Customer Reviews for

Comet's Tale: How the Dog I Rescued Saved My Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book...

Just as a disclaimer, I am a sucker for almost any dog book. However, that being said, this is a wonderful read regardless if you are a dog lover or not. I thought that the message of change and hope was very clear throughout the book, for both the author and Comet. Pe...
Just as a disclaimer, I am a sucker for almost any dog book. However, that being said, this is a wonderful read regardless if you are a dog lover or not. I thought that the message of change and hope was very clear throughout the book, for both the author and Comet. Personally it provided me with a new perspective on issues I face. I guess an old dog can learn new tricks. You will certainly fall in love with Comet!

posted by Badkarma68 on November 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fell for Comet

I don't normally read dog books or "touching story" books, but as an owner of two retired racers, well, I had to read it! The story was engaging and easy to read. And I fell in love with Comet! She is quite the little hero with her own personality. Several times I could...
I don't normally read dog books or "touching story" books, but as an owner of two retired racers, well, I had to read it! The story was engaging and easy to read. And I fell in love with Comet! She is quite the little hero with her own personality. Several times I could just "see" her...knowing my own greys and their expressions didn't hurt either!

The "all racers are abused" and the "poor racing dogs" theme got on my nerves. While I freely admit that historically the industry had its black mark (supposedly the 80s were quite bad in its treatment of dogs), since adopting my own greys and educating myself on greyhounds, I have since learned that the industry as a whole is not "evil" and has cleaned up a lot. There are bad players in the industry just as there are in any industry...some people care only for the bottom line no matter who or what gets hurt. That is true everywhere, including in racing. I have also learned that many racers live very good lives and have great trainers and owners -- just like every industry has good people working in it. My research has shown me many greyhound farms with happy, healthy, socialized dogs training to do something they love -- race each other!

One things I loved reading about was how quickly Comet learned intuitively. His portrayal of her as a sweet, loving, calm but silly girl is so genuine. You will love her.

posted by CalypsoBella on January 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 1, 2012

    Excellent book...

    Just as a disclaimer, I am a sucker for almost any dog book. However, that being said, this is a wonderful read regardless if you are a dog lover or not. I thought that the message of change and hope was very clear throughout the book, for both the author and Comet. Personally it provided me with a new perspective on issues I face. I guess an old dog can learn new tricks. You will certainly fall in love with Comet!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    I went into this book with preconceived notions, being that my w

    I went into this book with preconceived notions, being that my wife and I are companions to two retired racers ourselves; and I wasn't expecting to find that a book could deepen my love for the breed anymore, but the story of Comet did just that.  This is a well written, and deeply moving book that made me smile and laugh at times then shed a tear at others.  I've seen a lot of similar behavior in the Greyhounds that we've met since adopting ours, they truly are a noble breed so willing to give total and absolute love and devotion.  I've meet quite a few therapy and service greys over the years, and am happy to see that there's finally a book out to spread the word about this wonderful breed of dog.  There is defiantly "life after the track" for a Greyhound, as Comet and all the other Retired Racers prove.  I'm so thankful for the stranger that trust a copy of this book into my hand saying "you have to read this book", while having our own two dogs out to a Meet & Greet to raise Greyhound Adoption awareness. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Great book!!!!!!!!!!!

    This was/is a great book. Although the author goes in my opinion too much detail. Other then that I love it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Fell for Comet

    I don't normally read dog books or "touching story" books, but as an owner of two retired racers, well, I had to read it! The story was engaging and easy to read. And I fell in love with Comet! She is quite the little hero with her own personality. Several times I could just "see" her...knowing my own greys and their expressions didn't hurt either!

    The "all racers are abused" and the "poor racing dogs" theme got on my nerves. While I freely admit that historically the industry had its black mark (supposedly the 80s were quite bad in its treatment of dogs), since adopting my own greys and educating myself on greyhounds, I have since learned that the industry as a whole is not "evil" and has cleaned up a lot. There are bad players in the industry just as there are in any industry...some people care only for the bottom line no matter who or what gets hurt. That is true everywhere, including in racing. I have also learned that many racers live very good lives and have great trainers and owners -- just like every industry has good people working in it. My research has shown me many greyhound farms with happy, healthy, socialized dogs training to do something they love -- race each other!

    One things I loved reading about was how quickly Comet learned intuitively. His portrayal of her as a sweet, loving, calm but silly girl is so genuine. You will love her.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    I think that this is a very emotional and great read. You will n

    I think that this is a very emotional and great read. You will not forget it soon. Loved it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    I just finish Comet's Tale, and it was truly the best book I hav

    I just finish Comet's Tale, and it was truly the best book I have read this year. This is a book for anyone who has ever loved a dog, The love between these to souls to overcome so much, is beyond wonderful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    A book that will make you laugh, cry and rejoice in life itself.

    A book that will make you laugh, cry and rejoice in life itself. Everyone who has struggled with a physical challenge can relate. Comet and Steve were so fortunate to find each other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2015

    Amazing

    Great book ! Dogs never cease to amaze me . They still love us despite our human failings . I so enjoyed this families story and it will stay with me for a very long time . Highly recommended .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2015

    Highly recommended. Loved it!

    Their story is so heartwarming. She was one special dog. Made me want to find a rescue organization myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2015

    Excellent

    This was an enjoyable book. However, its one of those books you would only read once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2014

    Don't miss it!!

    I can't say enough about this wonderful book, that was "under the radar." Wolf and Padwa do an amazing job of expressing the essence of Comet, the greyhound who was such an integral part of Wolf's life. I could see Comet in my mind as I read, and I felt like I personally knew her. I was torn between devouring the book quickly, versus trying to make it last as long as possible. This book is not just for dog lovers; it's for anyone who enjoys reading about dealing optimally with our limitations. Additionally, it's very informative about the plight of the dogs who are racers. It may be fun for those who repa money from the races, but the treatment of these intelligent creatures is too often inhumane. Highly recommended book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Faolan

    ((Hhmmmmm for now also it wasnt that long ago when lilac died )) faolan got up and padded around for a bit before going to the first result

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Moonshine

    (Ohh)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Lilly

    Attacks a deer drags back

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Love Dogs? You will love this book!

    This is an excellent, thoughtful and inspirational true story about a wonderful racer turned service dog and his owner who has many physical challenges but also has the heart of an overcomer. Set in the heartland of Nebraska and the desert land of Arizona it is amazing to read how lives of people and their pets are connected by coincidences and chance meetings. This is a miracle story, although God is not mentioned in this book, his fingerprints are all over the author's amazing story. I originally picked this off the shelf at the library and after reading it, bought a copy for my library. I will also be buying copies for Christmas gifts.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    To males

    There is a se<_>xy black shewolf in the next red

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Oak

    While Dirt is hum<_> ping her, he sticks his co<_>ck in her mouth and hu<_>mps her face.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Nightmask

    Ran in humping her onto the ground humping bher hard.stuck his di<_>ck up her azz

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Dirt

    Knock off Oak

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Comet

    She turned around sharply, flattening her ears embarresed. She eyed his di.ck and unfolded her ears. "Hello." She said softly, padding over to him and rubbing against him.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3