Customer Reviews for

Committed: A Love Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 503 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Great balance of personal narrative and factual research

I enjoyed "Eat, Pray, Love" but wasn't sure what to expect from Liz Gilbert's new book. This book is very different and that is a good thing. Both are memoirs of an extraordinary year in the life of the author, but the author is much more mature during this year of her ...
I enjoyed "Eat, Pray, Love" but wasn't sure what to expect from Liz Gilbert's new book. This book is very different and that is a good thing. Both are memoirs of an extraordinary year in the life of the author, but the author is much more mature during this year of her life. It is obvious the year of "Eat, Pray, Love" worked.

I was fascinated by the facts about marriage presented in "Committed." Liz Gilbert balances historical and anthropological research with stories of her own emotional and physical journey.

I will buy this book for my young adult daughters, who are evaluating their beliefs about relationships and romance. My marriage to their father ended in divorce. I'm in a much better marriage now. I suspect they are afraid of choosing wrong the first time. This book may help them put their concerns into perspective and certainly give them something to think about.

posted by BlackberryUser on January 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Hmmm

I absolutely LOVED Eat Pray Love. The historical content in Committed was great, and it was very well written, but it's definitely not as crowd- pleasing as Eat Pray Love as far as subject matter goes. It's more about marriage and its role throughout history/ in differe...
I absolutely LOVED Eat Pray Love. The historical content in Committed was great, and it was very well written, but it's definitely not as crowd- pleasing as Eat Pray Love as far as subject matter goes. It's more about marriage and its role throughout history/ in different societies than it is about Liz and Felipe (which contrasts Eat Pray Love). Don't buy this book just because you liked Eat Pray Love... I did, and I wish I hadn't.

posted by 3043078 on February 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    Too much research

    I think the story would have been a lot better if she would of engaged us with her actually story and not about ancient research. Eat, Pray, Love was very engaging and I really thought that this book was going to be the same. I found myself skipping over the history lessons on marriage and wanting to read about her story of what went on during her trails and tribulations.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Liz's writing is consistant

    After reading Eat, Pray, Love I could not wait to dig into Liz's next season of life. While her writing is consistant, the facts she pulled together were not. Most facts were opinion based rather factual which was a huge disappointment and surprise. Liz should stick to writing of her travels and how they impact her rather than trying to create a thesis on relationships.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Interesting, but not compelling

    Of course I couldn't wait to read this after finishing "Eat, Pray, Love," but to be honest, I'm a bit disappointed. Elizabeth tells us what she and Felipe are doing and the quirky trials they go through to be together, but not married. Then after the realization that a commitment is necessary she dives head first into marriage research. There are some interesting nuggets in this quite lengthy section of the book, but it is a bit slow and at times preachy. If you are expecting a romantic tale of Elizabeth and Felipe living happily ever after, this is not it, but if you want to learn how one woman comes to terms with marriage, after swearing it off completely, then you will enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lovely, but not quite intriguing

    While I absolutely loved Eat, Pray, Love, I was a little less enthusiastic about Committed. It was a enjoying read, however it did not keep me intrigued. I thoroughly enjoy the way Elizabeth Gilbert writes and thought many of the points she writes about in Committed resonate well with women in their 20s and 30s. Overall this was a good book dealing with the institution of marriage and what it means to society.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Very interesting read

    This book starts off very compelling and interesting but slowly turns to rambling. However, through it all it seems extremely personal and well written and provides insight on the complicated history of marriage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Points to ponder!

    This book I can relate to now that I have gotten wiser with age! I'm sure I read it in my 20's I would think none of it applied to me. Live and learn. I'm in a much healthier marriage this time and now I can reflect on past mistakes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    ((yawn))

    This book goes on and on and on about statistics and facts(?)...not much storyline except for the end which is great because I can relate to her situation however not a great read. Boring and drowned out. Buy it if your a fan, otherwise skip it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    A must read for the divorcee

    I read Eat Love Pray several times and loved it. Saw the movie and was disappointed...UNTIL...I went through the most horriffic and unexpected divorce. Then the movie seemed to be on TV every day asking me to watch it again from a different perspective and it made so much more sense to me.
    This particular book is about two people who have both been in my situation and are going to re-marry. The first part of this book made me weep so hard I had to put down the book because the analogy of why MY marriage broke up is right there. Then comes another, and yep another. But I pushed through because it was really important that I read this book. Just like the movie, had I not gone through something similar I don't think the book would have meant to me as much as it did.
    Good read! Congrats to Elizabeth & Felipe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Where's Liz From Italy, India, and Indonesia?

    Eat, Pray, Love was such a good book. Could an equally good sequel be written? While I could tell this was Liz speaking, it wasn't the same Liz from Eat, Pray, Love. Something was missing. Somehow, I believe Lonely found her again. I can not believe this Liz has made peace with marriage. This Liz reminds me of the Liz in the rebound relationship with David. I absolutely hated the idea of searching for marital understanding and resignation amongst foreign cultures. It's simply not realistic. I have a feeling there is much more below the surface of this Liz than what was revealed in this book. Disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    i didn't read this yet...

    but i just wanted to add...i read 'Eat Pray Love' also and loved it. I think it may have changed my life. But I wasn't looking for a sequel. I was perfectly happy w/ the way it was. So when I saw this book, I checked it out out of curiosity. Based on the synopsis, in no way did I understand it to be solely a sequel of Elizabeth and Felipe's relationship, but just an evaluation of Elizabeth's ideas of marriage.

    so i just don't understand people's expectations of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a little disappointing after Eat, Pray, Love...

    I found Gilbert's study of marriage throughout history and across cultures to be fascinating. Having said that, I couldn't relate to her skeptical view of marriage as an opressive, life-sucking, energy draining institution for women. She seems to be of the opinion that marriages where the husband and wife are equal partners and where the husband contributes to child-rearing are the exceptions that prove the rule. As the title indicates, she does make peace with the institution of marriage, but I found her justification to be utterly rediculous. Though humorous and interesting, this was a disappointing read after Eat, Pray, Love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Disappointed

    I was disappointed. Since I really loved "Eat Pray Love" I thought this would be just as good. Not even close. What I liked: the sections that were similar to EPL: her observations and interactions with people while traveling through different foreign countries and her analysis of her own relationship with Felipe. What I didn't like: she goes off on tangents about how much she hates the social conservatives in America and tries to build a case for gay marriage rights. There is also too much 1960ish feminism about how marriage is hurtful to women but not to men. I don't buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    Difficult reading

    Not a relaxing read. Great insights into marriage, how it actually originated with good advice should your marriage/relationship be at a cross-road. This should be on the Self-help shelves rahter than non-fiction.
    If you loved Eat, Pray, Love, you may not like this one. I was totally hooked once I started reading EPL and could not put it down but not with this one. Not sure why it is called a follow-up on EPL as this is more of a "documentary" on why marriage fails/works - not a love story.

    I am actually glad I waited until they had 40% off offers as I did not want to pay $26 for the hard cover version that has only been available until now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    She tried to convince herself, but I'm not sure she ever did...

    In the interest of full disclosure, I have to admit that I am a married woman who thoroughly enjoyed Eat, Pray, Love. While this book was just as well written as EPL, I did not enjoy it and truthfully felt let down after reading it. Committed is basically the journey that Elizabeth Gilbert takes through feminist writings, cultural history and western thought to convince herself that she should get married even though she doesn't really want to. The result is a really strong argument against marriage. Each chapter lays out the reasons why marriage is bad for women, good for those in power and has always been oppressive. At the end of each argument, she backpedals a little bit to soften the blow and will throw in antidotes about her fiance' and how maybe it will be ok since she does in fact love him. At the end of the book, she gets married, albeit the reader is never convinced that she really wants to. I don't know if this is supposed to be a biography, social study, feminist argument or random thoughts. It reads easily enough, but is almost warrants a rebuttal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    knowingly a different book

    The author makes it clear - and it is, a different book than the first. She takes a sort of researched/personal look at marriage; it's not the captivating, wish I could do that book like the Eat, Pray, Love. Still an enjoyable light read, and recommend it to my girlfriends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good for what it is

    As far as these kinds of books go it was plaessant and realistic most times.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6