Customer Reviews for

Committed: A Love Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 503 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Great balance of personal narrative and factual research

I enjoyed "Eat, Pray, Love" but wasn't sure what to expect from Liz Gilbert's new book. This book is very different and that is a good thing. Both are memoirs of an extraordinary year in the life of the author, but the author is much more mature during this year of her ...
I enjoyed "Eat, Pray, Love" but wasn't sure what to expect from Liz Gilbert's new book. This book is very different and that is a good thing. Both are memoirs of an extraordinary year in the life of the author, but the author is much more mature during this year of her life. It is obvious the year of "Eat, Pray, Love" worked.

I was fascinated by the facts about marriage presented in "Committed." Liz Gilbert balances historical and anthropological research with stories of her own emotional and physical journey.

I will buy this book for my young adult daughters, who are evaluating their beliefs about relationships and romance. My marriage to their father ended in divorce. I'm in a much better marriage now. I suspect they are afraid of choosing wrong the first time. This book may help them put their concerns into perspective and certainly give them something to think about.

posted by BlackberryUser on January 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Hmmm

I absolutely LOVED Eat Pray Love. The historical content in Committed was great, and it was very well written, but it's definitely not as crowd- pleasing as Eat Pray Love as far as subject matter goes. It's more about marriage and its role throughout history/ in differe...
I absolutely LOVED Eat Pray Love. The historical content in Committed was great, and it was very well written, but it's definitely not as crowd- pleasing as Eat Pray Love as far as subject matter goes. It's more about marriage and its role throughout history/ in different societies than it is about Liz and Felipe (which contrasts Eat Pray Love). Don't buy this book just because you liked Eat Pray Love... I did, and I wish I hadn't.

posted by 3043078 on February 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Hmmm

    I absolutely LOVED Eat Pray Love. The historical content in Committed was great, and it was very well written, but it's definitely not as crowd- pleasing as Eat Pray Love as far as subject matter goes. It's more about marriage and its role throughout history/ in different societies than it is about Liz and Felipe (which contrasts Eat Pray Love). Don't buy this book just because you liked Eat Pray Love... I did, and I wish I hadn't.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    An Unfortunate Follow-up to Love

    After I read 'Eat, Pray, Love' by Elizabeth Gilbert, I was thrilled to see she had released another book. What a disappointment 'Committed' was. Although it was written in a similar fashion to her first book, this one lacked the connection to the reader. There were some interesting, historic, and fascinating threads within the book, but it lacked the connection between the reader and the author that makes a book compelling.

    I got tired of listening to Ms. Gilbert's babbling on and on about her quest to marriage. If she had taken us with her on her wanderings through Vietnam, Laos, and Bahli it would have been more interesting. The places in the book where she did tell little stories about the people she met were very interesting. How she was treated as an American woman was fascinating. It was the personal questions and revelations on why or why not she should be getting married that slowed the story down. The premise of the book was good, the overall effect was weak.

    Upon finishing the story, my first thought was "Whew, thankfully I'm out of this story." This book lacked the fire, drive, and passion of her previous work. A disappointment.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    Gilbert's exercise in self-indulgence

    Prepare to be thoroughly disappointed! This book reads like an entirely boring, terrifically self-absorbed, examination of the institution of marriage. Has none of the freshness, charm, and sincerity of Eat, Pray, Love. I pre-ordered this book with much anticipation and intended to pass it on to my sister in Seattle, but I'm not going to now.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    Disappointed

    I loved Eat Pray Love and was so excited when I heard that Elizabeth Gilbert was coming out with a sequel that I reserved the hard cover book in advance. I was so disappointed I can't tell you. I read and read and was wondering when it would get better. No offense EG to you as you are a great storyteller- but who cares - this book is so self-indulgent...I really really didnt care about her tale of woe of how long her husband had to wait to get into the country. I would not read this if you are expecting another EPL...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Committed: Gilbert's Personal Reflection (with a few gathered statistics) on the Significance of Marriage

    Elizabeth Gilbert shares her emotional and psychological journey as she persuades herself to believe in marriage once more. She researches and studies the marriage customs of various cultures, ranging from the first Christians to several native Asian circles. Her opinions are blatant throughout the book, with a singular apathy towards Christianity’s views on marriage. With crafty delicacy, this book could be divided into three parts: research/studies, Gilbert’s life facts, and Gilbert’s interpretation of her travels and research findings.

    A self-proclaimed non-traditionalist, Gilbert considers marriage a traditionalist move. Having suffered her way out of her first marriage, she uses that as her reference point for trying to defend her stance of not needing marriage in order to be happily committed to someone. Throughout the book, Gilbert’s unsettled emotional questions are portrayed numerous times. An unexpected turn arises when the US Department of Homeland Security becomes involved, at which point Gilbert is led to place her fears, views, and perceptions into perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Slow read

    I loved Eat Pray Love but this one is just not the same. I have tried several times to read it but it is so slow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    LOVED IT!!

    A FRIEND MENTION THIS BOOK IN A CONVERSATION....SO I DECIDED TO READ IT; I ENJOYED THE BOOK FROM THE BEGINNING TO THE END. LOVE STORIES ARE MY FAVORITE AND THIS BOOK HAD THAT AND MORE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    nice

    cfb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    Eh

    Not nearly as captivating as Eat Pray Love.....but, thats just me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Not what I expected

    I enjoyed Eat Pray Love so much that I sat down to read this as soon as it arrived. Dull, dull, dull. There was the occasional glimpse of the author's relationship, but the mainstay of the book was slogging through an analysis of the marital institution. She made it clear that she wrote the book for 27 women in her life and she named them... and then made it clear through her book that she felt no obligation to entertain anyone with her writing. And she doesn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5