Customer Reviews for

The Commitment: Love, Sex, Marriage, and My Family

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2005

    Against gay marriage? Read this book

    I loved how Savage was able to put a face on gay marriage by showing his readers his family. It becomes so much harder to demonize gay people when we see who is the target of this kind of discrimination. And besides the book itself is extremely funny, witty entertaining and insightful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    A SERIOUS GOOD TIME!

    Dan Savage's honest account of trying to marry the 'other father' of his child is funny, frustrating and most importantly filled with lots of love and laughter. It goes beyond the bounds of a gay love story and deals simply with two people attempting to justify their union in the face of a government who wants no part of them and a family who, for the most part, accepts them for what they are. That is, a couple in love with a precocious child who is wise beyond his years. After reading this book my partner of 26 years and I decided to 'make it legal' in Canada as well. Thanks, Dan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2005

    A Great Book

    I read 'The Kid,' and loved it so when I was wondering through a DC bookstore and ran across this one I had to get it. It's a fast, funny, and insightful read. Highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Savage is BIPHOBIC!!!

    Go to Youtube and type in his name. His stance is that Bisexual is a transitional status, that bi men do not exist, and bi women are hiding in straight relationships. He bases his views on dubious studies and myths Bisexuals have been fighting against for years. Not all bisexuals are vicious disease spreading liars who sleep around. There are monogamous and celibate bisexuals too. As for the bi women hiding thing: He has very little understanding of what Bisexuals go through. Bi women are seen as the ultimate prize by men who bug them about swinging and threesomes or they are threatened. Lesbians treat bi women like they are gross and that they need to be converted. In fact, the whole LGBT moniker has been grossly abused. Many so called LGBT groups say they support Bisexuals, but when Bisexuals try to participate in marches or protests they are told the are not welcome unless they identify as gay or lesbian. How dare Savage or anyone else tell Bisexuals who they are or when, where, and to whom to share their truth!!! People like him are a big part of the reason Bisexuals are victims of hate crimes, suffer from anxiety and depression, are more likely to abuse drugs or alcohol, are likely to be abused by a partner, and are more likely to avoid medical or mental health care. And this just fuels all the right wing, conservatve bigots, some of whom support LG people but who buy into all the misconceptions about Bisexuals and therefore believe they should be erased or deprogrammed. It just makes me sick. If I could I would have marked this 0 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Some funny parts, but mostly a rant about gay rights

    Dan and Terry have been a gay couple for ten years, they have a son together, and they plan to stay together forever, so why wouldn't they want to get married? Terry doesn't want to act like straight people and Dan is rebelling against his mother's oft expressed desires. They compromise on getting matching "Property of" tattoos and begin planning a 10th anniversary party that soon begins to feel suspiciously like a wedding reception. As the two of the struggle through their feelings about the institution of marriage and why or why not they might want to partake a slightly madcap adventure ensues.

    The Commitment is billed as a hilarious romp through the world of gay marriage. Instead it is mostly an angry rant about the restrictions and prejudices faced by homosexuals today. While I agree with all his points it felt a bit like having someone endlessly trying to convince me of something I already agree with. There were funny parts, many provided by their 6 yr old son DJ, but they just didn't balance out all the bitterness for me. I did enjoy the discussions he had with his siblings about their life choices, they all seem like very interesting and thoughtful people.

    I listened to The Commitment on audio, narrated by Paul Michael Garcia. He had a nice way of emphasizing the dry, sarcastic humor that occasionally comes through.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    I LOVED "The Kid" - this book, not so much

    I adore Dan Savage, but if I wanted a sermon i'd go to church. This book is just too damned preachy for me. I LOVED his memoir "the kid" and could not put it down. This book, I put down and can't seem to pick back up. There's a good story woven into all of Dan's preaching and the story seems totally cool. I just can't get to it with all of the tantrums.

    Sorry Dan - I LOVE the podcast. I LOVED the other books. This one - not so much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1