Customer Reviews for

Comes the Blind Fury

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Good read

    I read this when i was eleven, now im thirteen, and i could understand it clearly. It does have an exciting plotline but in a more laid back sort of way. I loved seeing michelle change and how amanda influenced her. Michelles thought process was slowing evolving throughout the book, doubting her parents, becoming jealous of her baby sister, angering at things that she would have thought nothing of before. Amanda was using Michelle, she gained her trust based on the fact that they were both "cripples" Michelle didnt realize that, Amanda, whom shed come to trust was actually just turning her on her family, and ultimatly, driving her insane. I loved this book it was easy to understand but not the most thought provoking book ever. Still great read, id recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    I read one of Saul's books years ago and never forgot it. I love

    I read one of Saul's books years ago and never forgot it. I loved the book, great story and great ending. This one was a big disappointment. Especially the ending which didn't really seem like a real ending. It starts off really good for half the book then becomes depressing. I would not recommend this book for anybody who likes happy endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Great summer or anytime reading!

    I've been reading John Saul books since I was 9 years old. ( would steal them from my Mom) This was the first one I ever read and it never gets old! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    I've read several of John Saul's books and found the story and c

    I've read several of John Saul's books and found the story and characters interesting. I read them in Nook form and find many typo errors which take away from the enjoyment of the reading. I haven't read any of his writing in printed form. I'm just wondering if the typo's are due to the books being converted to ebook? If not for all the typos I would give it a four star rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    The best of Saul's work

    I wrote a review of this book when i was 10. It was my first john saul book. I just finished reading it again today. Now, at age thirteen, i have read all his books and this is by far my favorite! In fact, it's my favorite book of all time! The idea was amazing, and i really felt for this book. Although it got depressing halfway through, everything came together and it was GOOD. There is no other way to describe it. I usually dont like anything sad in anyway, but this book was just perfect! It seemed kind of real to me, which made it even better. Everyone who is a fan of horror, john saul, or both should definiatly read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Hooked on this author

    This was the first book I ever read by this author when I was about 17 years old. I have read every book John Saul has written since then. This author is kind of on the order of Stephen King, only more believable and not as far-fetched. Leaves you wondering if something like that could possibly happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    How many kids must fall off a cliff before someone puts up a fence?

    This lack of common sense is typical of John Saul novels, but after reading several of his books, I understand that it's not common sense, nor great characters (all too often stereotypical and one-dimensional) nor even intriguing plots (they follow a standard format), but simply that you know what to expect when you pick up one of his novels. Twelve to fifteen-year-olds will likely enjoy his books, as may adults who want to enjoy a quick read at the beach or who want to take a break from heavier stuff. Enjoyable if you aren't expecting too much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Links the past to the present Phenominally

    John Saul is an awesome writer, who creates scary novels the hook the readers. I am a huge fan of the author and own many of his books, and will continue to buy them until I have read them all! 'Comes the Blind Fury' was def on my top 10 novels by this author. The way he links Amanda and the past to Michelle and the future was fantastic. The book was very suspencful and kept you wanting to know more and more. My favorite part of the book, which totally made it what it is, was the end when Jenny starts to get linked to the past.. and then it just ends there. Great book. Any horror fans/and fans of Saul should pick this one up! You will not be disappointed!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2007

    First of his books that I read...

    I couldn't put this book down, I don't remember how old I was-but I know I was younger maybe 12 or 13. He hooked me with this book, so much so that I am getting it again and reading it over. Reccommend this one-not his best but close.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Reads like a 12 year old wrote it

    Predictable, clownish, & the adults act like children. I only finished it to find out how it ended. what a waste of time and a huge disapointment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Predictable and unimaginative

    From the start of the book, any reader remotely familiar with thrillers or mystery can predict every twist and turn of this bumbling adventure into the troubled past of a small town. A typical Boston family hopes to find a brand-new start in the tiny town of Paradise Point, but from the first appearance of their new house through the car window, it is apparent that danger lurks ahead. The town shuns the strangers, a doctor makes their lives miserable, and a stain in the mother's painting studio proves deadly. Teased by schoolmates, and townsfolk until she finds solace in her over-active imagination, daughter Michelle takes comfort from the ghost of an ostracized blind girl, and murder and mayhem ensue. The blind girl's ghost, awakened from within a lovely doll, forces Michelle into a deadly nightmare that doesnt end when she wakes up... This author cannot seem to explore anything outside of the standard small-town-hunted-by-a-secret plot, with a pretty girl turned outcast, and a haunted, troubled past contending with modern strangers who carelessly believe that a new town will give them a fresh start. This book, and the other books I have read by this author all lack plot twists, good narration, imagination and attention to detail. His attempts at portraying blindness are laughable, and his efforts to spook readers are simply dismal.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    MY 1ST JOHN SAUL BOOK **MADE ME A FAN**

    I READ THIS BOOK WHEN I WAS 13 YEARS OLD.... IT STARTED ME OFF ON THE ROAD TO ALL HIS OTHER BOOKS, IT MAY NOT HAVE BEEN HIS BEST, BUT IT SURE DID HOOK ME.... CAN'T WAIT FOR MY DAUGHTER TO READ IT NOW THAT SHE'S 13...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    spooky!

    this book scared me so much! all though it scared me out of my mind, i couldnt put it down. i read this book in two days! soo scary! i give it a four!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2003

    Awesome Book

    This was one of the first books I read and I couldn't put it down. I needed to know what happened next. If you like that scary mystery. You'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2003

    JOHN SAUL IS A COOL WRITER

    This book totally rules but its not his best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    Another John Saul book

    I read this book about a year ago. It had a sad ending, but was really interesting. John Saul's characters are always interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    scared for life

    I first read this book when i was nine years old and i still haven't been able to forget it now at age 25! Hopefully that says something for it other than maybe i was reading horror stories at too young an age!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2000

    Great Book...got a little slow!

    Do not get me wrong. This was a GREAT book. I have not read a John Saul book yet that I have been disappointed in. I give it only 4 stars just because it got a little repetative and didn't get the point all to quick. BUT.... It WAS a Great read. And I recomend it very highly. I read this in a week and a half which is very fast for me. ENJOY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2000

    IT IS ONE BOOK I WILL NOT FORGET!!!

    IT REALLY WAS AN OUTSTANDING BOOK.AT THE END EVERYTHING CHILLINGLY CAME TOGETHER!YOU JUST CANT PUT IT DOWN!!!JUST THINKING ABOUT IT PUT CHILLS DOWN MY BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2