Customer Reviews for

Committed: A Skeptic Makes Peace with Marriage

Average Rating 3.5
( 503 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Great balance of personal narrative and factual research

I enjoyed "Eat, Pray, Love" but wasn't sure what to expect from Liz Gilbert's new book. This book is very different and that is a good thing. Both are memoirs of an extraordinary year in the life of the author, but the author is much more mature during this year of her ...
I enjoyed "Eat, Pray, Love" but wasn't sure what to expect from Liz Gilbert's new book. This book is very different and that is a good thing. Both are memoirs of an extraordinary year in the life of the author, but the author is much more mature during this year of her life. It is obvious the year of "Eat, Pray, Love" worked.

I was fascinated by the facts about marriage presented in "Committed." Liz Gilbert balances historical and anthropological research with stories of her own emotional and physical journey.

I will buy this book for my young adult daughters, who are evaluating their beliefs about relationships and romance. My marriage to their father ended in divorce. I'm in a much better marriage now. I suspect they are afraid of choosing wrong the first time. This book may help them put their concerns into perspective and certainly give them something to think about.

posted by BlackberryUser on January 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Hmmm

I absolutely LOVED Eat Pray Love. The historical content in Committed was great, and it was very well written, but it's definitely not as crowd- pleasing as Eat Pray Love as far as subject matter goes. It's more about marriage and its role throughout history/ in differe...
I absolutely LOVED Eat Pray Love. The historical content in Committed was great, and it was very well written, but it's definitely not as crowd- pleasing as Eat Pray Love as far as subject matter goes. It's more about marriage and its role throughout history/ in different societies than it is about Liz and Felipe (which contrasts Eat Pray Love). Don't buy this book just because you liked Eat Pray Love... I did, and I wish I hadn't.

posted by 3043078 on February 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 504 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    Great balance of personal narrative and factual research

    I enjoyed "Eat, Pray, Love" but wasn't sure what to expect from Liz Gilbert's new book. This book is very different and that is a good thing. Both are memoirs of an extraordinary year in the life of the author, but the author is much more mature during this year of her life. It is obvious the year of "Eat, Pray, Love" worked.

    I was fascinated by the facts about marriage presented in "Committed." Liz Gilbert balances historical and anthropological research with stories of her own emotional and physical journey.

    I will buy this book for my young adult daughters, who are evaluating their beliefs about relationships and romance. My marriage to their father ended in divorce. I'm in a much better marriage now. I suspect they are afraid of choosing wrong the first time. This book may help them put their concerns into perspective and certainly give them something to think about.

    27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Hmmm

    I absolutely LOVED Eat Pray Love. The historical content in Committed was great, and it was very well written, but it's definitely not as crowd- pleasing as Eat Pray Love as far as subject matter goes. It's more about marriage and its role throughout history/ in different societies than it is about Liz and Felipe (which contrasts Eat Pray Love). Don't buy this book just because you liked Eat Pray Love... I did, and I wish I hadn't.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A helpful and entertaining look at commitment...

    Like many who pick up this book, I was motivated by my enjoyment of Eat Pray Love to read this almost as a sequel to find out where a journey like that takes someone. A skeptic myself and gay besides, I wasn't sure if this book would have much to offer me, but indeed it does. Although marriage is the focal point in this book, through its necessity to allow Elizabeth Gilbert and her now husband to live in the US together, there is a lot in this about relationships in general, unabashedly asking and seeking to answer as best as possible, a skeptic's questions about love, fidelity, and of course commitment.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    It's like having a conversation with your best girlfriend

    I disagree with the negative comments about Committed. If you loved Eat Pray Love and read it a millions times over again, then you loved it because you could relate to the person writing it. It was as if Elizabeth Gilbert grew up with you, you spoke with her daily (or weekly as you grew up) and she was on your speed dial to discuss anything and everything when you needed to talk, laugh, cry.

    I ordered the ebook last night and read it on my new nook next to my new husband. I laughed outloud and felt enlightened and overjoyed that Elizabeth Gilbert was back in my living room. It doesn't matter if you're married or in a relationship or single. The book is vintage Elizabeth Gilbert and it's Elizabeth Gilbert that we love.

    The messages that she shares in the book can be applied to anyone who is open enough to understand that life happens in a million different ways and we need to keep an open mind and heart so that we can apply the beautiful lessons we learn throughout the journey (good, bad and ugly).

    Thanks for another great read!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    A must read for all skeptics of marriage or long term love.

    I was going through a very tough break up when I saw the movie made about the book, Eat, Pray, Love. It was everything I needed. It helped me learn how to heal and focus on myself. When I saw this book was the second part of Eat, Pray, Love I knew I had to read it. Being a child of divorced parents and recently being dumped by the love of my life, I knew anything with "a skeptic makes peace with marriage" in the title, was made for me. The book discusses the authors own personal journey with accepting marriage, as well as explaining the meaning of marriage around the world and the view of it years ago. I would reccomend this book to anyone who is losing hope and faith when it comes to love and/or marriage lasting a lifetime.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Uhh..is it over yet?!

    Oh my goodness! I could not wait for this book to be over..which is why i didnt! I stopped half way through. I liked the first book and thought it was a great book to give as a gift. I cant say the same about this one. NO GOOD at all! So boring. Dont waste your money on this one. If you dont believe me..please just check it out at the library..you will thank me later lol.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    An Unfortunate Follow-up to Love

    After I read 'Eat, Pray, Love' by Elizabeth Gilbert, I was thrilled to see she had released another book. What a disappointment 'Committed' was. Although it was written in a similar fashion to her first book, this one lacked the connection to the reader. There were some interesting, historic, and fascinating threads within the book, but it lacked the connection between the reader and the author that makes a book compelling.

    I got tired of listening to Ms. Gilbert's babbling on and on about her quest to marriage. If she had taken us with her on her wanderings through Vietnam, Laos, and Bahli it would have been more interesting. The places in the book where she did tell little stories about the people she met were very interesting. How she was treated as an American woman was fascinating. It was the personal questions and revelations on why or why not she should be getting married that slowed the story down. The premise of the book was good, the overall effect was weak.

    Upon finishing the story, my first thought was "Whew, thankfully I'm out of this story." This book lacked the fire, drive, and passion of her previous work. A disappointment.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    Fascinating look at marriage, great read

    Having read Eat, Pray, Love three times (!) some might consider me an Elizabeth Gilbert junkie. I just love this woman's voice. I love the way she peels back her shell and lets us listen in to her monkey mind/internal dialogue -- neurosis and all. I love that I now feel like I know Felipe/Jose and that I've been given a seat of honor at family events. I'm sure there will be plenty of critics for this book but I won't be one of them. This was a totally enjoyable read. I would suggest that anyone considering marriage sit down and read this book -- the messages about the sound reasons one should and should not get married will certainly substitute for all those who haven't a clue what marriage is really about.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable

    My mom suggested I read this. I never read Eat, Prey, Love and I didn't expect much out of Committed. I was pleasantly surprised though. I learned a lot and I thought Elizabeth Gilbert's writing was very good. I have always wondered what the real deal behind marriage was and why it is such an obsessed upon thing. Now I have a much clearer idea. This is not a novel, more an essay. I recommend it to any lady who is thinking about getting married in the future.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    Too much research

    I think the story would have been a lot better if she would of engaged us with her actually story and not about ancient research. Eat, Pray, Love was very engaging and I really thought that this book was going to be the same. I found myself skipping over the history lessons on marriage and wanting to read about her story of what went on during her trails and tribulations.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Why get married?

    The author tells her true life story of being forced to marry her foreign lover or never see him again. He's been banned from the US so she must either live abroad with him or marry him. During the paperwork to complete his FBI check to decide if she can marry him or not, she tells us her soul searching to decide if this is what she is willing to commit to. She researches various books on marriage and comments on how they impact her decision. Maybe she's too analytical for others. Love is supposed to just happen and not be dissected but if you finish the story, I think you'll appreciate marriage anew.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Persuaded to stay un-Committed

    I can't say I liked this book more than Eat, Pray, Love, but I did learn a lot from it. I found the origins of our modern day marriages to be interesting, and in the end, I found myself to be quite Greek in my thinking. As a nonconformist, I found validity for my desire to stay unmarried, even though Gilbert's experience with the same information was quite different. I think any couple contemplating marriage could benefit from reading and discussing this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    a disappointment for anyone who loved eat, pray, love

    I was so excited for this book to come out, but honestly it was a struggle just to finish it. I was very disappointed. I loved Eat, Pray, Love and expected this book to be more like a sequel, full of Gilbert's wit and charm. However, it was more idle ranting and philosophizing. Boring and disappointing. The only thing I can say for it is that it does get better if you keep reading. The first few chapters are much worse than the last few. :-/

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    Gilbert's exercise in self-indulgence

    Prepare to be thoroughly disappointed! This book reads like an entirely boring, terrifically self-absorbed, examination of the institution of marriage. Has none of the freshness, charm, and sincerity of Eat, Pray, Love. I pre-ordered this book with much anticipation and intended to pass it on to my sister in Seattle, but I'm not going to now.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    LOVE IT!!

    A FRIEND MENTIONED THIS BOOK IN A CONVERSATION, W/O READING EPL, I STARTED READING COMMITTED AND I JUST LOVE IT, I COULDN'T SET IT ASIDE.
    LOVE STORIES ARE MY FAVORITE AND THIS ONE HAD THAT.. AND MORE......SOMETHING SO REAL.....I ENJOYED IT ALL THE WAY.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    Nothing like her first book Eat, Pray, Love.

    I had really high hopes for this book, but was disappointed. I thought it was going to be written similar to the prequel to this book Eat, Pray, Love, but it is not written similarly at all. This book mainly presents her research on matrimony. I would have liked to see the book be more about her and her fiance and their travels waiting for his fiance visa.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Liz's writing is consistant

    After reading Eat, Pray, Love I could not wait to dig into Liz's next season of life. While her writing is consistant, the facts she pulled together were not. Most facts were opinion based rather factual which was a huge disappointment and surprise. Liz should stick to writing of her travels and how they impact her rather than trying to create a thesis on relationships.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Interesting, but not compelling

    Of course I couldn't wait to read this after finishing "Eat, Pray, Love," but to be honest, I'm a bit disappointed. Elizabeth tells us what she and Felipe are doing and the quirky trials they go through to be together, but not married. Then after the realization that a commitment is necessary she dives head first into marriage research. There are some interesting nuggets in this quite lengthy section of the book, but it is a bit slow and at times preachy. If you are expecting a romantic tale of Elizabeth and Felipe living happily ever after, this is not it, but if you want to learn how one woman comes to terms with marriage, after swearing it off completely, then you will enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    Disappointed

    I loved Eat Pray Love and was so excited when I heard that Elizabeth Gilbert was coming out with a sequel that I reserved the hard cover book in advance. I was so disappointed I can't tell you. I read and read and was wondering when it would get better. No offense EG to you as you are a great storyteller- but who cares - this book is so self-indulgent...I really really didnt care about her tale of woe of how long her husband had to wait to get into the country. I would not read this if you are expecting another EPL...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Don't ruin EPL by reading this.

    I loved Gilbert's first book EPL, this one reads more like Anthropology 101. Only occasionally does her witty, perceptive voice sneak through the dialogue of facts. We chose it for our book group, and half of the people had to put it down in the middle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 504 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26