Customer Reviews for

Come to the Table

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    Neta Jackson does it again! She makes a fabulous read. The new b

    Neta Jackson does it again! She makes a fabulous read. The new book Come to the table is book two in her new Souledout Sister series. In this book we meet Kay Davies. Kay is shocked to find that she does not have the full support on her grand ideas of a food pantry from the one that she admires and thought was on board with the idea . She is forced into the reality that sometimes faith is biting of more than you can chew. She also moves a homeless mother and son into her apartment to live a bit and oh did I mention she shares this apartment with others one of them is Nick but that is a whole other side of this story you can read to find out about. I loved that Kay lived her faith out loud and that there are moments that she wonders why she is biting of more than she can chew. I loved that Neta Jackson deals with the support or lack thereof from others especially those that close to Kay and yet to Kay they act as if they are supporting her but do not when it is time. The reason why I loved this in the book is because you encounter these people over and over in life and it is nice to see Kay keep on going in spite of the fact. It is a good lesson in life I feel. I think there are a few things that are predictable in this book but I do not care I love the story and characters any way. I did find surprises to throughout the book. A good weekend read with a great message makes me a happy girl. It is my opinion you can never go wrong with any Neta Jackson her books are like spending time with a good friend because her characters are so great and so normal all at the same time. I give this book my 5 star rating. If you have read any of my blogs you know it is time for me to let you know I received this complimentary copy form Book Sneeze for my honest review and the above my review is just that.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    Another great book by Neta Jackson

    I love when I can follow characters' stories beyond just one book. Neta Jackson is a great example of an author who does just that. I originally started reading books by Neta when I came across the Yada Yada Prayer Group series. I was bummed when that series came to an end, but delighted when she began to write other series that continued to follow some of those beloved characters as well as introducing new ones. The latest series is the SouledOut Sisters series and Come to the Table is the second installment. I loved being able to catch up with characters again and follow their lives. There were some things that were predictable but there were also events that I didn't see coming, including some that guarantee Neta will have more stories to tell in the future! I'd highly recommend this book as well as the others written by Neta Jackson.


    Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Finally - The wait has been long.....

    I was excited to read the next installment on this 3rd series by Neta Jackson. It met all my expectations! Good story line, vivid real characters with interesting personalities and glimpses of old friends from the other two series. I stayed up way too late...I could not put it down. They are like family to me. Now the wait begins again until the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    Love all of Neta's books. Just wondering how many will be in th

    Love all of Neta's books. Just wondering how many will be in this new series? I hope she never stops writing.
    I have fallen in love with all of my Yada Yada sisters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Another winner from Neta!

    If you're a Neta Jackson lover, you'll enjoy this one just as much as the Yada Yadas and the Manna House novels! I'm not sure if there will be another Souled Out Sisters because, without giving away anything, this one ends with the story at least as resolved as the Manna House novels' closing, but I'm hoping for more. Thoroughly enjoyable with more wonderful characters that you get attached to and reunions with old friends from the other stories. Keep em coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Loved It!

    Another great and inspirational book by Neta Jackson. I am never disappointed when I read books from this author. Just got their newest one "Grounded" and can see that it will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    If you love Yada Yada...

    This is the 2nd in the SouledOut Sisters series by Neta Jackson. I loved the Yada Yada Prayer Group, and the House of Hope series. Thus, I was thrilled to see Neta has continued the characters we met in these books, along with introducing a few more. You won't regret continuning on this life journey with the members of SouledOut Community Church, and being re-introduced to Avis, Jodi, Edessa, Gabby..and now Kat, Nick and other college students who join in the story line. A blessing to read, and an encouragement to all as we watch these characters living out the Christian lifestyle. Set in the Chicago area, once again. Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Wonderful again

    I didn't get a complimentary book which is fine. I love them all and relate to most. Movie please...
    God has truly blessed Mrs. Jackson and me thru her. I would love to attend Souled Out one day.
    I am ready for more and will start over until a new one comes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Come to the Table takes us back to the SouledOut Community Churc

    Come to the Table takes us back to the SouledOut Community Church in Chicago. If you are like me you have come to love and care for the characters that we met clear back in the Yada Yada days! I’m enjoying catching up and keeping in touch with the original characters. With each new novel a few new people are added into the community.


    The problem with many long running series is that you just get tired of the characters. After all how much drama can one group of people really stand? The beauty of this series is that it blends the familiar with the new in ways that keep driving the story forward.


    Neta Jackson has a unique way of breathing life into the individuals in the story. There is always someone that reminds me of myself and there are others that remind me of someone I should know. Through her continued storylines she delves into areas that aren’t always comfortable, but they are areas we each need to examine.


    I think you can read Come to the Table as a stand-alone novel. However, if you have the opportunity pick up Stand By Me, book one in the series. Actually if you really want to treat yourself go all the way back and start with the Yada Yada series, then mosey on in to the House of Hope series, and by all means don’t leave out the Harry Bentley series by Neta's husband! Wow…you’ve got some great reading ahead of you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    I requested this book knowing nothing about the SouledOut Sister

    I requested this book knowing nothing about the SouledOut Sisters series. I had read Neta Jackson's missionary series co-authored with her husband, and wanted to try one of other books. That's my disclaimer. I probably wouldn't have gotten it if I had known it was a book in the middle of a series. Oh well.

    That being said, I had a hard time reading it and I'm having a hard time writing the review because I didn't know the characters and the story they were coming from. Here goes.

    Kat Davies is a new Christian who takes her new faith seriously. She invites a homeless single mother and her son to move into the apartment she shares with two other people. (Side Note: all three of them are college friends who moved share an apartment to break up costs. One of them is a guy, the other two are girls.)

    As Kat grows more and more fond of Nick complications begin to arise. First there's the fact they share a house and he's a pastor. (awkward situation) Then there's Rochelle who also seems to have feelings for Nick. And last of all, Rochelle's son, who desperately wants a father in his life.

    As Kat deals with all of her emotions she also tries to start a food pantry, which leads her to examine her motives and try to find just what "coming to the table" means.

    Score ~ ¿¿
    Violence ~ 1
    Indecency ~ 2
    Language ~ 1
    Age ~ 18 and up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1