Customer Reviews for

Coming Back Stronger: Unleashing the Hidden Power of Adversity

Average Rating 4.5
( 299 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(202)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Best "sports" memoir since Quiet Strength

It's pretty obvious that the first reviewer on this site is intentially trying to sabotage Drew Brees's book. Unlike many sports books that immediately follow championships, Coming Back Stronger is a very well written book that details Drew's life and the obstacles that...
It's pretty obvious that the first reviewer on this site is intentially trying to sabotage Drew Brees's book. Unlike many sports books that immediately follow championships, Coming Back Stronger is a very well written book that details Drew's life and the obstacles that he has overcome. He presents in detail the difficult relationship he had with his mother, hilarious stories about courting his wife Brittany, leading New Orleans back from Hurrican Katrina, and leading the Saints to a championship. It also closely details his faith. This book is much more than just football and is the best sports memoir I've read since Tony Dungy's Quiet Strength and it rivals it in quality.

posted by flipper14 on July 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Coming Back Stronger Indeed!

Sometimes, you never know what a person goes through when it comes to their lives. I applaud Drew Brees for sharing his public triumphs and private struggles with the world. It takes a strong person to take a negative and to turn it into a positive and take adversity an...
Sometimes, you never know what a person goes through when it comes to their lives. I applaud Drew Brees for sharing his public triumphs and private struggles with the world. It takes a strong person to take a negative and to turn it into a positive and take adversity and turn it into a strength. He is amazing. I can't wait to get my copy.

For anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain, I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I thought that "When God Stopped Keeping Score" was just about overcoming forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. The author actually pulls back the curtain to his own life, to offer an intimate look at the true power of forgiveness and reveals the emotional price that you must be willing to pay to live without it.

All of this, while still offering up interesting and often tear worthy stories that showed you just how you should deal with friends, family and more importantly, yourself when things do go wrong. The author more importantly reveals the key to keeping these relationships strong even in the face of adversity.

Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe that's because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it for yourself. It is on sale here on BN.com.

posted by TB72 on July 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    Best "sports" memoir since Quiet Strength

    It's pretty obvious that the first reviewer on this site is intentially trying to sabotage Drew Brees's book. Unlike many sports books that immediately follow championships, Coming Back Stronger is a very well written book that details Drew's life and the obstacles that he has overcome. He presents in detail the difficult relationship he had with his mother, hilarious stories about courting his wife Brittany, leading New Orleans back from Hurrican Katrina, and leading the Saints to a championship. It also closely details his faith. This book is much more than just football and is the best sports memoir I've read since Tony Dungy's Quiet Strength and it rivals it in quality.

    35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspiring!

    I am a Saints fan from childhood, long before Drew Brees was born. I'm also a 3rd generation New Orleanean. The last few years has been traumatic for my family like most from LA. Last year was magical and awe inspiring! This is the 2nd book I've bought recanting the Saints story; but what I got was even better than expected: what drives the man and what he believes and his focus. Reading Drew's book about how he ended up in NO and how Sean Peyton and Mickey Loomis run the Saints speaks volumes.

    From the beginning I found a determination in this book that I can use with my students to inspire them to keep fighting their way to be the best they can be. But once he started the chapters on finding a way back from the massive surgery and looking for a job, you could see destiny taking over. God does have a plan.

    I especially admire the theme of his book: put the negative away. It sounds easy, but it isn't. Focus on what positive you can pull from what has happened and make positive choices from it. Everytime he made a bad play, he tried to shake it off and move on to thinking positive. If more people would take this type of attitude these days we would have many more success stories.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    Not your typical sports book

    Coming Back Stronger is not your typical sports book. It's really a fantastic read and is very well written. I'll be purchasing this book as a gift for many associates and friends.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    Wonderful book

    I raced out to get this book somewhat expecting a book that was just thrown together following the Super Bowl. What a wonderful surprise. This is a beautiful, richly written book. The takeaway from this book is tremendous and Drew truly serves as an inspiration.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    Great read

    I agree that the first poster is simply not a fan of Drew Brees, and as such probably never read the book. The book is mostly ghost written anyway (thus the "with Chris Fabry" in the byline). Unfortunately, when someone in sports writes a book, the haters come out of the woodwork like so many termites intent on destruction. It's sad, really, when you think about it. I'm happy to say I have more of a life than that. He is probably a Vikings or Colts fan, I guess.

    I found the book very intelligent and inspriring. I especially enjoyed the positive nature of Brees and how he sees every problem as a challenge to overcome it and succeed. He's obviously done that. A great read!

    I also recommend Sean Payton's new book, *Home Team*.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    Simply excellent

    I've been a Drew Brees fan for years and was eager to read his memoir. It doesn't disappoint. Drew's story of overcoming difficulties and adversity is truly inspiring and should bring many who read it hope and encouragement as they face their own hardships. Kudos to Drew (and his cowriter) for so eloquently telling this story!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    Wow--very impressed

    It's pretty clear the first reviewer has not actually read this book. As much as I like Drew Brees, I was certainly not expecting his memoir be so well done. I was pleasantly surprised! The writing is really strong and the message is even stronger. I highly recommend this book to anyone--football fan or not.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    Ghost written I'm sure but tremendous

    I know that articulate as Drew is that he certainly had help writing because this is an extremely well written book. It has a wonderful message but it's told in such a way that you feel that Drew's speaking directly to you over coffee. Just a really well put together book and the photos are great as well.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very highly recommended!!

    I have NEVER given review of a book I have purchased and I have recommended less than a handful in my entire life! This book touched me!! After a wretched Friday at work in which I felt beat down and defeated (fast paced business world) I went home in tears which is VERY unlike me! I woke up Saturday morning with one phrase going through my mind over and over...that which doesn't kill you makes you stronger! I woke up determined, but I still needed a little encouragement! I had to take my daughter to the store that afternoon and I passed by this book! I am a Louisianan and a Saints fan, but would typically not pick up a book like this! Something drew me to it however and as I opened it up I landed square on a page that said "that which does not kill you makes you stronger! I bought the book right then and literally COULD NOT put it down until I finished it moments ago! What an uplifting book! Brees' story is not unlike most! I don't feel that he has suffered any more than most of us! What sets him apart, what makes him a success, is his drive, his attitude, his fortitude, his faith! I don't feel that this book is so much about him as it is about what you can achieve with the right attitude! Thank you Drew....for a winning team, a winning attitude, and the encouragement I needed to keep pushing!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Best "sports" book ever!!!

    This is one of the best books ever! In my opinion even if you're not that big of a sports fan you will like this book. So check it out!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Such a great role model...

    Drew Brees is such a humble guy. What an enlightening book. I recommend this book to anybody who enjoys football - not just the Saints - and also to anybody who wants to spiritually better themselves. Drew talks about a lot of things from life, family, and religion, and how they have affected his football career.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Awesome

    This book.is so inspiring
    Iiiii

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Very inspiring...

    This book is written by an NFL football player. I was surprised
    at how well spoken and articulate Drew Breed is. This book
    is for both the rabid sports fan that devours the sports page each morning
    and breaks down each play on Monday with his friends during football
    season as well as the person that does not watch sports and cares
    very little about the Superbowl and its outcome. Drew Breed
    provides a spectacular true account of overcoming adversity
    and how he was able to do it. He manages to tell us how his christian
    faith is the cornerstone of all his actions without sounding a bit
    preachy (he's so humble and matter of fact). He gives all who read his book
    good advice on how to overcome our own tragedies but within his own gripping story
    of coming back.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    Drew Brees Shows He Is More Than Just a Great Quarterback!

    This book gives the reader a wonderful insight into what it takes to succeed in all aspects of life. Drew understands there is more to life than just playing football, even though he has succeeded at the highest level. He puts God & Family first...as it should be. His willingness to work hard and also to give back to his community are the reasons people in the Gulf Coast area admire & love him. To the reviewer who wrote negative comments about this book...just chalk it up to sour grapes from a fan of a rival football team who lacks the intelligence to get what the book is about. Thank you, Drew, for making the choice to join the Saints organization and for sharing your life with us by writing this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    Great Book

    This book was amazing!!! It gave me the opportunity to realize how to play a game. Drew is really talented and it shows through all he went through. Coming Back Stronger doesnt only let you know more about Drew but it also allows you to understand losing and winning along with taking it one game at a time. Drew taught me alot from this book, from sports to God!! Thanks so much Drew Brees and good luck with everything!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Great Book

    This is a great book usually i would be saying this because Drew Brees is the QB of my favorite team, but for this instance i actually thought this was a really well written book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Amazing book!!!!!

    I recomand it to ALL of my friends!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Great Book!

    Great read, great story. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Greatest book ever

    This is one of if not the most inspiring books i have ever read. Drew Brees is an amazing athlete and this book shows the struggles he went through to get to where he is now. He is a great role model and this is a must read for anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Great story

    Inspirational

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11