Customer Reviews for

Come the Spring (Clayborne Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Exciting and well written. finished it in half a day. Very enjoy

Exciting and well written. finished it in half a day. Very enjoyable

posted by doggis on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Liked

I read the first book of this series a long time ago. I was well into this book before I realized the two books were connected. Julie Garwood writes a good romance. I had one problem with this book. In every chapter, which started with she, she was spelled the. Not once...
I read the first book of this series a long time ago. I was well into this book before I realized the two books were connected. Julie Garwood writes a good romance. I had one problem with this book. In every chapter, which started with she, she was spelled the. Not once, or twice but over and over. This book was not quite as syrupy as most romances. The bank robberies gave it a nice touch of zest. This novel consists of 280 pages, ten of which were extreneous information. There were some pretty violent and bloody scenes. Some rough sex and other sexual situations are also present. I would recommend this book to mature readers of romantic fiction.


AD

posted by 19189092 on September 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting and well written. finished it in half a day. Very enjoy

    Exciting and well written. finished it in half a day. Very enjoyable

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    Wonderful Book = ebook contains numerous spelling errors not found in printed books

    I am glad to see that they are converting some of her earlier books to ebooks - all of her books are keepers - I was however disappointed at the numerous print errors. The first word of the chapter in numerous chapters was misspelled. "The" for She or He is just one example. I really love the convenience, storage issue, and larger print size of ebooks but have been disappointed in the numerous errors I have found - the purchased price of ebooks has gone up and is the same or slightly less than the paperback or hardback issues. I feel that the publishers are not paying sufficient attention to the quality of their product. I had planned to convert all my Garwood books to ebooks because I love her stories and they are KEEPERS. I would hate for anyone reading one of her stories for the first time to let the numerous errors keep them from buying any of her other books. Her earlier historical romance novels are some of the best I have ever read. Her characters are original and very well developed. Her female charcters in this book are not typical of the era - strong and independent. Also, I loved Rose Hill - the first book - enjoyed reading Cole's story since he was my favorite in the prior book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    Something different

    I was pleasantly surprised with Come the Spring. At first, I wasn't sure that I would like it, but the more I read, the more engrossed I became. I thought perhaps this book would include a little of the rest of the family, but it didn't really, other than when Cole mentioned them in passing. But I think I like the way Julie Garwood wrote this book. The plot was excellent and kept me guessing through most of the book. I enjoyed the mystery and suspense and the budding relationships between Daniel and Cole, and their respective loves. I realized that the book doesn't need to contain a series of love scenes to be captivating.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2002

    AN INVITING TOTALLY GREAT BOOK

    THIS WAS MY FAVORITE OF ALL THE CLAYBORNE BOOKS. SINCE FOR THE ROSES IVE WANTED TO BE A PART OF THE CLAYBORNE CLAN. IT JUST GOES TO PROVE THE RIGHT WOMAN OR MAN CAN CHANGE YOUR MIND. AND THE CLAYBORNE MEN THEY'RE ALL SO YUMMY AND INTRIGUING!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2000

    As usual Garwood comes through

    It would be hard to choose a favorite brother but Clay won me in For the Roses when he took the 'monster' out and shot him.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2000

    Spellbounding

    This book kept me spellbounded. I purchased this book on vaction in az.At the days end i simply could not wait to start reading again.Cole and the rest of the charecters were so charming and intersting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Loved it

    Garwood is one of the few authors that I love to reread and this book is no exception. I love getting the extra stories on the brothers since we got so close to the family in the main book. I recommend all of her historicals.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Liked

    I read the first book of this series a long time ago. I was well into this book before I realized the two books were connected. Julie Garwood writes a good romance. I had one problem with this book. In every chapter, which started with she, she was spelled the. Not once, or twice but over and over. This book was not quite as syrupy as most romances. The bank robberies gave it a nice touch of zest. This novel consists of 280 pages, ten of which were extreneous information. There were some pretty violent and bloody scenes. Some rough sex and other sexual situations are also present. I would recommend this book to mature readers of romantic fiction.


    AD

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    This is the first time I read this author and wouldn't recommend

    This is the first time I read this author and wouldn't recommend it for serious readers. This is what I call a fluff book with very little story line. Women are always gorgeous, men are always stubborn just change the names and probably could read all the books. Not the best read for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    A Great Read

    This is the beginning story of four brothers and their finding of a baby girl and their future in the West. Its a great love story and the beginning of a series of books about their lives. This is a must read that only Julie Garwood can wright. It's a five star book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Always a good read

    Julie Garwood is a good fast read, I've been reading her novels since I was a teen. They are interesting enough to keep you engrossed on a rainy day, help you survive a plane trip or if you're stuck in bed. Unfortunately, her novels follow the same formula so I don't recommend reading them one after the other unless you vary between present day and historical. She does have detailed sex scenes but they are not vulgar, she's old school so she sticks with "throbbing manhood" and other milder descriptions. This book is good, Come the Spring has more of a mystery to it than many of her historical novels and more than one couple which is interesting. So you bounce between several locations and 2 couples struggling with love, duty, the past and lust. Garwood is an excellent writer in this genre and I cant say that I've read one of her novels that failed to keep me interested. Her books based on present day have more detailed character descriptions. Her novels are about romance and falling in love not sex.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2000

    Simply The BEST!!!!!!!

    This book is great! It really holds your attention, I could hardly put it down. Its got a great plot and you never know who it is or whats going to happen next till you read it. Very captivating and a great ending to the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 1999

    fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Come the Spring in my opinion is the coolest book!! I love For The Roses though. I think that Come the Spring Great,and For The Roses can never be beat if you understand the value of family like I do because I have not had the best luck with them until I moved in with my new family. Well Chow!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    Highly Recommend Last Clayborne Brothers Story

    Loved it! Wrapped up the Clayborne story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I read For the Roses and I absolutely loved it. I wasn't disappointed at all by Come the Spring. It is a continuing saga of the Clayborne family. This book centers on Cole Clayborne the gunslinger son. It was a powerful story I would definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    Not one of Julie Garwood's better books. Got half way and just c

    Not one of Julie Garwood's better books. Got half way and just couldn't keep interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    dont waste your time

    Was bored with it. Very slow read and not much for entertainment. On page 90 I quit reading it. Would love a refund lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Would I read it again? Probably not

    I give books I would read again 4 or 5 stars and just couldn't bring myself to give this more than 3. I managed to read the entire book but I wasn't sitting on the edge of my seat...not even once. The characters and the dialogue were both fairly phony.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Excellent ending to the Clayborne Clan

    This is another great novel from Julie Garwood. I bought & read this when it came out in hardback several years ago. I thought it was nice that there is a double love story in novel. Lots of love, action, and laughter. another winner from Miss Julie Garwood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    "Come the Spring" brings the family

    I enjoyed the writing, plot and characters so much,I bought the other books related to the Claiborne family stories. When I finished those, I bought all the other books written by Julie Garwood. She keeps you enthalled so much you don't want to put the book down to sleep, eat or go to work. You laugh; try to guess what's going to happen next; talk to the characters- like husband talk to the TV.
    Ms. Garwood books were better than Tv or the movies. I like that characters from one book would pop up in another book or ancestors would show up later in a more contemporay setting. You feel like you are reading a town or family history. I hope she keeps it up.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5