Customer Reviews for

Coming of Age in Mississippi

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Nice Book

Ive read this twice already, once in 7th grade and now in 9th grade. The second time around I find it way better since we are learning about these times in school. I find it really good and it helped me learn more about why I should be greatful. This is the kind of book...
Ive read this twice already, once in 7th grade and now in 9th grade. The second time around I find it way better since we are learning about these times in school. I find it really good and it helped me learn more about why I should be greatful. This is the kind of book Id make my kids read when Im older.

posted by 10827935 on April 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Boring

This book started out good, but somewhere took the turn of her "tooting her own horn". And then I did this, then I did that.... While some of the things she DID, she should be proud of, I felt like there could have been more to it. Just my opinion....

posted by Lori-from-Iowa on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    I enjoyed Coming Of Age In Mississippi written by Anne Moody. An

    I enjoyed Coming Of Age In Mississippi written by Anne Moody. Anne
    starts the story talking about her abusive childhood by her babysitter
    how her babysitter blame her for burning down her parents shack. Also,
    Anne, gives you the details of her rebelious relationship with her
    mother after her mom and dad split up. Then as she got older she began
    to work to help out her mother with four childre while she was in
    school. She began to join the cvil rights movemnt by trying to get
    negeroes to vote and stand up for themselves. Anne was a strong woman
    for having a dangerous job during the early sixities working for CORE.
    To me she was the malcolm x of the civil rights movement but she didn't
    get anything accomplish because black americans were being killed
    everyday for trying achieve freedom

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Boring

    This book started out good, but somewhere took the turn of her "tooting her own horn". And then I did this, then I did that.... While some of the things she DID, she should be proud of, I felt like there could have been more to it. Just my opinion....

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Potential Lost

    This had the potential of being an incredibly inspiring book. The story itself is an incredible story of a black girl - then woman - surviving and conquering rural Mississippi pre-integration. But the story is marred by the snotty attitude of Anne Moody. She is uncharismatic, judgmental, self-righteous, and vindictive. She lacks compassion for other people and their perceptions and attitudes. It's upsetting really because all she accomplished, endured, and changed is lost in her arrogance.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Very Nice Book

    Ive read this twice already, once in 7th grade and now in 9th grade. The second time around I find it way better since we are learning about these times in school. I find it really good and it helped me learn more about why I should be greatful. This is the kind of book Id make my kids read when Im older.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely rewarding

    This book was a marvelous read. Since it was a requirement for a class i was very uninterested in reading it. However, the author and main character (since it is her life story) is absolutely daring, adorable, funny and thought provoking. She explains the civil rights movement from a black youths perspective. Ever wonder how someone of another race feels about you? About race? About racial inequality? Read it! It's one shocking realization after another. She simply lays out history in a way that most people dont take the time to conceptualize. A+++ :D Read it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Great

    I read the book when my wife was reading it for her English Literature. I picked the book to tease my wife that the book she was reading is not a book at all since I was wrongly rather arrogantly boasting about my selections of readings great books such as Crime and Punishment. But when I started reading the book, I could not give the book back to my wife. She had to wait until I finish reading the book to work on her English assignment. It is such a powerful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Good read

    I could not put it down. Read it in two days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Mrs Dandridge

    Beautiful. I couldn't put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Best Book in The World

    I friggin love this book. I recommend everybody to read it. It had me rollin lol.... READ IT NOW!! WORTH EVERY PENNY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Another good read bout history.

    Here's a good read if you want to learn about Anne Moody how she stood here ground for equal rights for her n her race. These are my fav kind of books I like to read n learn about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    I enjoyed this book

    I recommend this book to anyone, especially if you live in the south like i do. All my life i was unaware of the tragedies and horrible things that happened to my ancestors, untill i took a us history class in highschool where i was assigned toread this book. The author has a way with words; i admire her writing style. Her courage, humor and bravery inspires me to do something more with my life. I love the way she tells everything like it really was with no euphemisms. Great read, a must for all african americans. Powerful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    For the people who like Drama

    If you like drama then you will definitely like Coming of age in Mississippi. The drama all begins When Anne¿s mother gets involve with raiment and leaves Anne¿s father .The book drama probably stared after like 10to 15 pg but after those couple of pages its starts to get very good. My opinion toward coming of age in Mississippi is nothing but great things. Coming of age in Mississippi is covered with a lot of interesting stuff for example thing about black history .the word that u might find in coming of age in Mississippi are not that hard they might be hard if u don¿t reed the sentence carefully .Even though u might not like drama I would definitely would recommend this coming of age in Mississippi. It has many interesting things that happens to her end her family that u just wont believe it unless u go end read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    'Radical Change'

    This extraordinary memoir is a page turner, as I read about a young girl who had a speical gift to recogize right from wrong. She realized at a eary age that changes had to be made. As she matures, her life experinces along with herself determination in society shapes her into the women she is today.Anne shares every emotion possible from luaghter to tears and everything in between.Her story is a personal testimony that change is possible!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Good Book 4 Ua

    The Coming of age in Mississippi book is a really interesting book from what i have read. It is sad but it keeps making you want to read and read intil you get bored(which would probably be never). Reading this book thus far makes me grateful for what i have and also my parents and what they are doing for me write now. It is really an interesting storyline. It is not a confusing book at all. This book kwould be easy for all ages, but in my opinion i would highly advise poeple to read this book, it is good, it is classy, also the lesson you can learn about history in black people lives

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2006

    Remarkable

    I read this book when I was a in elementary school and I fell in love with how Anne Moody captured the reader. I have read it so many times that I felt like I watched it on television. To this day, it is one of my favorite books. Thank you for sharing your life, it was a pleasure to read over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2006

    Touch in way you can never fathom

    As I was reading this book it became apparent to me, I missed a great piece of African-American history. To be there and aid in the movement is something I wish I could have been a part of. I sit her today and wonder what contribution can I make in this world to help all faces and races. She stood up when others were too afraid. Her passion was so contagious you felt like your were sitting right beside here at Woolworth. Later in the book when the violence hit that close to home you mourned with her. I will be passing this book onto my sister to share with her daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    Possibly my new favorite book!!!

    I had to read this book for a Southern Culture class this semester. I was looking forward to reading it, but I have to admit, I had other things to do. But I could not put this book down! It is so wonderful! It gives a lot more insite to the civil rights struggle than I've ever heard before. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2005

    Wonderful

    This book was so wonderful. It showed how hard things were in MS for African Americans. It also showed me how it was, and how hard it was to find jobs. It gave me more insight on deaths and bad things that happened. This book was so good from the beginning to the end. It made me cry, a little. It was hard to believe that really happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2004

    A book I will never forget

    Luckily for me, my significant other was assigned this book for his senior english class in college, and absolutely dreaded to read it. I volunteered and have enjoyed every bit of it. You hear stories similar to Ann Moody's in your history class, but they aren't even close. This was actually my first enjoyable autobiography, and now I'm hooked. I recommend this book to everyone who has a few hours to spare during the week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    Essie Mae to Annie Mae

    Anne Moody is a great and classical writer. After reading Coming of Age in Mississippi, I had a better understanding of how African Americans lived in the 1940s-1950s. Moody takes us back to that past time and relives her childhood, adolescence, and adulthood. Her childhood was very uneasy especially when her mother separated from her father and she was left with a younger sister. Her Mama bears another three children with a different man who she was not yet married to. Food was scarce and she had to work and help out to survive. Times got harder when Moody entered high school and college. Blacks were getting killed left and right because of discrimination in Mississippi. One good thing about the book is that Moody shows how hard she worked to get to where she is now. I was amazed during her childhood and her years in high school when she overcame many obstacles. She overcame most of her fears except one. ¿There was a new fear known to me- the fear of being killed just because I was black¿(125). She had been scared about a murder that happened in a nearby town. A black boy was killed because he came out of his home with a white woman. So white men went after him and killed him and how sad it was that he was only 14. She overcame this fear later when she entered college and when the movement began. Another good thing about Moody is that she speaks out for herself. She began to hate people especially the white men that killed Negroes. She also looked upon Negro men as cowards (129). Moody realized how Negro men could smile and be nice to white men, but behind closed doors, they kill innocent black men and women. She shows an abundance of courage later in the book and stands up for herself and other blacks. It was difficult to be black and earn money. Times were hard but she made it and made a difference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3