Customer Reviews for

Command and Control: Nuclear Weapons, the Damascus Accident, and the Illusion of Safety

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Reads like a novel...scarey that it's not

    Couldn't put it down

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    What do you think of when you think of nuclear weapons? Do you t

    What do you think of when you think of nuclear weapons? Do you think of bunkers full of the most technologically sophisticated equipment in the world? Do you think of layers of security and safety protocols to ensure that an accident is next to impossible? Do you think of all the "command and control" structures to make sure that every weapon is accounted for and never used in response to a false alarm or by a rogue group or individual?




    My assumption had long been that the most powerful weapons in the world would have merited the best of all the above. In "Command and Control" Eric Schlosser pulls back the curtain and reveals just how close we came over and over again to nuclear disaster in the past sixty years. He uses the accident in Damascus, AR as the main narrative thread for the book. But what really makes the book stand out is how he weaves the account of the disaster in Arkansas with a history of nuclear weapons in the United States and the many near misses that should have made the government far more safety conscious than it was at the time of the explosion in Damascus. At first, it seems like he's just providing a little historical color when he gives the history of the nuclear arsenal and the near misses but he pulls all the threads together in the end and the result is a nail-biting conclusion and a truly well crafted book.




    Schlosser brings a great deal of narrative skill to the book. It doesn't read like dry history but rather has a pacing more in line with a fictional techno-thriller. This is a book that will keep you up far past your bedtime in an effort to get in just a few more pages to find out what happens next. Educational, sobering, and a real page turner. Pick this one up if you have the opportunity.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'm an insider on nukes from that time, and this book is the abs

    I'm an insider on nukes from that time, and this book is the absolute truth. A long book that is hard to put down, eating up a week, but worth it. Reading the accident description out loud was jaw-dropping for my family. This history shows what incompetents run the Gov, and still do. There are websites defending the AF and nuke safety, but don't be fooled by them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Engrossing and unsettling

    How close we came so many times and how, by pure luck, we somehow managed not to start WWIII or blow ourselves up is the general theme. Reads like Dr. Strangelove but this was real life. We have been very, very fortunate. Detailed and well-written, and will keep you turning pages well into the night.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2015

    Highly recommended

    A chocking and revealing book. We survived evidently just by chance a nuclear blast in the US. Remember Eisenhower's warning about the "Military Complex" when he left office!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2014

    Quite a different book

    Eric Schlosser weaves a great story about a disaster at a Titan missile site with the history of the US atomic bomb. I had no idea of how crude these weapons were and perhaps still are. We are fortunate that we have not had several towns wiped off the face of the globe because of carelessness. Great read with full references.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Blah

    Haven't read it... omg swag

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    The head line is that it is cool

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Dydhehfjf

    Good for white people

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Lol

    Lol

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    This is a good book to read, i think you will like it

    GOOOD BOOK,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Get a pink ipad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    Interesting read

    The "novel" approach to the writing is different .... if one is expecting a thriller they will be disappointed. There is a lot of history written between the action of the main story. To me, it reads like a History Channel or Discovery Channel documentary with verifiable facts. And that's a good thing. A lot of events documented will surprise the reader. Also the really technical items are presented in laymen terms so they are easier to grasp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Reads like a thriller

    Schlosser weaves together a complete history of nuclear weapons with a blow by blow account of one particular nuclear accident that was narrowly averted when a Titan ICMB exploded in its silo in Arkansas. By the end the reader has a full impression of exactly how dangerous it is just to build and maintain these ultimate weapons of mass destruction. The point comes home that it is a miracle that one of the many thousands of bombs has not detonated from carelessness, mechanical fault, or plane crashes. A tense and gripping read from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Engrossing, captivating, and often pretty scary. The depth of de

    Engrossing, captivating, and often pretty scary. The depth of detail Schlosser presents makes this much more compelling than many books of this type. His evidence gives you a clear picture of the many issues critical to insuring nuclear safety. These range from technical, hardware topics, like arming switches and wiring, to operational training and control, to global politics. With every one of these history indicates that often a single person can be the deciding factor in whether a nuclear weapon is safe and functional, or not. This is not a light relaxing read. You need to make a commitment to it. If you do, the effort is worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    I thought that ┬┐The Exorcist┬┐ was a scary book, but it pales in

    I thought that “The Exorcist” was a scary book, but it pales in comparison to “Command and Control", a real life horror story if ever there was one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Accurate and frightening.

    Part of my experiences were in a related weapon system and this gives a good glimpse into the LGM world. Read it and thank God for His mercy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    This type of book is usually not first on my list, but I read an

    This type of book is usually not first on my list, but I read an excerpt somewhere, and decided to give it a try. I must say I am totally engrossed by it. It reads like a novel, but is a true story. There is the main story of the Damascus Incident, but also tons of historical facts about bombs woven into the book in an interesting manner. A must read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Incredibly eye-opening. I thought it was going to be some flami

    Incredibly eye-opening. I thought it was going to be some flaming liberial diatribe full have partial truths and unsubstantiated "facts". But it most certainly is a balanced and in-depth expose' of the problems with quality and safety of the most powerful weapons mankind has developed. While I have professionally had association with the subject matter, I had never considered the logistic nightmare of the cold war. A riveting read. But at least one glaring error in my mind. A 9 Mt nuke will not obliterate half of Arkansas. Sense of scale is a bit off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Excellent account of events during the Cold War era. We came so

    Excellent account of events during the Cold War era. We came so close to a nuclear war several times, and I don't think most Americans have ever been told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2