Customer Reviews for

Commencement

Average Rating 3.5
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Loved It

I just finished the book yesterday and I thought it was an excellent book! I've read all of Emily Giffin's books and I've been looking for another author with similar writing style for awhile and I feel this book really satisfied me; you'll finish the book in no time be...
I just finished the book yesterday and I thought it was an excellent book! I've read all of Emily Giffin's books and I've been looking for another author with similar writing style for awhile and I feel this book really satisfied me; you'll finish the book in no time because you won't be able to put it down (you'll also wish she came out with another book already!)

posted by Nadine_C on July 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Pathetic

This book had a good start similar to sisterhood of traveling pants, and then went downhill from there. 4 friends that can't get over their college years. 4 friends that have absolutely nothing in common & remained friends for no reason. Years after they graduate they w...
This book had a good start similar to sisterhood of traveling pants, and then went downhill from there. 4 friends that can't get over their college years. 4 friends that have absolutely nothing in common & remained friends for no reason. Years after they graduate they were still dwelling on the past. The end just topped the cake. TOTALLY RIDICULOUS. Do not waste your time-even if you have nothing better to do!

posted by Amysmithers on October 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It

    I just finished the book yesterday and I thought it was an excellent book! I've read all of Emily Giffin's books and I've been looking for another author with similar writing style for awhile and I feel this book really satisfied me; you'll finish the book in no time because you won't be able to put it down (you'll also wish she came out with another book already!)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pathetic

    This book had a good start similar to sisterhood of traveling pants, and then went downhill from there. 4 friends that can't get over their college years. 4 friends that have absolutely nothing in common & remained friends for no reason. Years after they graduate they were still dwelling on the past. The end just topped the cake. TOTALLY RIDICULOUS. Do not waste your time-even if you have nothing better to do!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Great Summer "Chick Lit".......Heck, great "Chick Lit" anytime

    I enjoyed this book and the character development of the 4 women involved in the story. It centers around life at Smith College and the friendships between the 4 girls. Then upon graduation....they all go their separate ways, but the friendships remain strong. It was definitely "chick lit" but a great summer read. I was in it until the last page. I recommend it for some great light reading. Can't wait to start her new book......MAINE.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Not really my kind of book

    I listened to it via audio and the narrator did a great job with accents of the four young women (Celia, Bree, Sally, and April), especially the southern accent and at times was very humorous as the friendship develops between the 4 gals at the beginning of their freshman year at Smith College. However, I would not have made it thru reading the book; however, felt I need to finish the audio. I was not crazy about Maine either, so not an author I typically read. There was a lot of radical feminist politics and topics which were not of interest to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Just finished

    And glad I stuck with it as it turned into a real page turner The girls are genuine and I liked each of them I read Maine first and it is apparent Ms Sullivan has had great female relstionships and role models as both have strong characters from all generations I look forward to her next novel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Fun & Daring

    A group of best friends go their seperate ways after college. Each take what they've learned in different directions. The plot tears you between who you should side with as the girls grow apart. It makes you wish you had friends like these who will go to any extent to be there in your hardest and best times. This book focuses a lot on women's rights.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    Not worth the time...

    I am all for giving new writers the benefit of the doubt, but this book was a waste of my time. The writer wrote more about Smith College, than developing the characters or the story itself. There was no closure, although the writer had many opportunities to do so, and the ending was horrible, I literally thought the last pages were lost. I would not recommend this book to anyone....and am disappointed I spent the money on it myself...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    slow read for me

    this is not as good as her other books. finding it hard to get
    thru it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    Enjoyed the book initially and I liked that the relationships we

    Enjoyed the book initially and I liked that the relationships were raw and not just pretty and comfortable. However... I felt totally cheated by the ending. Come on, we don't invest the time and money into reading a book to be left like that! TOTALLY UNFULFILLED!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Can't put it down!

    Sullivan will bring you back to your college days and make you want to call your girlfriends with this story of four friends. Following their adventures, you will live through each character and not want this to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Jikjhgfesdgh..nnbvcxzRp

    Aqwefvbmng

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Wouldn't buy it again.

    I didn't care for this book. I wouldn't buy it again. If you are into women's issues and kind of far-fetched plots maybe you would like it. Not my kind of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    good read - unfulfilling ending

    I read this book right after I graduated from college because it felt pretty fitting for the time. I thought it was a great book as I began, but it started to meander about a third of the way through Part 2. I liked the complexities of the characters and really enjoyed reading it, but the ending took me by surprise - and not really in a good way... more in the 'I think I should still be turning pages' kind of way.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    I'm glad I stuck with it. The first quarter of the storyline is

    I'm glad I stuck with it. The first quarter of the storyline is a bit confusing, jumbled, but soon enough a decent storyline builds up and characters reach a depth that allows the reader to care about what the characters do and what happens to them. Well written, funny at times. The ending is far better than that of Maine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    Nice summer read

    Commencement was an interesting book. Found out more about Smith College and "Smithies" than I think I ever wanted or needed to know......but the story line was well written and interesting. The ending a little anti-climatic (no pun intended). But all in all a good read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    As a graduate of a women's college, Cottey College, I dove into

    As a graduate of a women's college, Cottey College, I dove into this hoping to find exactly what I found. A wonderous story about the bonds you forge going to a women's college. While the ending left me with a desire for more, I have to say that overall it was a worthwhile read. My Cottey sisters will ALWAYS be my sisters. They are the first ones I turn to for anything and when we get together it is like we had never been apart. This book does a fantastic job describing how important those friendships and how it really is hard to move on from that nuturing environment of a women's college.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    RECOMMEND

    THE 4 MAIN CHARACTERS IN THE BOOK ARE ALL DOWN-TO-EARTH GIRLS WHO GET IN THEIR OWN WAY AT TIMES. BASICALLY GOOD STORY LINE FOR ALL.

    I WOULD READ OTHER BOOKS BY THIS AUTHOR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    A great novel about true sisters...

    I am not a Smithie. I am, however, a graduate of Cottey, a women's college. Although I found some of the stereotypes in this book to be over the top, I feel that the deep bond of forging sisterhood experienced at a women'a college was written with startling accuracy. My Cottey sisters will always be my sisters, regardless of where we are on life's journey. The book does a great job describing life upon leaving school and our sisters. It does a great job of explaining the difficulty of letting go and realizing we've moved on but still hold our college and sisters dear in our hearts. Like the characters, we'd drop everything to go to them. The ending was unresolved but perhaps the ending the reader 'wants' is not the one the novel needs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    looking back... a pity read

    you know how you date someone, really knowing s/he is a nice person and you really want to like them more, so you keep trying and trying... and finally when it dies a sad little death you look back and think "pity"? that was this book for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    Well written, but...

    The ending was awful. Where it ended seemed like a great place to launch the characters off and tell a great tale. If this wasn't meant to be a setup for a sequel, it's a total disappointment. Really enjoyed the characters and 'felt' them. Maybe that's why the ending seemed so abrupt. Nice first effort but the ending makes me leery of reading further books by Ms. Sullivan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8