Customer Reviews for

Coming Out

Average Rating 3.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This was an excellent book. It made me want to keep reading to

This was an excellent book. It made me want to keep reading to see how Olympia was going to bring everything together. She is a remarkable person.

posted by love2readKB on April 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Coming out needs filling out

Attorney Olympia Rubinstein is the epitome of the virtuous woman praised in Proverbs. Her home is well kept, she is the perfect daughter in-law, her children want for nothing and bask in her unconditional love, she is endlessly devoted to her husband of thirteen years a...
Attorney Olympia Rubinstein is the epitome of the virtuous woman praised in Proverbs. Her home is well kept, she is the perfect daughter in-law, her children want for nothing and bask in her unconditional love, she is endlessly devoted to her husband of thirteen years and her career is balanced perfectly with her home life. A simple envelope disrupts her peaceful life one day. It is an invitation for her twin daughters from her first marriage to participate in the most exclusive debutant ball in New York City. The invitation quickly causes chaos when everyone expresses a different opinion about the necessity of the upper class tradition. Chauncey is the father of her daughters and has his own agenda that adds pressure that they don't really need. Her oldest son has a confession, a religious debate erupts in her marriage and ethical lines are drawn between the twins. There appears to be no end to the family drama before Steel corrals everyone into a happy ending. I admire Steel for taking on a rather difficult question where do old fashioned ideals fit in modern society? However her story is full of ideas that feel half written. She spent a lot of time narrating without delving deeper into what was going on. Dialogue is minimal and her characters feel forced and read more like classic stereotypes than people. Danielle Steel has written many beloved novels but I can not shake the feeling that she spell checked the first draft of this book and sent it off to be published. Please take note that 'Coming out' is lacking the polish of a finished book.

posted by Anonymous on April 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    This was an excellent book. It made me want to keep reading to

    This was an excellent book. It made me want to keep reading to see how Olympia was going to bring everything together. She is a remarkable person.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    exc read

    coming out by danielle steel
    After their trip to Europe the girls would be dropped off at Brown University and she'd have
    Max all to herself as he started school for the new year.
    Virginia and Veronica are going to the ball.
    The oldest son has a lot of options as to what he will be doing with his life.
    The girls find out they have to goto the ball or their father won't pay for their educations
    at Brown. The Jewish mother in law even wants to go. It's a traditional thing for Olivia, the mother who at her coming out, last danced with her father before he died.
    The youngest son Max thinks because of all the mayhem with 'coming out' that they should just
    all 'stay home'. What a cute attitude. he' only 5.
    A tattoo on her back, measles, cold of the century, a broken ankle and the ball is Saturday and Charlie is hiding a secret and her husband just won't go to the ball.
    A lot of other obstacles occur the day of the ball...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Just ok

    Took three weeks to read--- ok but not the best ...finished it but not the type of book i was trying to read every free minute i had

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    Coming out needs filling out

    Attorney Olympia Rubinstein is the epitome of the virtuous woman praised in Proverbs. Her home is well kept, she is the perfect daughter in-law, her children want for nothing and bask in her unconditional love, she is endlessly devoted to her husband of thirteen years and her career is balanced perfectly with her home life. A simple envelope disrupts her peaceful life one day. It is an invitation for her twin daughters from her first marriage to participate in the most exclusive debutant ball in New York City. The invitation quickly causes chaos when everyone expresses a different opinion about the necessity of the upper class tradition. Chauncey is the father of her daughters and has his own agenda that adds pressure that they don't really need. Her oldest son has a confession, a religious debate erupts in her marriage and ethical lines are drawn between the twins. There appears to be no end to the family drama before Steel corrals everyone into a happy ending. I admire Steel for taking on a rather difficult question where do old fashioned ideals fit in modern society? However her story is full of ideas that feel half written. She spent a lot of time narrating without delving deeper into what was going on. Dialogue is minimal and her characters feel forced and read more like classic stereotypes than people. Danielle Steel has written many beloved novels but I can not shake the feeling that she spell checked the first draft of this book and sent it off to be published. Please take note that 'Coming out' is lacking the polish of a finished book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2007

    Predictable

    I read this in less than a day. Very boring and predictable. She definitely needs to take a break. Who can possibly put out a good book every three to six months? This book makes me question if I should waste money adding to my Steele hard-cover collection or just wait for the paperback.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    not enough surprise

    I found this book to be a very big disappointment. IT was predicable, and way too short. no surprises at all

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    ENTERTAINING

    This latest novel by Danielle Steel was very enjoyable and an easy read! I found the book very entertaining and anxious to see how the story would play out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Danille is the famous Ellen

    Its tru

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    awesome book. Talks about how a husband and wife are torn apart by her daughters options of going to this coming out ball that their mother attended to when she was their age.. Great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Reader of Danielle Steel for years

    In my opinion this was Danielle Steel at her best. A strong female heroine, complex family drama, and a wonderful happy ending. I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Dull

    I'm not a huge Danielle Steel fan but I enjoy a lighter read every now and then. However, this book was so boring. It didn't contain much character detail. Therefore, not tying me into any characters, the story line, or their "blue blood" status. Please, don't spend your hard earned $ on this book. Check it out from your local library if you are still interested.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    "The Girls becomming LADIES"

    It was touching taking you back in time of how important of coming out was in those days. Being of stature was dignified very important I enjoyed it for a nice read. If you like going back in time this is a good keepsake for this type of adventure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    One of the best ever!!!

    I've read a few of Danielle Steel's books and it was one of the best by far!!! It shows that the modern day world and traditional beliefs can find common ground if you try!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    Dull

    Danielle Steele has good ideas but seems to be paid by the number of pages so, instead of fleshing out characters and making the reader care 'think Jodi Pinchot or Jennifer Weiner'. she repeats herself ad nauseum with a phrase or insignificant idea. In all the last several books have been disappointing and not up to the level with which she started.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    Not one of her best

    I have read several Danielle Steel books but this one was not one of her bests. She could have summed the book in a few pages rather than dragging it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    I highly recommend this book for a young reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Entertaining

    I found the book an easy read and entertaining. A good diversion to everyday hassels and problems. Sometimes it is nice to pick-up a novel that is an easy read without having to think about or over analyze the characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    Don't try to crank them out so fast!

    Read the book in one day. The storyline is good I guess but she repeats herself over and over again and of course EVERYTHING works out in the end. VERY predictable. Very short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    Worse book ever by the author

    I think that the author needs to take a break. This book was very boring and was going nowhere since it was so predicable. There was nothing to keep you rivetted to the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A ROBUST NUANCED NARRATION

    Many will remember actor David Garrison for his television appearances on Everybody Loves Raymond, The Practice, Law and Order, plus others. Many more will remember him after hearing his 5-star narration of Danielle Steel's 67th novel. His voice is robust, pleasant, and his timing is pinpoint. On the surface Manhattanite Olivia Crawford Rubinstein appears to have it all. Granted, she did have an unhappy first marriage but from that came two beautiful twin daughters, Veronica and Virginia, and a college age son. Now she is happily remarried to Harry and they're the proud parents of a five-year-old. In addition, she has a successful law practice and a host of friends. Smooth sailing? Not quite. When her daughters receive an invitation to the poshest debutante party of the season, there is immediate conflict. Veronica sides with Dad who thinks such an event is hogwash Virginia is immediately out the door shopping for a gown. Chauncey, Olympia's first husband is a polo playing, supercilious snob who insists that both his daughters debut or he'll not give them their college allowances. Liberal Harry is appalled by this, and Dartmouth son brings one more crisis into the family fold. Few describe the upper crust better than Steel and she does it again with panache and glitter. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4