BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Coming Back Stronger: Unleashing the Hidden Power of Adversity

Average Rating 4.5
( 298 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(201)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Best "sports" memoir since Quiet Strength

It's pretty obvious that the first reviewer on this site is intentially trying to sabotage Drew Brees's book. Unlike many sports books that immediately follow championships, Coming Back Stronger is a very well written book that details Drew's life and the obstacles that...
It's pretty obvious that the first reviewer on this site is intentially trying to sabotage Drew Brees's book. Unlike many sports books that immediately follow championships, Coming Back Stronger is a very well written book that details Drew's life and the obstacles that he has overcome. He presents in detail the difficult relationship he had with his mother, hilarious stories about courting his wife Brittany, leading New Orleans back from Hurrican Katrina, and leading the Saints to a championship. It also closely details his faith. This book is much more than just football and is the best sports memoir I've read since Tony Dungy's Quiet Strength and it rivals it in quality.

posted by flipper14 on July 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Not a good read.

This book is so poorly written that you at points feel bad for him. I could not put it down because I was hoping that somewhere he would redeem himself, but I was horribly wrong. All that I got out of this was a giant waste of time. Please save yourself and do not get t...
This book is so poorly written that you at points feel bad for him. I could not put it down because I was hoping that somewhere he would redeem himself, but I was horribly wrong. All that I got out of this was a giant waste of time. Please save yourself and do not get this book!

posted by A-J-B on July 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 201 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Outstanding

    Amazing book. Drew Brees shows he is a real person and great role model. You wont want to put this book down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Inspirational!

    Drew Brees is an inspiring leader. It is amazing how an individual who has encountered so many obstacles can maintain such optimism. I enjoyed how he paralleled his personal struggles with post-Katrina New Orelans. You do not have to love football to benefit from Brees' message.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    AWESOME!

    I am a true saints fan and this is a good book. Read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Great read!

    Heart warming! What a great role model for kids!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Awesome Book

    Drew Brees shows us how he came back to be a great quarterback in the nfl. Worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    awesome

    i really like this book it is cool how drew brees came back stronger

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Great Book, you have to read it

    First off, let me say, I'm not a big football fan, and I don't watch too many professional sports. I've never been enamored with the glamour and hype that seems to draw a lot of people to read about, or make heros out of athletes. So you probably ask why I signed up to read and review this book. I didn't intend to, and passed it by a couple of times, but I kept coming back, and it was still available. I think it was meant to be, that I read it.
    Drew Brees really pretty much tells how it was, from high school and college sports, to being drafted into professional football. It can be, and many times is, a hard life, no matter what the pay. How injuries and bad seasons can effect even the most dedicated player. How he had to work to recover from a bad shoulder seperation, and what it was like, the year after Katrina hit New Orleans, for the people there, the team with a new coach, and never having won a championship. And then you can fast forward to the 2009-10 season, when they managed to pull out a Super Bowl Victory, and losing his mother just before that season started.

    So you say you aren't a sports fan? Read this book, you may not be a sports fan when you finish it, but you will have a lot of respect for a Quarterback named Drew Brees. Or at least I do.

    I recieved a copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers to read and review. I recieved no other compensation for my review. All opinions expressed here are my own, good or bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    At Last A True Role Model

    I am not a Saints fan, but I do love New Orleans and after reading this book a fan of Drew Brees. He is a real role model on and off the field. The way this book is written makes you feel like you sat and talked with him in your living room. Very candid and very personal. Should be required reading for all young athletes as a guide to success and how to cope with all of the pitfalls of life in the public eye.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read for every Saints fan. Drew Brees shares his story in this powerful message.

    I have been a Saints fan since I was 14 years old. This inspiring story will grant you courage and a persistence to keep the faith and never give up no matter how tough it gets.

    Drew Brees shares his childhood and how he first aspired to become a great baseball, not football, player. His first meeting with his wife, Brittany, was not what he hoped it would be. He started in pro football with the San Diego Chargers and really hoped he would play for them his entire football career. Then came the injury to his throwing shoulder and how panicked he felt at first. The questions going through his mind: Is my career over? What will Brittany and I do now? What's ahead for us? Does this mean we have to put off having children?

    His book chronicles the long journey to overcoming adversity with his injury (among other things) and how he came to the decision to play with New Orleans. He describes his relationship with Sean Payton and his other teammates. Mark Brunell, the first backup quarterback in the 2009 season, writes the introduction to this book.

    I heartily recommend this book for every Saints fan and others going through adversity. You will indeed see how Drew Brees came back stronger.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Moving

    This book will inspire you by this absorbing and inspirational story. You don't have to be a sports fan to love this book. Incredible read! Recommend it to everyone.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Easy Breesy

    Love the saints + Drew

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    my dad is a nfl player

    His name is chris long deffansive end st louis rams

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    AWSOME

    Sweet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    To mofoskunk

    Im both colors so that means black and white DO NOT BE RACEST okay and for half my color meaning black i know people that are black they're the best i know

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Best bio ever

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    The best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    So i read many books in my whole life but tjis was the best ever.my brother is reading it right now and he,s not even half way into it yet and he is allready saying dang this book is good.!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    As you read this memoir written by Drew Brees, you discover that

    As you read this memoir written by Drew Brees, you discover that he is a very religious, strong, and hopeful man. His book is well written and you can tell that he "let everything out"  for people to know. He wanted to share his inspirational story with others. And he told it well. Now after reading his book I don't just see him as a quarterback, I see him as a man that has made it so far and deserves the best. I truly respect him as an athlete and as a person. He tells it how it is and it gives young athletes like me hope for when something goes wrong. He pushed through the pain and he came out better than ever. I would recommend everyone to read this book. It offers advice, courage, and hope for anyone in need.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    While I'm a Green Bay Packers fan, I am a fan of Drew Brees and

    While I'm a Green Bay Packers fan, I am a fan of Drew Brees and loved his book. I remember when I bought this at Barnes and Noble
    a few years ago and didn't know what to expect. However, today, Brees' memoir is one of my favorite books and one that helps get me
    through rough times in my life. Brees' memoir recounts his life story of how he overcame adversity multiple times and concludes with 
    him winning the Super Bowl (and being named Super BowXLIV  MVP) with the New Orleans Saints.

    Brees’ memoir provides the reader details about his life outside of football, which lets one see him as not just a football player,
    but a great man, too. The reader's able to relate with Brees on being faced with challenges at critical points in life that he overcame.
    Brees also provides the reader with a valuable life lesson about the importance of having the right mentality (“If you let adversity do its
    work in you, it will make you stronger”) in the face of adversity. After all that Brees and the Saints went through and overcame,
    (Brees separating his shoulder, the Saints rebuilding from Katrina), the reader can't help but root for Brees and the Saints to win
    the Super Bowl. While bad things will happen to good people (and cities), Brees’ story gives one hope that one will ultimately 
    be rewarded. 
                                                                                                                                                                                                      
    Between Brees' entertaining personal anecdotes about him and his wife, story of overcoming adversity multiple times on various levels, 
    discussion of his faith and personal relationship with God, and hopeful and inspiring message that with faith, hard work, and 
    commitment, one can overcome anything, Coming Back Stronger's an excellent read. I recommend this book to any football fan and 
    even to teenagers, as Brees is a role model that they can relate to in the struggles he had growing up and leaves them with an 
    encouraging message that teens need to hear. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Drew Brees

    I have liked this book alot I hope you like it too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Brees is the man

    He helped build the city and showed the country that no matter what dont give up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 201 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11