Customer Reviews for

Committed: A Love Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 503 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Great balance of personal narrative and factual research

I enjoyed "Eat, Pray, Love" but wasn't sure what to expect from Liz Gilbert's new book. This book is very different and that is a good thing. Both are memoirs of an extraordinary year in the life of the author, but the author is much more mature during this year of her ...
I enjoyed "Eat, Pray, Love" but wasn't sure what to expect from Liz Gilbert's new book. This book is very different and that is a good thing. Both are memoirs of an extraordinary year in the life of the author, but the author is much more mature during this year of her life. It is obvious the year of "Eat, Pray, Love" worked.

I was fascinated by the facts about marriage presented in "Committed." Liz Gilbert balances historical and anthropological research with stories of her own emotional and physical journey.

I will buy this book for my young adult daughters, who are evaluating their beliefs about relationships and romance. My marriage to their father ended in divorce. I'm in a much better marriage now. I suspect they are afraid of choosing wrong the first time. This book may help them put their concerns into perspective and certainly give them something to think about.

posted by BlackberryUser on January 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Hmmm

I absolutely LOVED Eat Pray Love. The historical content in Committed was great, and it was very well written, but it's definitely not as crowd- pleasing as Eat Pray Love as far as subject matter goes. It's more about marriage and its role throughout history/ in differe...
I absolutely LOVED Eat Pray Love. The historical content in Committed was great, and it was very well written, but it's definitely not as crowd- pleasing as Eat Pray Love as far as subject matter goes. It's more about marriage and its role throughout history/ in different societies than it is about Liz and Felipe (which contrasts Eat Pray Love). Don't buy this book just because you liked Eat Pray Love... I did, and I wish I hadn't.

posted by 3043078 on February 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 124 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    good book

    This was the first book i read from Elizabeth Gilbert and it was money well spent. The ending was a little slow but it did have some good points. I would recommend this book for someone who has at least been divorced. I dont think one can understand teh emotions she goes thru and the doubt one feels in themselves or marriage after they have been divorced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    I am a fan!

    Elizabeth Gilbert captured me with Eat, Love, Pray and she has done it again with Committed. Her prose and perceptions are second to none. Very few authors can make me laugh aloud as she does! Keep writing girl!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    True Love...Waits... (haha - you'd get it if you read the book)

    This book is a really honest look at how complicated and yet how simple the journey of a relationship can be. Even though the author's situation is probably a bit more complex than the rest of us, her feelings and thoughts, her fears and concerns, are universal. I recommend this book for anyone heading into a marriage, and especially if you're skeptical about it. It's a heartfelt discovery of what's important.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Better than Eat, Pray, and Love

    I really did not get into her first book but this book was very good. I liked the research she did on marriage and how she intertwined the concepts into her real life story with Felipe. I am glad I did the pre-order and read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Book

    I looked forward to this book for sometime after reading Eat Pray Love, that book came at a time in my life when it was much needed. When I first started reading Committed I wasn't sure if I was going to like it as much as I did Eat Pray Love but I found the more I read the more I loved this book for what it was. While it wasn't the transformation story that Eat Pray Love was, it was still a journy of the authors to get where she needed to by learning as much as she could about marriage. I thought there was a nice balance of the research she did along with her personal stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    Perfect Timing

    I recently got engaged and this book was perfect for me. It takes a not so traditional look at marriage, through the eyes of a not so traditional women. Any women who has spent any amount of time getting to know herself, and liking what she sees will love this book. It is not a romantic spin, rather a very realistic view of the very real feelings many women have about marriage.

    Thank you Liz for writing such a timely book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great...now move on.

    Since I wrote a review for Eat, Pray, Love, I thought it only fair to review Committed. Until now, I didn't realize the controversy over EPL or Gilbert. It appears that many readers either love or hate the book, & consequently the author...totally unfair to her, but that seems to be the case. I must admit I am one of the few who has mixed feelings about the subject matter of the two books. Since this review is about Committed, I will limit my comments to it. First, & perhaps foremost, Gilbert is a very gifted writer. And I find her baring her soul, and perhaps that of her loved ones, courageous, if nothing else. As always, I enjoyed the travelogue part of this book, even though Southeast Asia is not high on my list of places to visit. I also found some of her suggestions for managing relationships, including marriage informative, especially since through research, she is quoting so-called experts on the subject. I do hope that her next book, which I hear she is working on, will be about something other than the continuation of her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 124 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7