Customer Reviews for

Commencement

Average Rating 3.5
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Loved It

I just finished the book yesterday and I thought it was an excellent book! I've read all of Emily Giffin's books and I've been looking for another author with similar writing style for awhile and I feel this book really satisfied me; you'll finish the book in no time be...
I just finished the book yesterday and I thought it was an excellent book! I've read all of Emily Giffin's books and I've been looking for another author with similar writing style for awhile and I feel this book really satisfied me; you'll finish the book in no time because you won't be able to put it down (you'll also wish she came out with another book already!)

posted by Nadine_C on July 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Pathetic

This book had a good start similar to sisterhood of traveling pants, and then went downhill from there. 4 friends that can't get over their college years. 4 friends that have absolutely nothing in common & remained friends for no reason. Years after they graduate they w...
This book had a good start similar to sisterhood of traveling pants, and then went downhill from there. 4 friends that can't get over their college years. 4 friends that have absolutely nothing in common & remained friends for no reason. Years after they graduate they were still dwelling on the past. The end just topped the cake. TOTALLY RIDICULOUS. Do not waste your time-even if you have nothing better to do!

posted by Amysmithers on October 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Just finished

    And glad I stuck with it as it turned into a real page turner The girls are genuine and I liked each of them I read Maine first and it is apparent Ms Sullivan has had great female relstionships and role models as both have strong characters from all generations I look forward to her next novel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    slow read for me

    this is not as good as her other books. finding it hard to get
    thru it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    good read - unfulfilling ending

    I read this book right after I graduated from college because it felt pretty fitting for the time. I thought it was a great book as I began, but it started to meander about a third of the way through Part 2. I liked the complexities of the characters and really enjoyed reading it, but the ending took me by surprise - and not really in a good way... more in the 'I think I should still be turning pages' kind of way.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    RECOMMEND

    THE 4 MAIN CHARACTERS IN THE BOOK ARE ALL DOWN-TO-EARTH GIRLS WHO GET IN THEIR OWN WAY AT TIMES. BASICALLY GOOD STORY LINE FOR ALL.

    I WOULD READ OTHER BOOKS BY THIS AUTHOR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    looking back... a pity read

    you know how you date someone, really knowing s/he is a nice person and you really want to like them more, so you keep trying and trying... and finally when it dies a sad little death you look back and think "pity"? that was this book for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    Liked the story, hated the ending

    I enjoyed all of the characters in this book. I felt a connection with all four women and enjoyed the story from each of their points of view. However, there are two things I disliked about this book- the underdevelopment of the storyline and the abrupt ending. I wish the author would have gone more in depth with each of the characters' personalities so I had a better understanding of who they were and how they go through their daily lives. The characters seemed a little hollow, and with more detail, they would have recieved more stars. I did not care for the ending. It was rather unsettling and I didn't feel as if the story was complete. Overall, enjoyed the book, but was left wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A much older version of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants.

    When I read the summary on the back of the book, I imagined a nice little tale of four best friends and their coming of age journeys through college. Boy, was I surprised when I delved into the eye-opening pages of feministic views on everything you can imagine. Commencement may look like a light and friendly read, but it touches on extremely tough issues like rape, sex trafficking, and violence against women. Some passages throughout the book are really graphic, which leads me to believe that Ms. Sullivan was trying desperately to make a statement (which, in my opinion, she brilliantly succeeded). However, at some point towards the second half, I became emotionally tired of reading about all of the heavy stuff. Maybe it just became too much for me to handle. Or, maybe I just got bored with it. Either way, I was anxious to finish this novel for all of the wrong reasons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Starts Strong Then Disappoints

    After reading the reviews I was really excited to read this book. I'm sorry to say I was truly disappointed. At the beginning, the strength of the writing carried me through. I enjoyed the flashbacks to the girls' college years in particular. And the conversations about feminism were witty and realistic, as well as reflective of the theme of the book and therefore artful. But once I entered Part Two I gave up. I'd lost interest. There needed to be more plot or an unexpected twist to carry my interest. I wish the author would have set the book in college or worked harder to develop the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    Poor combination of fiction and reality of a women's college

    The author, in trying to capture womens' lives during and after a women's college experience - gave a VERY distorted view of the achievements and successes of women from Smith College. I would hope someone would write a book on all the wonderful scientists, physicians, literary folks, and businesswomen that graduated from Smith and other women's colleges. I realize this is a novel but there was too much similarity to the real Smith environment for this to be considered pure fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2