Customer Reviews for

Comfort and Joy

Average Rating 4
( 264 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

THIS BOOK WAS 20 STARS & I WOULD HAVE PAID $20.00 FOR IT/ OMG OMG

I HAVE READ OVER 210 BOOKS SO FAR ( I KNOW GET A LIFE LOL) I STARTED THIS BOOK ON A WEDNESDAY & BY THURSDAY NITE I WAS FINISHED IT/ BAD THING WAS I STAYED UP TILL 5:00 IN THE MORNING TO FINISH IT & HAD TO TAKE A SICK DAY ON FRIDAY LOL
I HAVE NEVER NEVER READ SUCH A W...
I HAVE READ OVER 210 BOOKS SO FAR ( I KNOW GET A LIFE LOL) I STARTED THIS BOOK ON A WEDNESDAY & BY THURSDAY NITE I WAS FINISHED IT/ BAD THING WAS I STAYED UP TILL 5:00 IN THE MORNING TO FINISH IT & HAD TO TAKE A SICK DAY ON FRIDAY LOL
I HAVE NEVER NEVER READ SUCH A WONDERFUL & BEAUTIFUL BOOK IN MY ENTIRE LIFE AS THIS ONE/ PLEASE GIVE IT A TRY U CAN NOT GO WRONG / HAPPY READING

posted by jdogjojo04061956 on November 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing & Unrealistic

The Twilight Zone, coma-induced experience is not what I found unrealistic (that was kind of neat actually), rather it was Joy's ability to forgive what her sister did to her. I understand getting to a level of acceptance when something bad happens, but to allow her si...
The Twilight Zone, coma-induced experience is not what I found unrealistic (that was kind of neat actually), rather it was Joy's ability to forgive what her sister did to her. I understand getting to a level of acceptance when something bad happens, but to allow her sister back into her life as if what she did to her was a forgettable thing, well, I'm struggling with the words to express my indignation. How do you move forward with trust and respect toward someone whose capable of that kind of deceit and betrayal? And how do you have a relationship without these things? I did NOT get it. That was more surreal than her coma experience. And when I realized that was the direction Joy was heading, I had to make a decision about continuing on with the book. I kept reading because I wanted to see about Bobby and his dad. But then that ended up being a let down as well because of the abrupt way Ms. Hannah ended the book. I turned the last page thinking I was moving on to the final chapter or at least an Epilogue, but all I found was an excerpt to her next book (which I didn't read, by the way. I was far too put out with her at this point to read any more of her work). Very disappointing.

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 266 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    THIS BOOK WAS 20 STARS & I WOULD HAVE PAID $20.00 FOR IT/ OMG OMG

    I HAVE READ OVER 210 BOOKS SO FAR ( I KNOW GET A LIFE LOL) I STARTED THIS BOOK ON A WEDNESDAY & BY THURSDAY NITE I WAS FINISHED IT/ BAD THING WAS I STAYED UP TILL 5:00 IN THE MORNING TO FINISH IT & HAD TO TAKE A SICK DAY ON FRIDAY LOL
    I HAVE NEVER NEVER READ SUCH A WONDERFUL & BEAUTIFUL BOOK IN MY ENTIRE LIFE AS THIS ONE/ PLEASE GIVE IT A TRY U CAN NOT GO WRONG / HAPPY READING

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    Perfect book for the holiday season.

    Joy Candellaro used to LOVE the Christmas season. But after finding out about her husband and her sister, Joy is not feeling very joyful. Tired of it all, she hops on a plane and disappears from her frustrating life - at least for a little while. ..................... Daniel O'Shea is a widow with an eight-year-old son, Bobby, who is about to have his first Christmas without his mother. Bobby is not adjusting too well and is making it harder on Daniel. In fact, Bobby seems to be distancing himself from the world around him and slipping into deep depression. ........................ Then Joy and Bobby meet. These two disillusioned people may be able to help each other ... and Daniel as well. ...................... ***** In my opinion, this is one of the best novels I've read for this year's holiday season. Author Kristin Hannah has proven time-and-time-again that she has an almost mystical way of making her readers empathize with her characters. This story is no different. You will be snared quickly and be in no rush to free yourself. Awesome! *****

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    Disappointing & Unrealistic

    The Twilight Zone, coma-induced experience is not what I found unrealistic (that was kind of neat actually), rather it was Joy's ability to forgive what her sister did to her. I understand getting to a level of acceptance when something bad happens, but to allow her sister back into her life as if what she did to her was a forgettable thing, well, I'm struggling with the words to express my indignation. How do you move forward with trust and respect toward someone whose capable of that kind of deceit and betrayal? And how do you have a relationship without these things? I did NOT get it. That was more surreal than her coma experience. And when I realized that was the direction Joy was heading, I had to make a decision about continuing on with the book. I kept reading because I wanted to see about Bobby and his dad. But then that ended up being a let down as well because of the abrupt way Ms. Hannah ended the book. I turned the last page thinking I was moving on to the final chapter or at least an Epilogue, but all I found was an excerpt to her next book (which I didn't read, by the way. I was far too put out with her at this point to read any more of her work). Very disappointing.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A HOPEFUL CHRISTMAS STORY

    Christmas isn't a time for cynicism or skepticism. It's a time when miracles can happen, which is almost what occurs in the life of Joy Candellaro. As our story opens it seems that Joy isn't aptly named because there's not much in her life but betrayal and misery. Her divorce from Thom is still new enough to pain and her sister is the one who caused it. Not a time for family happiness! In spite of all this, Joy determines to celebrate her first Christmas on her own with a tree, the trimmings, and an eye-popping gift that she certainly feels she deserves. However, the holly and tinsel go by the board when her sister, Stacey, drops by to announce that she's going to have Thom's baby. Joy sees red, and buys an airline ticket for Canada. Does she know anyone there? No. Does she know what she'll do when she gets there? Has no idea. She simply wants to escape from a life that has become untenable. Kristin Hannah fans know that there's good news in the offing, and they'll not be disappointed or surprised when Joy meets a father and son who are enduring more than their share of sorrow. You know what they say about comfort and joy. Sandra Burr gives a splendid reading of this story of second chances - if you have the courage to accept them. - Gail Cooke

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2011

    Must read!

    I really enjoy everything by Ms. Hannah. Her books take you to another time and place, transporting the reader right into the story. Her story lines & plots are always exciting.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Potential for more depth but lacking substance

    Although the book starts strong, the relationships are not believable because the character development is simply not there. I reccomend the book for a.quick, easy read, nothing more. I wanted to throw my nook across the room at times.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    great reading

    What starts as betrayal does not always end that way. Very talented Author.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    Highly Recommended - Magical!

    I love Kristin Hannah's books. I just got my new color Nook and this was a wonderful way to start. She has a magical way of writing and making you feel you are living through her books. The only disappointment is that her books come to an end. You feel like you want them to go on and on. This was definitely a "must" read. I would recommend this book for any time of the year but it was even more special since it is the Christmas season!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Good read

    I enjoyed this author. I had never read anything by her and I now look forward to reading more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    intriging

    This book makes a person think of how the mind heals in the times of crises. Can it be possible?

    Loved the story, even if it was questionable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet, sweet story

    If you need a pick-me-upper!! Great story holidays or not!!! I was really touched and looooved it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Amazing

    Sometimes you need to be reminded that you need to believe in magic. Great book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2005

    Great Author Bad Storyline

    The first half of the book was great. The ending (living in 2 worlds) just wasn't plausable and therefore left you with a sour taste in your mouth. I have read all of her previous books but this one was phoned in not written from the heart.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    Magical like Christmastime

    Upon reading the other reviews, it is a reminder of how cynical the world is. Is this plot realistic? Not quite, but it is oh, so magical, just like the Christmas season. While I do agree that the whole betrayal issue was upsetting to say the least, since I've been through something similar in my life, the pure magic of the storyline was enough to turn it around. This book actually gave me the chills, and happy tears. Definitely a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    Joy has had a rough year, her husband and her hit a rough patch

    Joy has had a rough year, her husband and her hit a rough patch and he has ventured into the arms of another woman.  She isn't feeling satisfaction on the job and overall life isn't going well for her.  So she ends up on a crazy adventure that from the beginning is more than doomed.  And then the book takes an unexpected turn and of course I can't share or it would ruin the whole deal!

    This one was a little too lifetime movie for me.  I was hoping for a sweet holiday book and from the beginning this one took the dramatics and amplified them.  Family drama, a plane crash and beyond, this book packed the punch from the beginning.  It had a little bit of the holiday cheer, but just not enough for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Hunter

    But I am doing an...expiriment. He grabs one of mooncrystal's kits and runs to water house result one.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    Highly Recommend!

    I love Kristin Hannah! She is a great author! This is a heart warming story of sisterly love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Touching story

    What a great story. This was my first Kristin Hannah book, but I am sure it will not be my last.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    Highly recommended!

    I loved this book! Picked it up and couldn't stop until it was finished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    Kayla

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 266 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14