Customer Reviews for

Comfort and Joy

Average Rating 3.5
( 258 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

THIS BOOK WAS 20 STARS & I WOULD HAVE PAID $20.00 FOR IT/ OMG OMG

I HAVE READ OVER 210 BOOKS SO FAR ( I KNOW GET A LIFE LOL) I STARTED THIS BOOK ON A WEDNESDAY & BY THURSDAY NITE I WAS FINISHED IT/ BAD THING WAS I STAYED UP TILL 5:00 IN THE MORNING TO FINISH IT & HAD TO TAKE A SICK DAY ON FRIDAY LOL
I HAVE NEVER NEVER READ SUCH A W...
I HAVE READ OVER 210 BOOKS SO FAR ( I KNOW GET A LIFE LOL) I STARTED THIS BOOK ON A WEDNESDAY & BY THURSDAY NITE I WAS FINISHED IT/ BAD THING WAS I STAYED UP TILL 5:00 IN THE MORNING TO FINISH IT & HAD TO TAKE A SICK DAY ON FRIDAY LOL
I HAVE NEVER NEVER READ SUCH A WONDERFUL & BEAUTIFUL BOOK IN MY ENTIRE LIFE AS THIS ONE/ PLEASE GIVE IT A TRY U CAN NOT GO WRONG / HAPPY READING

posted by jdogjojo04061956 on November 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing & Unrealistic

The Twilight Zone, coma-induced experience is not what I found unrealistic (that was kind of neat actually), rather it was Joy's ability to forgive what her sister did to her. I understand getting to a level of acceptance when something bad happens, but to allow her si...
The Twilight Zone, coma-induced experience is not what I found unrealistic (that was kind of neat actually), rather it was Joy's ability to forgive what her sister did to her. I understand getting to a level of acceptance when something bad happens, but to allow her sister back into her life as if what she did to her was a forgettable thing, well, I'm struggling with the words to express my indignation. How do you move forward with trust and respect toward someone whose capable of that kind of deceit and betrayal? And how do you have a relationship without these things? I did NOT get it. That was more surreal than her coma experience. And when I realized that was the direction Joy was heading, I had to make a decision about continuing on with the book. I kept reading because I wanted to see about Bobby and his dad. But then that ended up being a let down as well because of the abrupt way Ms. Hannah ended the book. I turned the last page thinking I was moving on to the final chapter or at least an Epilogue, but all I found was an excerpt to her next book (which I didn't read, by the way. I was far too put out with her at this point to read any more of her work). Very disappointing.

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    Disappointing & Unrealistic

    The Twilight Zone, coma-induced experience is not what I found unrealistic (that was kind of neat actually), rather it was Joy's ability to forgive what her sister did to her. I understand getting to a level of acceptance when something bad happens, but to allow her sister back into her life as if what she did to her was a forgettable thing, well, I'm struggling with the words to express my indignation. How do you move forward with trust and respect toward someone whose capable of that kind of deceit and betrayal? And how do you have a relationship without these things? I did NOT get it. That was more surreal than her coma experience. And when I realized that was the direction Joy was heading, I had to make a decision about continuing on with the book. I kept reading because I wanted to see about Bobby and his dad. But then that ended up being a let down as well because of the abrupt way Ms. Hannah ended the book. I turned the last page thinking I was moving on to the final chapter or at least an Epilogue, but all I found was an excerpt to her next book (which I didn't read, by the way. I was far too put out with her at this point to read any more of her work). Very disappointing.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    Joy has had a rough year, her husband and her hit a rough patch

    Joy has had a rough year, her husband and her hit a rough patch and he has ventured into the arms of another woman.  She isn't feeling satisfaction on the job and overall life isn't going well for her.  So she ends up on a crazy adventure that from the beginning is more than doomed.  And then the book takes an unexpected turn and of course I can't share or it would ruin the whole deal!

    This one was a little too lifetime movie for me.  I was hoping for a sweet holiday book and from the beginning this one took the dramatics and amplified them.  Family drama, a plane crash and beyond, this book packed the punch from the beginning.  It had a little bit of the holiday cheer, but just not enough for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Disappointed I've read a few of Kristin Hannah's books so I real

    Disappointed
    I've read a few of Kristin Hannah's books so I really looked forward to reading this during the holiday season. I wanted something light and uplifting to put me in good spirits. Almost immediately the book plunges into deception, heartbreak and depression, takes us through a violent accident, then brings us to more depression on the other side. I never quite grasped how she survived the accident and ended up where she did. When Part 2 started the story lost me and I was anxious to be done with it. I realize now it was supposed to be about believing in magic but it was all just too far fetched for me to swallow. On the bright side, it's a quick read. I'm normally a slow reader but I had this read in just a few days. If you don't expect much from this story you won't be disappointed.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Spiritblaze

    Gtg. Bbt.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Fair

    I only imagined i read this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    I didn't like this book. I can't get past the betrayel part. The author wrote this book with a resolution and I felt like it was a fake one. The only dynamics in this book were between her and the boy. I couldn't get past her forgiving the betrayel.

    I simply did not like how she interacted with Daniel. To think that there could be a relationship later is reaching. I also can't get past her sister's betrayel and that she could forgive it in the end. I don't like how in the end she starts to actually accept how things were between her husband and herself. I can read books with great betrayel plots, but I don't like it in this form. I however did like the dynamics between her and the boy. They were genuine and believable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2