jane Monheit has one of the most beautiful voices I have listened to. Once you listen you're hooked. Just sit back in your easy chair and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing singer, but where is the improv?

    Jane Monheit has perfect pitch and a wonderful voice, but I don't understand how everyone can compare her to Ella or Carmen? What made them so special in their time was their capability to scat! I have seen Jane live SEVERAL times and am disappointed with each concert. Jane- please learn to improv, because that is what is seperating you from becoming a legend and just being a good singer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hung Up On Jane

    I first heard Ms Monheit at the Tanglewood Jazz Festival in 2001. I was knocked out with her perfect intonation, diction and sense of swing. She has a lush sound on her ballads. Imagine all this talent on someone so young. It is certainly not wasted on 'her youth'. Oh, did I say, she looks good, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great voice, great looker, great repetoire!

    Fellow listeners: Jane Monheit does not disappoint. Her second album continues in the same great intimate mood as NEVER NEVER LAND. She does a great job on my all time favorite ballad, ''Ill Be Seeing You'' and proves that good singing is always in style. Again she is reminiscent of the great ladies of song, Nancy Wilson, Carmen MacCrae and Julie London. Jane's formal training and early listening exposure to the great singers comes through in each track. Album number three should showcase her backed by a big band similar to the great Harry James and Helen Forrest hits. I'd love to hear her do a few ''swinging'' vocals, maybe backed by the great Doc Severinsen TONITE SHOW big band! Sincerely, Dick Bobnick

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely excellent!

    She is such a pleasure to listen to. Hard to believe she is so young--what a talented performer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Thrills and Chills

    Wow. Imagination, sensitivity, incredible musicality, and her voice gives me chills. I just listened to Jane's versions of several tunes against some outstanding interpretations: her ''Waters of March'' vs. Astrud Gilberto's, her ''Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most'' vs. Jackie Cain's, her ''I'm Through With Love'' vs. Ella's, her ''I'll Be Seeing You'' vs. Mel Torme's, and her ''So Many Stars'' vs. Kathleen Battle's (on the album of the same name, in which Ms. Battle sings with jazz players). In each case, Jane holds her own. We're lucky to have many years of her singing ahead!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Jane Monheit a musical gem

    Jane Monheit is another musical gem emerging on the jazz scene and this CD has set a high standard. Her version of ''Over the Rainbow'' evokes the spirit of a young Judy Garland. ''Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most'' is as good as June Christy's version recorded in the 50's. There are no weak tracks. I highly recommend this CD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pure Magic~!

    The songs and arrangements are wonderful. Great singer~!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A believer of Love

    I was reawakened to jazz ballads when I first heard her voice. Captivated, lost, and in love, these are just few of the emotions I feel whenever I listen to her voice. I had recomemded her to my professor and he can't believe he missed her. Her interpretation on ''If'' brought me closer to my loving friend. It brought new meaning to my life and to his as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pretty darn good

    As a newcomer to the world of jazz, I was really taken with this album. Ms. Monheit's voice is something to behold. I look forward to purchasing a lot more of her music through the years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    JANE IS A DEFINITE JAZZ ARTIST

    I saw Jane grow up from the age of 8. I attended her high school plays, where she always had the lead, saw her in SOHO, NY, at the famous Vanguard and last weekend saw her fantastic performance in Chicago @ the Ravini. She is ''Fantastic''!!! I listen to her CDs driving to and from work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Gifted

    Ms. Monheit is a talented young singer with a gift. If you don't own any of Jane Monheit's recordings I would recommend that you buy two of each. Play one continuously and keep the other with you at all times in case of emergency.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enjoying the ''Dream''

    I'm sure Mel Torme, wherever he is, must be smiling on Jane Monheit when she sings ''Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most''. She has a way with wide intervals and a depth of feeling that comes through in her music that reminds me of Mel. I've also been missing Ella, Sarah, and Carmen and had just about given up finding anybody who could possibly measure up to their greatness. Jane Monheit is definitely on her way to joining these lofty ranks, as long as she stays in the jazz idiom. I love the standards, but the variety on this CD - even one of my favorite Joni Mitchell tunes, ''A Case of You'' - is refreshing in a mostly jazz offering. I've already listened to this CD fifteen or twenty times and I'm not even beginning to tire of it. Every one of my jazz-enamored friends agrees. Jane Monheit is a keeper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Top Billing

    Longtime jazz fan must have a tin ear. The musicianship was of top quality,in all phases.Number one on Billboard now. The man has a nasty mind.Perhaps the drums and bass were not loud enough for him.Buy this top quality recording. The professionals can't be wrong!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    overrated album

    I bought this album on the strength of BN's hype--mistake. The material is really blah, and the musicians, including Jane, don't seem to be getting into it. It was a real comedown for me after the sensationally enjoyable ''Never Never Land.'' ''Come Dream with Me'' just doesn't show her talent, and isn't very enjoyable. It will stay at the back of my rack, if I don't give it away. With the sexpot pictures, I couldn't escape the feeling that the label is marketing this not as ''come dream with me,'' but as ''come sleep with me.'' Hey, nothing wrong with being pretty, but Jane doesn't need to use her beauty to sell her singing. Jim Isham

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Even Better Than Her Debut Album

    Lifelong jazz fan must have been listening to a different cd.......the one that I heard was perhaps the most glorious display of vocal talent that I have heard to date....Ms. Monheit and company should be deservedly proud of this masterpiece....when listening to the songs in my office, coworkers stopped at my office to ask ''Who is that great singer''.....so it is not just me.......and I'm also sure that Judy Garland is smiling!!!!! Great singer, wonderful selection of songs, and great musicians!!!! Enough said! I am very glad to say that I am going to be able to enjoy Jane Monheit's voice for a long time......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1