Customer Reviews for

Comfort Food

Average Rating 3.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Why is Everyone Hating on This So Much?

CD/Unabridged: This is my first Kate Jacobs book and it was fun. It's about a woman who just turned 50 and is the perky host of a cable cooking show. Think Paula Dean, only thinner. She is a widow with two daughters when her professional life falls apart. Her show is in...
CD/Unabridged: This is my first Kate Jacobs book and it was fun. It's about a woman who just turned 50 and is the perky host of a cable cooking show. Think Paula Dean, only thinner. She is a widow with two daughters when her professional life falls apart. Her show is in jeopardy of getting the boot when a Spanish internet host joins her show: think Penelope Cruz. There is a wide cast of characters including the bald, handsome producer, disgraced ex-tennis player neighbor, daughter's boyfriend still in the picture, and group counselor. I found most of the book enjoyable with the right amount of drama and tension mixed with comedy and lilt. The best part is Oliver stuck in the elevator by himself. The narrator, Barbara Rosenblat, does a great job with the different voices and accents. I had to slow down my listening because I didn't want it to end. I do recommend this and a good summertime read.

posted by bravewarrior on May 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

THIS WAS NOT A 'COMFORT' READ

After reading The Friday Night Knitting Club and loving it, I had to read this one also. I waited a long time for this one at my library and then 'pulled the bookmark' after 60 pages. Gus was 50? I felt like she was more like 70 in her demeanor and the way she dresse...
After reading The Friday Night Knitting Club and loving it, I had to read this one also. I waited a long time for this one at my library and then 'pulled the bookmark' after 60 pages. Gus was 50? I felt like she was more like 70 in her demeanor and the way she dressed. It was boring and poorly written in my opinion. If she's writing another one I hope it'll be a big improvement over this one. This is why I don't buy books and why I borrow them from the library -- so I can return them and not feel guilty that I didn't finish a book.

posted by Anonymous on August 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    Comfort Food

    On the cusp of 50, Gus Simpson, a celebrated Food Network host, is about to ¿reinvent¿ herself, much to her dismay. Her cooking show ratings are dropping and the new producer decides to take the show in a different direction, spice it up a bit, with the diva of all diva cooks, Carmen Vega. Carmen, is a former Miss Spain and tends to forget she¿s in America, and Americans don¿t care that she was Miss Spain. Oh, but they¿ll never forget, if Carmen has anything to do with it. <BR/>Gus, accidentally brings her entire extended family, people who¿s paths otherwise would never have crossed, onto a filming of the new show and viewers love it. This unlikely pack of friends and family come together, in a hilarious comedy of errors, making the show a hit and giving Gus the second wind she needs for the second half of her life.<BR/><BR/>I made the mistake of absolutely loving Kate Jacobs first novel, The Friday Night Knitting Club, and having high expectations for this second novel. In the end it did not disappoint, however, it took a good 100 pages to grab my interest and persuade me to keep going, hoping it would get better; and indeed it did. However, I was getting a little worried. In the end this was a delightful book with a wonderful unexpected ending. The characters where folks next door and from each of our own lives. People we know, have known or could be ourselves. Please pick up this book and have a wonderful read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Comfy Reading

    I actually enjoyed the characters in this novel better than the ones in the Friday Night Knitting Club. Kate Jacobs creates characters who are loveable and I was rooting for them the whole way.

    I loved that the happy endings were not the expected endings and that characters were really developed throughout.

    The plot itself was slightly harried, and I found the idea of the jumbled up mess of a cooking show slightly unbelievable. However, if you look at the cooking channel today...this might be the norm!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Comfort Food

    Enjoyed her other book more. The Friday night Knitting club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A tasty treat

    Author Kate Jacobs , who wrote the successful THE FRIDAY NIGHT KNITTING CLUB, moves to the culinary world in her new novel, COMFORT FOOD. If you enjoy spending the evening watching Food TV, this novel is for you.

    Augusta "Gus" has been hosting a successful TV show on the CookingChannel for years. She was widowed several years ago and left alone to raise her two young daughters Aimee, a global economic analyst, and Sabrina, an up-and-coming decorator. Gus is about to turn fifty years old when she receives news from her boss- the format of her show is going to be changed and she is getting a sexy young co-host, Carmen, a former Miss Spain.

    Carmen appears to be a manipulative woman, gunning for Gus's job. Somehow, Gus's daughters, Sabrina's ex-fiance Troy, Gus's reclusive neighbor Hannah, and new chef Oliver all end up on the TV show, making for a crowded kitchen, with insults being tossed around the kitchen, along with the ingredients.

    Gus has been told that if this doesn't work, she will be out of a job. So as she has always done, she rolls up her sleeves and is determined to make it work.

    Jacobs writes interesting characters, and the family dynamic amongst Gus and her daughters is very real. They never dealt openly with the loss of their father and husband, never spoke about it. Eventually all of the repressed feelings come to light and must be dealt with. Many families handle situations like that in the same manner, and readers will identify with this. A passage that I found thought provoking was this:
    "You don't know what it's like to struggle." Gus was getting angry; her cheeks were turning red. "I have done everything for you two."
    "Maybe don't do so much, then," Aimee said quietly. "We may not have had your struggle, but we've had our own."
    That sounds like a conversation many families could have.

    All of the characters have strengths and weaknesses, they are three dimensional, and for the most part likable, just as most people are. Everyone is just trying to do their best to get what they want out of life. Gus meddles in her daughter's love life, Hannah is reclusive for a good reason, Troy wants to win Sabrina back, and Oliver has his eyes on romance; Jacobs manages to keep all of these plates spinning while the story unfolds.

    Many people watch Food TV for the personalities as well as the food, and if you are one of them, you'll find COMFORT FOOD a tasty treat. You get a bit of a backstage look at how those shows work, and for good measure, Jacobs gives the reader a few recipes mentioned in the story at the end of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    Charming Read

    I enjoyed this book, though at the start it was slow, it did pick up soon enough. There were times when the plot/characters seemed to be spastic, but with so much going on and so many characters to cover, that has to be somewhat expected. She did a good job of reigning it in. There was a lot of humor spread throughout that had me laughing out loud. Very charming, the group was wonderfully dysfunctional, the characters won my heart. Happy endings all around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    Predictable, enjoyable, with mouth-watering moments

    I didn't really get into this book until the fire. After that, it was a quick read.The author should have included some of the mouth-watering recipes, which were frequently mentioned in the book during the taping of the cooking shows. The character¿s backgrounds were fleshed out, but the dialogue at times wasn¿t real. Still, an enjoyable summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1