BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Committed: A Love Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 506 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Great balance of personal narrative and factual research

I enjoyed "Eat, Pray, Love" but wasn't sure what to expect from Liz Gilbert's new book. This book is very different and that is a good thing. Both are memoirs of an extraordinary year in the life of the author, but the author is much more mature during this year of her ...
I enjoyed "Eat, Pray, Love" but wasn't sure what to expect from Liz Gilbert's new book. This book is very different and that is a good thing. Both are memoirs of an extraordinary year in the life of the author, but the author is much more mature during this year of her life. It is obvious the year of "Eat, Pray, Love" worked.

I was fascinated by the facts about marriage presented in "Committed." Liz Gilbert balances historical and anthropological research with stories of her own emotional and physical journey.

I will buy this book for my young adult daughters, who are evaluating their beliefs about relationships and romance. My marriage to their father ended in divorce. I'm in a much better marriage now. I suspect they are afraid of choosing wrong the first time. This book may help them put their concerns into perspective and certainly give them something to think about.

posted by BlackberryUser on January 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Hmmm

I absolutely LOVED Eat Pray Love. The historical content in Committed was great, and it was very well written, but it's definitely not as crowd- pleasing as Eat Pray Love as far as subject matter goes. It's more about marriage and its role throughout history/ in differe...
I absolutely LOVED Eat Pray Love. The historical content in Committed was great, and it was very well written, but it's definitely not as crowd- pleasing as Eat Pray Love as far as subject matter goes. It's more about marriage and its role throughout history/ in different societies than it is about Liz and Felipe (which contrasts Eat Pray Love). Don't buy this book just because you liked Eat Pray Love... I did, and I wish I hadn't.

posted by 3043078 on February 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 135 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting Read

    This is one of those books that make you question what you are willing to do for true love. Read it with an opened mind though. Most people write reviews because the book clashed with their own life, this book gave me another outlook on my own.

    On another note, for anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain, I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. I was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong.

    Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it. It's on sale here on BN.com.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    More than I expected

    The historical persective on marriage was a great surprise in reading this book. I came late to the party of eat pray love readers and read it then Committed when I saw Committed was coming out and wanted to read it. Found the history so informative and learned so much. I think reading EPL before this was the best way to read Committed so if you haven't or been awhile would read it first. It was great to follow what happened next to the characters. I love her writing as it is like catching up with an old friend and telling stories over wine or tea. I was just as absorbed as I was with EPL but in a different way because the learning or education was different. As with many books I read I think i read them in a real timely place in my own life and her books certainly have been that for me. Committed had some touching and wrenching moments that kept me wanting to know more and see how it turned out even though I knew or thought I knew that it turns out in the end but Elizabeth's books are not about the ending I have found, they are about the journeys in the most enjoyable way of discovering it for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    This was a great read. This book was about Elizabeth's journey to investigate marriage's interpersonal relationship. She had been through a bad marriage (which we all read about in Eat, Pray, Love) and now she was faced with marrying the one man she loved or possibly losing him. Elizabeth had vowed to never marry again so she went overseas to question others about their views and philosophy on marriages. She delves into the depth of why marriages exist like no other author I have read. She forced me and my husband to evaluate our views on what makes our marriage different. This book is a must read for all who are married, who plan to be married, and one day dream of being married.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Interesting & Fun to Listen To

    I purchased the Audio Book because it was read by Elizabeth Gilbert, the author, and because I loved her other books. I think it was more interesting hearing it read in her voice it made me connect to her experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    Very enjoyable.

    I thoroughly enjoyed Elizabeth Gilbert's Committed. I thought it was a great follow-up to the Eat, Love, Pray book. I loved the Eat, Love, Pray book and bought it for and recommended to many of my friends. Elizabeth Gilbert has such unique writing style. Committed is great to read for anyone at any stage of a relationship. When I read this book and Eat, Pray, Love, there were so many times I felt she took what I was thinking and put it into words in a way I never could have. I loved the research on marriage. Who knew? Elizabeth is so honest and open it feels like you are spending time with your girlfriend. I highly recommend this book. What a great author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    A must-read for anyone contemplating marriage, divorce or "wondering what happened"

    I enjoyed the book even more than EPL, which is probably one of the more pleasurable books I've read. But then, "Committed" is my kind of book, defining the why and making the connection with what's happened in my life.
    Most of us go into marriage so blindly, including myself, that this might make marriage more successful if we understood our motives before we leaped into it. I know it will make me consider many things before I am "committed" again. Most of us are willing to lead unconscious lives. Gilbert isn't and neither am I. BTW, "Committed" is a brilliant name describing an institution that you have to be slightly insane to contemplate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    Wonderfully Honest and Candid!

    I love Elizabeth Gilbert! She has such great wit and charm and does some thoroughly exhausting research on the act of marriage. I actually read this book before her Bestseller "Eat Pray Love" so I am not one iota disappointed as I had zero expectations and no idea what to expect. As a fairly newly married woman (it will be 3 years in May) she makes great arguments and points on marriage (even if they are just to herself) that she makes me wonder what I am doing being married, and with children no less! Anyway, grab a cup of joe, curl into a corner and enjoy the ride. Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A thoughtful, condensed overview of marriage in a very readable form.

    Usually you have to read thick, complex history books to learn about a subject. Elizabeth Gilbert produced a very readable, informative, and sometimes funny look at the institution of marriage. Her personal feelings and experiences with marriage add much to her book "Committed".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Eat, Pray, Love

    This sequel could stand on its own. Interesting, but not as engaging to the reader. I was struck at how it not only addressed the question, "why we marry", but perhaps more importantly, "why do we stay in a marriage?". A book I did not want to put down, but needed to at times to observe the wealth and beauty of the language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    My new best friend...

    I absolutely love this book (as I loved Eat, Pray, Love). I am not quite finished with it but as a fellow skeptic of marriage...possible even more so than Gilbert...it has definitely opened my eyes. Whether you are single, married, or in between and confused (or don't care at all for that matter) this book is funny, informative, and a true joy to read. This is definitely one that I am recommending to my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 135 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7