Customer Reviews for

Coming Back to Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2001

    Coming Back to Me

    When Gary's wife Molly suffers a medical complication after the birth of their first child, he finds himself a virtual single father with mounting bills, adrift in a community that never quite accepted him or his wife. But as the book says, 'sometimes the most unexpected people help in the most unexpected ways'--. Written in lyrical, clear prose, this is a book I cherished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Terrible

    Loved Girls in Trouble so I bought this book. I forced myself to finish it and hated it all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    Unforgettable

    Bittersweet and warm and wonderful, a story of the perils of a marriage teetering under the extraordinary stress of medical trauma, of human failings and forgiveness, and of the enduring power of love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2002

    A book written from the heart, for the heart

    Caroline Leavitt has written a generous, deeply human, tale about love and family, loss and reawakening. Her characters will live in my memory long after I slide the book back onto the shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2002

    A wonderful, heartfelt read

    A wise and touching story of people coming together to realize their dreams of creating an ordinary, normal family. But this family is suddenly shattered, and the the emotional and financial fallout make for a compelling and uniquely moving novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2001

    A Beautiful Wonderful Book

    This beautifully written book explores love, family, and community through a compelling story. Part of what made this book so gripping for me is knowing that the author, Caroline Leavitt, had a life threatening experience very much like Molly, one of the main characters. It is wonderful how Ms. Leavitt develops each of her characters so that you care for them despite, or maybe because of, their flaws.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2001

    Impossible to put down!

    I really enjoyed this book, couldn't put it down.The characters were so real,it was very easy to identify with them.It showed how the faith and hope of a family came through when times are tough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2001

    Caroline Leavitt, Master Storyteller, Has Done It Again

    I have read every single one of Caroline Leavitt's novels -- some more than once -- and find her characters and plots extremely engaging. The writing, itself, is always lovely -- rich, yet not convoluted -- but what always stays with me after I've finished reading her books are the plots. Leavitt is a fabulous storyteller, the kind that makes you wish you were a kid and she was your mother, creating a new bedtime story every night. Leavitt's latest book, 'Coming Back to Me,' delivers once again. I was so engaged by the characters, who felt so real, and the plot intracasies -- that I had to stop reading it a few hours before bedtime, or I'd be too revved up to fall asleep. I'm telling my friends who appreciate a good read to check out 'Coming Back to Me.' I don't think they'll be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    classy portrayal of a family in deep trouble

    In New Jersey, Gary Breyer never expected to ever find love, but did with Molly Goldman at a Tastee restaurant. She quickly reciprocated his feelings and after a short courtship, they marry. <P> Molly gives birth to their child Otis, but suffers a life threatening disease. Not long afterward, a distraught and worried Gary loses his job at a time he needs every penny to care for a newborn and pay stratospheric medical bills. He spends his daytime with his comatose beloved, his night as a security guard, and in between with Otis. He has no time for himself even to sleep. Desperate, he pleads with Molly¿s older sister Suzanne to come home to help care for Otis. Initially, she acts more like an aging groupie, but soon Otis and Gary hook her affections even as Molly awakens. <P> COMING BACK TO ME is a well-written relationship drama that teeters on the brink of melodramatic soap opera, but never falls into that crack. The story line provides an intelligent look at the cast as they struggle with a tragedy at a time when elation should rule the roost. The characters feel genuine with some humorous secondary players keeping the plot from turning too dramatic. Anyone who enjoys a redemption tale filled with protagonists that the audience will care for should read Caroline Leavitt¿s classy portrayal of a family in deep trouble. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2001

    Worth a Read

    If somebody tells you the plot of Coming Back to Me, the story line might sound sad, but it's so alive and full of humor, that it is a pleasure to read. It had all the elements of a great romance story, without being written like one. I recommend this book highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2001

    Another Masterpiece

    'Coming Back To Me' is another masterful piece of literature from this fine author. Like her other recent novel 'Living Other Lives,' Leavitt's 'Coming Back To Me' draws the reader in with a heartfelt tale that leaves one teary eyed but still wanting more. I can hardly wait for her next work to be published.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2001

    Another Winner From Caroline Leavitt

    Caroline Leavitt has a knack for writing about characters you care about and think about long after the book is closed. Gary, Molly, Suzanne and even Otis the baby are going to be in my head for some time. I don't know what magic authors use to make their characters come so alive, but Caroline Leavitt has got it in spades. Even Molly's nurses and the reticent neighbors become people that you feel you could recognize on the street. It's a wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2001

    Brava''' Wonderful...

    One of the things I loved about Coming Back To Me was that it gave a nice feeling of neighborhood. It was Hoboken, New Jersey, but it could have been any suburb. I also loved the plot. It was very unusual. One of the main characters didn't appear until almost half the book was over, but it all worked. Brava!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2001

    Coming Back to Me

    I absolutely loved this book. At times a bit melodramatic, however, I found I couldn't put the book down until my eyes were bloodshot! I feel like I lived the drama and was on the edge of my seat wanting to know what was going to happen next. Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2001

    Coming Back to Me

    I picked this book up from my wife's night table and started reading about Gary, facing single fatherhood, grapping with the loss, trying to find his place in an unfriendly community -- I was hooked! Leavitt seems to understand the workings of the human heart so well. I would have loved to see a photo of her on the book cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2001

    Coming Back to Me

    I happened to be in the bookstore when Ms. Leavitt was reading and became instantly enthralled. What drama, what passion, what heartfelt emotion in the story of Molly, struggling through a medical emergency, her husband Gary who finds himself a single father, and Suzanne, the outcast sister who is summoned back to help. Brilliant. Just a dazzling writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2001

    Breathtaking writing

    As a longtime reader of Caroline Leavitt's work, I was overjoyed to hear she had written a new novel. Not only was I thrilled to have the chance to read it, but I could not put it down. Leavitt, once again, was able to spin a highly realistic, emotional, and beautifully written story about what it would feel like to go from an extremely happy situation to a scary, unknown nightmare, not knowing if your spouse would survive a terrible tragedy and then dealing with a mountain of hospital bills. Images stand out in my mind, such as the feeling Gary had when he walked into Otis' room right after Molly got ill and saw the blanket she had special ordered and nearly fell apart. I felt horrible when Ivan left the car to get cigarettes and left Otis in the car. Any reader, whether or not they have been through a similiar situation, can relate to a situation of simply not knowing what is going to happen next, and feeling so out of control that you don't know how you are going to get through the day. It's rare when an author can make me forget about my own life and immerse me so deeply in a piece of writing, which is why I give this novel five stars. I wish I could give it more, but there aren't enough to show how much I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2