Customer Reviews for

The Coming Global Superstorm

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Continual Reference

Short and sweet review ,,, Not counting, but I refer to this title "often". One of my favorite books.

posted by 5208967 on March 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't let the facts scare you away

An interesting book, and thought-provoking premise...but when the author-experts starts telling me the 'rain falls through the bitter cold air and turns into snow...' or the 'extreme cold stratospheric air descends to the surface without warming', we've lost touch with ...
An interesting book, and thought-provoking premise...but when the author-experts starts telling me the 'rain falls through the bitter cold air and turns into snow...' or the 'extreme cold stratospheric air descends to the surface without warming', we've lost touch with some pretty fundamental laws of meteorology. On the plus side, some real (and documented) research has lately proposed that major climate shifts CAN happen quickly. So, stock up on bread and milk and settle in for an interesting story!

posted by Anonymous on April 12, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Continual Reference

    Short and sweet review ,,,
    Not counting, but I refer to this title "often". One of my favorite books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2000

    Interesting Theories

    While this book predicts dire consequences and does weave a story throughout about a developing storm and its aftermath, the writing is very disappointing, and almost amateurish. Difficult to follow, the reader will quickly tire of constant questioning of previously stated 'facts', which have no researchable documentation. It is unbelievable that no bibliography is included and that there is no footnotes to refer to them. This is a let down of a book that fails to gather together what is being presented in a cohesive and understandable text. The interwoven story of an actual storm, while fictional, should have been expanded and should have been 'the book'.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2000

    Don't let the facts scare you away

    An interesting book, and thought-provoking premise...but when the author-experts starts telling me the 'rain falls through the bitter cold air and turns into snow...' or the 'extreme cold stratospheric air descends to the surface without warming', we've lost touch with some pretty fundamental laws of meteorology. On the plus side, some real (and documented) research has lately proposed that major climate shifts CAN happen quickly. So, stock up on bread and milk and settle in for an interesting story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Criticism of Authors

    I just love the criticism of Art Bell. If you think he is a uncredible, uneducated 'moron' then why did you buy and read his book? Who is the real moron?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2004

    Art Bell is a fool

    Art Bell is an uneducated moron. The man has no idea what he is talking about. He is NOT an accredited scientist though he would have you believe that because he has his own radio show, that is enough to make him an expert on any subject. Art Bell, you are a loser. Go back to school and learn something for a change.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2004

    Global Superstorm: Is it an oroginal story?

    In 1993, Berkley Press published POLAR DAY 9 by Kyle Donner. It is the story of a sudden climate change and the resulting deep freeze. Scenes like the the evacuation of millions, the closing of the Mexican borders to American refugees, birds and animals announcing the sudden change...are all there in POLAR DAY 9.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2001

    Is a Climate Catastrophe Really Imminent?

    The Coming Global Superstorm was a compelling and intriguing compilation of science, fiction, and science fiction. Apparently neither of the authors come from science backgrounds, however, they present a well-reasoned, fascinating interpretation of early climate records and architectural enigmas; and they argue a somber scenario for earth¿s near-future climate. Although 'overblown,' the forecast issued in The Coming Global Superstorm should be given some serious consideration as we guess at what lies ahead for the climate of Planet Earth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2000

    A Fascinating Work!!!!

    This is an excellent work of researched fiction. Art Bell and Whitley Strieber carefully offer historical data, which seemingly is about to be repeated on Earth, possibly resulting in the destruction of society as we know it. The evidence of an 'extinction event,' which took place millions of years ago, instantly stopping most life forms on the planet in their tracks, is presented throughout the book with an ongoing analysis as to what exactly occurred. Whatever it was, drastic weather changes were somehow involved. Today, global warming and the recent climatic changes around the world make the authors' story and line of reasoning very compelling. Accounts of fictitious worldwide scenarios are interspersed throughout the book's researched data, vividly depicting an ominous scene of what might be to come. The combination of fact and fiction work very well to focus on one concept throughout the book: the possibility of a global superstorm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2000

    Extra Extra This could be the Doomsday storm

    Vilont Twisters Gushing walls of water and thats just the beginning. Strap yourself in as you learn about a storm that could bring complete and devastating chaos to the world. Tempatures below -140 degreese F may cause a NEW ice age. A gripping story that once you pick up you WONT want to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2000

    Art and Whitley's insight inspires reluctant meteorologists

    This collaboration not only covers what possible dynamic weather changes may occur in the near future as our weather becomes more and more devestating and unpredictable, but also covers weather in history, along with sociological changes for the different time eras of human civilization. The added story in italics adds a nice touch to an insightful look at what may cloud our horizon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2000

    Don't read this book if you live in New England!

    It is true this book jumps around a lot. It is thought provoking and peaked my interest to find out more since believing everything is a bit much to ask. It also takes a little patience to really digest what is being said when a different topic is presented each time a chapter is turned. I enjoyed this book and so it deserves three stars. Do take a warning if you live in New England or an area that has always had unpredictable weather, don't question the weather too much. Sometimes it is just New England weather and not the end of time...right?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2000

    Entertaining--Thought-provoking--poorly documented

    Having an intense interest in storms and weather phenomena, I purchased this book almost immediately upon reading the title. It was a quick read -- very interesting. However, while the book is packed full of statements intended as fact or so close we should take them as such, there is very little documentation and no form of bibliography or reference. There are only occassional notes referencing non-mainstream periodicals. The story is well designed, but perhaps jumped around a little too much to follow some assertions to conclusion. All in all, if you are OK with the fact that nearly the entire text is theory and persuasion, then the reading is more palateable. I thoroughly enjoyed the story and the message has good intent. I only wish it were supported better so I could check some of the facts myself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2000

    This book leaves you deep in thought!

    I think the author's have touched on something that nobody has thought of before. It is chilling and sobering to think that this could be what is waiting for us in our future. I think the scientific world needs to take a second look at what these author's have looked at and study if this 'superstorm' is possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2000

    The best book you will ever read

    This books has great stories and it has a lot of great fictinoal reviews in it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2000

    Great Book

    This book will leave you thinking. Art and Wesley do a great job of laying out what may have happened in the past and what could happen in the future. They combine facts with fiction to produce a great read. I recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2000

    Anything for a Buck

    Hard to believe that it would be possible to pull this off after the big Y2K hoax, but there are so many fools around

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 1999

    Are you prepared for changes?

    I hope your prepared for the coming earth changes. After reading, 'The Coming Global Superstorm', you will at least have some insight on what could happen in the years to come. I guess we can't really be prepared for diasters that can happen overnight. Art Bell and Whitley Strieber do a great good of explaining what could happen and what to look for before the Superstorm hits. Its already happening some would say with El Nino and the global warming happening right now. Let the Authors of this five-star book take you back in history and give you an insight on the world from a different perspective. This book will not only scare you, but at the same time make you realize the seriousness of the times ahead of us as human beings. You will never look at our weather the same again. I guarantee it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 1999

    so much hysterical nonsense

    I must admit, when I saw this title on the bookshelf and picked it up my skin prickled with gooseflesh. The problem with this book is that it so well written (credit the authors' creativity at least) that it also well-disguises the sheer void of credibility that ultimately undermines it. Not only that, I sense whiff of plagiarism. It's doomsday scenario of a man-caused world-devouring storm sounds all-too-much like a fictional account written two decades ago. _The Sixth Winter_ (1979. ISBN #0708818757) by Douglass Orgill and John Gribbin foretold, in fictional form, an 'instant ice age' caused by massive storms and ice tornadoes that created glaciers on the fly. As science fiction, it was and remains a rivetingly good read. But it also sounds like good source material, uncredited, for the work of a couple of hacks who want nothing more than money for scaring humanity witless with unsupported pablum passed off as non-fiction. Whenever I pick up a book like this I always search for references, preferably of the Ph.D. kind, and citations of scholarly, rigorously validated scientific study. None having been found, I look to the credentials of the author. Oh yeah, co-author Whitley Stieber's bibliography is really a notable one-- lots of tomes about UFO's, aliens, and objects flying with Hale-Bopp. And the other author is a radio talk-guy. Yup! A couple of real hard journalistic writers here! My advice would be to do with this book as you would any piece of recyclable trash: Turn it in for processing as toilet paper.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2