Customer Reviews for

Coming Up for Air

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Book

Im a 20 year old woman and I felt this story was excellent! It's a must read for women in general. I really enjoyed the writing style, I found it easy to read.

posted by Anonymous on March 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Yawn...

What a disappointment! The story is boring, the characters implausible and generally unlikeable, the writing awkward and amateurish, with tiresome attempts at similes and metaphors that look as though it was part of the writing assignment to hit a quota. I often found m...
What a disappointment! The story is boring, the characters implausible and generally unlikeable, the writing awkward and amateurish, with tiresome attempts at similes and metaphors that look as though it was part of the writing assignment to hit a quota. I often found myself re-reading the same sentence several times trying to make sense of it because of the awkward wording or phrasing. As for the "big mystery," you won't even care what it is, because the characters are so self absorbed and annoying. I hate it when I feel as if I've wasted my money on a book!

posted by 3607026 on August 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Good Book

    Im a 20 year old woman and I felt this story was excellent! It's a must read for women in general. I really enjoyed the writing style, I found it easy to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Yawn...

    What a disappointment! The story is boring, the characters implausible and generally unlikeable, the writing awkward and amateurish, with tiresome attempts at similes and metaphors that look as though it was part of the writing assignment to hit a quota. I often found myself re-reading the same sentence several times trying to make sense of it because of the awkward wording or phrasing. As for the "big mystery," you won't even care what it is, because the characters are so self absorbed and annoying. I hate it when I feel as if I've wasted my money on a book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Inspiring and a quick, easy read

    A great story about strength, secrets, and love set in a beautiful, southern landscape. It left me inspired to never settle. I couldn't put this down!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Fantastic,!!!

    This is one of the best books. Ellie is your ordinary forty-something woman coming to some realizations about her life after her mother's death. I am from Alabama, graduated from Auburn University and only someone from Alabama could describe with such detail especially The War Eagle Supper Club. How refreshing! Every woman should read this book especially if you are forty something or just at a crossroad in your life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Southern Fiction @ It's Best!

    With a mysterious flare, Patti C. Henry weaves a tail about a woman discovering a secret past that shocked her regarding her recently deceased mother. It is a time of discovery and realization from the present & the past. This story brought real issues alive in facing a parent's death.
    I could relate to the content and characters of this excellent book. Having read all of Patti Henry's books, I believe that each one is better than the last! Look forward to her next tale.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Great Book

    I really enjoyed this book. Once I started reading it, I could not put it down. I could relate to the time period of Lily's journal. It only took me a weekend, and I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    This is my first book by Patti--it was very good and held my int

    This is my first book by Patti--it was very good and held my interest. Sometimes those first loves stay with you forever as it did with Elli.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Airstar

    She sat on the cloud, her wings folded gently against her silver and white pelt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Finally a great read for a forthy something woman. A story abou

    Finally a great read for a forthy something woman. A story about love, secrets and sacrifices. It was inspiraing. As I read the pages I felt it was talking about my feelings. Enjoyed reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Coming up for air - dont!

    Just boring! It is only 209 pages and it seemed like it wont end! It is the same old story about an unhappy marriage. U know who the secret lover is as soon as he enters the story. Dint waste ur money.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Patti Callahan Henry is a new author to me but that won’t

    Patti Callahan Henry is a new author to me but that won’t last for long because she’s already become a trusted friend. Her novel is a poignant and fragile story of love loss, love gained and what the brokenness of a heart does to a person’s perspective on life, whether they learn from that loss, wallow in it or close their heart to it. It’s one woman’s search for something she didn’t know she was looking for. It was a glimpse of the present and the future by looking to the past. Her narrative is a smooth placid lake with intermittent eddies and crashing waves that brought the sights, smells and scenes straight from her pages onto a view screen in my mind. Her dialogue is the poetry of the south and it resonated in me with every ya’ll and hey she said. Her characters though, those are the stars of her tale, her Ellie and Hutch demanded attention and I breathlessly waited to see what would happen, plus the mystery that was Ellie’s mother hooked me. It is a love story and yet it’s more, it’s a story of life and how the choices made effect it.
    If you love the work of Karen White or Dorothea Benton Frank give this author a try and I believe like me you’ll come back for more.
    Little did Ellie Calvin know that her mother’s death would be a catalyst to her finding secrets hid deep. That when her old love Hutch O’Brien contacts her for help with her mother’s part in his exhibit on Atlanta’s Women of the Year in the 60’s she’d learn that the woman she knew her mother to be was once someone very different. That when she opened the Pandora’s box that is her mother’s journal she would find between the pages a spirited and righteous woman who put herself smack dab in the middle of the civil rights movement in Alabama, she’d find a woman who had a secret love, one who wasn’t her father. And this was a mystery because Ellie has followed in her mother’s footsteps with her own methodical life, she used the doubt her mother planted about Hutch’s inappropriateness as a husband to turn in another direction. She didn’t know that working with Hutch would open up ancient wounds that never really closed. She didn’t know that digging around in her mother’s past would somehow dictate her future. But she’s about to discover not only who her mother was, but who she, Ellie, is as well. Ellie will have to make some decisions about what she wants from now on and some of those decisions will have irrevocable effects on those closest to her. She’ll wonder if trying her wings is worth the fall it may bring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2