BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Comes a Horseman

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great thriller

I originally picked up this book for the cover art. I normally don't do this, but the synopsis didn't sound bad, so I went with it. Awesome book. Watching as all the parts come together for the climax was great. The interrogation scene actually spooked me, which is ...
I originally picked up this book for the cover art. I normally don't do this, but the synopsis didn't sound bad, so I went with it. Awesome book. Watching as all the parts come together for the climax was great. The interrogation scene actually spooked me, which is no easy feat. I read nothing but supernatural/thriller/horror books, and there are only 2 others that got to me the way this one did. Writing style was easy to follow, and the characters were great.

posted by drumsrfun on August 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I was asked to read this by a friend of the author and to do a review. I came away disappointed. Where there were numerous places to fill out the story, he just left them blank basically.It was like he was using a recipe and left out some main ingredients. One of the be...
I was asked to read this by a friend of the author and to do a review. I came away disappointed. Where there were numerous places to fill out the story, he just left them blank basically.It was like he was using a recipe and left out some main ingredients. One of the best things about this genre is the info provided, answers provided by the author. The author's too detailed long winded accounts about the "gore", rather than the story line, really places him in the horror writing genre and I don't mean the Stephen King quality either. I was just disappointed. He could of really taken off with this theme and did a really full story, rather than concentrate on the blood and gore. If he was trying to jump on the Dan Brown bandwagon, he sure missed.

posted by DCinAZ on June 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    Great thriller

    I originally picked up this book for the cover art. I normally don't do this, but the synopsis didn't sound bad, so I went with it. Awesome book. Watching as all the parts come together for the climax was great. The interrogation scene actually spooked me, which is no easy feat. I read nothing but supernatural/thriller/horror books, and there are only 2 others that got to me the way this one did. Writing style was easy to follow, and the characters were great.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read

    What a good read! It was a page-turner in every sense of the term. The characters were very well-developed, the plot was intriguing, and the suspense kept me up at night. There was plenty of food for deeper thought on bigger issues for those who are interested. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who appreciates a very-well written book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2008

    Do not miss this book!

    Tired of the same old serial killer story? Robert Liparulo has crafted a marvelous and scary story that is all too believable. Plenty of twists and turns and action to keep you turning pages until the end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ROBERT LIPARULO this author deserves a uk publisher!

    i found this book (comes a horseman) sat at the bottom of a pile of books at my sisters it wasnt one of my typical authors or stories i thought oh the anticrist world descruction and thought it would be one of them stories where your always one step in front - but oh no it was slow at first then it was all go totally unpridictable plot and fabulous way of writing it didnt come accross as trpical american but a bit twisted/wierd for an english writer.

    if you have not read this book you should it is not an average day end of the world book its full of twist and turns and some stomach wrenching fear and as with the best of writers everything that is going on is all plauseable you could be the one that was sat alone at home before being ferousley attacked by wolf dogs then decapitated.

    excerlent book i want more of them and am having to rely on the internet to collect them all why does america get all the best authors! you should share or robert liparulo's agent should be doing there jobs and get him published in the uk boost his sales etc well good luck with that i hope to see him on the shelves soon

    i also think that people should remember where all the good ideas for films, plays and books come from its from authors that have pride in their work and without authors of some and every kind it would be a bleak world on the entertainment front, not that i am saying this book should be made into a film i dont believe that it should as there have been far to many world descruction films made in the last 20 years. good luck robers=t and keep up the good work it doesnt matter what the reviews say if you are acomplishing your goals

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Riveting Story!

    Absolutely awesome book! Intriguing and suspenceful from page one until the epilogue! I loved that until 2/3s through the book every chapter switched charachters, after that the story got more intense and just moved from event to event. The description in the book was amazing, and you were able to get into the mind of each of the main characters. This book was just shy of 500 pages and the timeline inside the book was just a few days. It was a great book and I definitely would recommend it to others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    If this was a first effort (2005), BRAVO! Brilliant narrative surrounding a basically simple plot. Start reading this author!

    When starting this 620 page paperback version I wondered if I would be done by Labor Day (9/6/2010). Two days later I'm writing this in a bit of a daze due to a whirlwind trip of the imagination from Colorado to New York, to Rome, to Isreal. THIS NOT A DAN BROWN IMITATOR! Mr. Liparulo's story is based on factual reality and, as near as I can tell, well researched. The primary conflict is a religious theme, but the story does not necessarily provide an uplifting of faith! Dare to question authority! Criminal acts, forensic technology, behavioral profiling, investigative procedure combined with Dirty Harry, Indiana Jones and a touch of Dennis Lehane.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Brilliant!

    I'd read this novel before and recently re-read it. It was as brilliant as I remembered. I truly enjoyed it even more on the second read. Liparulo's later novels (Deadfall, Deadlock) are a bit more tightly written, but there is just something about this one, in which he goes deeply into police procedurals and characterization that really grips me. That he's able to do that, on top of eloquent writing and a fast-paced story, blows me away. Few authors are able to juggle so many balls so well.

    I won't go into the story, since that's already been done in these reviews, but I will say it's an intriguing premise and the twists and turns are masterfully handled. I'm pretty good at predicting storylines, but Comes a Horseman surprised me many time--and not in the surprise for surprise sake way; afterward, they made perfect sense. I like that.

    There are four or five pages of endorsements at the beginning of the books, most by famous, bestselling authors, saying how much they enjoyed the story and the writing. I totally agree. I wonder if the few people who posted less-than-glowing reviews just didn't get it or if they were reading outside their genre. Comes a Horseman IS more intellectual than the typical thriller, so maybe that was the problem.

    So far, I've read all of Liparulo's books and he had yet to disappoint me. I guess that makes me a fan. One thing's for sure: I can't wait for his next book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    Disappointed

    I was asked to read this by a friend of the author and to do a review. I came away disappointed. Where there were numerous places to fill out the story, he just left them blank basically.It was like he was using a recipe and left out some main ingredients. One of the best things about this genre is the info provided, answers provided by the author. The author's too detailed long winded accounts about the "gore", rather than the story line, really places him in the horror writing genre and I don't mean the Stephen King quality either. I was just disappointed. He could of really taken off with this theme and did a really full story, rather than concentrate on the blood and gore. If he was trying to jump on the Dan Brown bandwagon, he sure missed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Great read

    Story had me looking over my shoulder frequently! Scary stuff.
    A little too plausible in this day's unreligious climate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    I am disappointed

    Already to page 170 and it is slow going. I was expecting something more. The characters are not very interesting. I will finish the book just to find out if it gets better (because I am an avid reader). If I knew it would this before I bought the book I would have saved my money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    This is a great book!

    Robert Liparulo is a great author and writes manypage turning books.This was one of those books!! I also highly recomend his dreamhouse king series, those are also very good books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awsome Book!!!

    I really enjoyed this book. If you like Christian fiction this is a must read!!! Robert Liparulo has become one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I so enjoyed this book, and could not believe that I had never heard of this author. I am a reader of all kinds of books, but mostly suspense and thrillers. This had it all.....great characters,good plot and suspense enough and then some. I plan on reading more of his books and have recommended this to many of my reading friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    Great adventure

    Kept me interested throughout the entire book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    Loved It

    I loved this book... I was on the edge of my seat the whole time... Finally a book that is so exciting as this one was... Great Job !!! Cant wait for the next on by this author!.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2006

    As Good as Dan Brown

    The only other author, besides Dan Brown, that currently keeps me glued to a book and can't-get-back-to-reading-it-soon-enough, is Liparulo. Although not as suspenceful as Brown, he is lagging behind by only a small pace. The descriptions are graphic and the action is well paced. He keeps the language clean and no unnecessary sexuality (which rarely advances a plot). Just a caution, because of graphic descriptions, this is for a mature audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    Keeps You Guessing, Keeps You Up at Night

    I¿m usually not a thriller reader, so Robert Liparulo had an uphill battle to win me over with his new book, Comes a Horseman. He won. I was drawn in by the fresh prose, vivid imagery, and dynamic characters. And then he started weaving an intriguing plotline that had my mind racing as if through a labyrinth in the dark. FBI agents Brady Moore and Alicia Wagner follow up on a string of bizarre killings, but suddenly the investigators become the investigated. Moore and Wagner become the target of a mystical organization that spans countries and centuries in its quest to find the ultimate power. The quiet moments between Moore and his young son ring warm and true, and set us up for the moments of raw terror as the killer stalks father and son in their own home. It¿s clear as the chase takes us from the secret chambers of the Vatican to the shadowy tunnels of the catacombs, that we are in the hands of a master storyteller. Some scenes are graphically intense, but brief. Liparulo hooked me and had me flipping pages to see what would happen next. It¿s no wonder Hollywood is already working on the movie version. Comes a Horseman is tightly written and powerfully executed, with twists and turns that keep you guessing. And keep you up at night. Don¿t miss this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2005

    WOW..needs no other descriptive!!!

    COMES A HORSEMAN by Robert Liparulo was definitely a book to rival the writing of Dan Brown. I started the book one evening, then began reading it the next day and did not stop until I had finished all 484 pages in the wee hours of the next morning. This is his first book and just came out recently. I will definitely be on the look out for more from him.The story starts out with a serial killer and his well trained and illegal wolf/dogs. Connecting the murders brings up strange threads that connect these killings to a secret society. The FBI comes into the story because the murders cross state lines. Eventually the case crosses world boundaries, the Vatican, the United Nations, and a secret society of different people who maintain membership because of their wealth, knowledge, and power. It eventually comes to the libraries of the Vatican, and goes to another underground network of cave tunnels and rooms where the future of the world is being influenced, and determined by those who hope to find the Antichrist and plug into his power and wealth to control the world. More realistic than futuristic in the story line of this book! The author claims NO truths in this book, but it is full or truths and real possibilities that adds more mystery/thrills of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    You have GOT to read this one!

    FBI Agents Brady Moore, criminal psychologist, and Alicia Wagner are used to grisly scenes of death. They are the ones assigned to the Pelletier Killings. The murderer uses wolf-dogs to restrain his targets as he uses an axe for the killing blow. Though the MO is the same for the victims, no one could find a link to connect them. ...................... Then Alicia located Father Duncan McAfee, a Catholic priest in Manhattan. Father McAfee has published books pertaining to near death experiences. The people who died, went to Hades, and was then granted a second chance at life would tell Father Duncan their stories. As Father Duncan told Alicia their stories, things began to come together. ..................... Meanwhile, in Israel, Luco Scaramuzzi is with a group called the Watchers. Luco and Father Adalberto Randall are trying to convince the Watchers that the prophecies are coming true and that Luco is the Antichrist. Enter a world where right and wrong of religion is a thin line that can kill. ...................... ***** Whether you are religious or not, this novel will give you the CHILLS! There is no way I can give a clear synopsis without giving away vital information that would nullify several surprises. This is a thick novel, but the content is so intense the time just seemed to fly by for me. I must have finished reading it in record time! It grabbed me on the first page with an assassination and kept going until the climatic ending. To put it in simple words, 'You have GOT to read this book!' *****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    gritty apocalypse thriller

    Luco Scaramuzzi plans to be recognized as the Antichrist as he assumes he will become the wealthiest person on the planet. To achieve his goal, he starts with a bizarre assassination. Others homicides follow. FBI Agents Brady Moore and Alicia Wagner investigate the weird serial killings. Brady struggles with the accidental death of his wife forcing him to raise a son by himself Alicia has her own cross to bear as she wants her partner, but being the stronger of the partners hides her deepest regard accepting unrequited love means do nothing to cost her his friendship. --- An affluent sect The Watchers and a lone card Pip Farago know that Luca is not the Antichrist as both wait the fulfilling of a millennium old prophesy. While Pip worries about the emergence of the most dangerous person on earth, the group looks forward to support him. Luco works to meet the test that would prove his claim Pip has proof otherwise, but he wonders if he should share it with the Watchers, which by doing so would brings attention to him from that dangerous group. Meanwhile as part of his campaign, Luco targets the two Feds, who have found an apparent weird religious link. --- COMES A HORSEMAN uses the premise that for every light there is a dark counterpoint so that readers observe influential groups working for the success of a demonic age on earth. The story line is bloody frightening (literally and figuratively) as Robert Liparulo pushes his premise that hell¿s minions are nearby trying to conquer humanity and good deeds and faith may not be enough. Fans will appreciate this gritty apocalypse thriller that takes no prisoners, but should have a warning label to keep your most powerful religious symbol in your hands at all time you will need it as they are coming. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3