Customer Reviews for

A Common Life: The Wedding Story (Mitford Series #6)

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Thoroughly Enjoyed It

I loved this book--it had all those fun details that were glossed over earlier in the series. It was hilarious and interesting. However, going back in time after the characters in the series had developed so much was really confusing. This book would have been even b...
I loved this book--it had all those fun details that were glossed over earlier in the series. It was hilarious and interesting. However, going back in time after the characters in the series had developed so much was really confusing. This book would have been even better if Karon had written it in between books two and three. Still, a throughly enjoyable read.

posted by Anonymous on May 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Back in Time

At first I was confused about what I was reading and had to look at the cover of the book to check which number in the series that I was reading!!! I felt like I contributed to Ms. Karon's retirement fund, and I could use the money more than she! I'll continue with th...
At first I was confused about what I was reading and had to look at the cover of the book to check which number in the series that I was reading!!! I felt like I contributed to Ms. Karon's retirement fund, and I could use the money more than she! I'll continue with the 7th book in the series and hope that this doesn't happen again.

posted by Anonymous on September 12, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2004

    Back in Time

    At first I was confused about what I was reading and had to look at the cover of the book to check which number in the series that I was reading!!! I felt like I contributed to Ms. Karon's retirement fund, and I could use the money more than she! I'll continue with the 7th book in the series and hope that this doesn't happen again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    Thoroughly Enjoyed It

    I loved this book--it had all those fun details that were glossed over earlier in the series. It was hilarious and interesting. However, going back in time after the characters in the series had developed so much was really confusing. This book would have been even better if Karon had written it in between books two and three. Still, a throughly enjoyable read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    disappointing

    I also looked to see what number this book was. Why didn't she just skip writing this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    CONFUSED

    I too was very confused with this book & I too checked the number of the book thought for sure I had the wrong book. Was not at all happy with it, found it boring and was glad after I skimmed through it. Nothing like the others in the series. It was as if she needed #6 and had nothing to write & just through that old stuff together....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    The Fleet Is In!

    I have read all 32 reviews and comments. Everyone seemed pretty subdued in their criticism, so it makes me look like 'The Mad Hatter' in the group, but I say 'off with her head!' If we are going back in time - let's go back in price. I paid $13.00 (American!) for half the number of pages and one tenth of the quality. Don't get me wrong. I love this precious series. These characters are fascinating and I feel compelled to follow them. I have read and enjoyed every book, but 'A Common Life' was a classic rip off of the highest magnitude (well, of course, there was the whole Enron thing,and the whole crematorium thing, but let's move one!). Plus, with Sadie and Mr. Greer showing up again, it felt like 'Night of The Living Dead'! After an operation, my Dad once commented that his doctor must have needed to make a payment on his boat. Well, I think I see the fleet coming in - led by The USS Karon!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2001

    Not up to Mitford par

    I have waited with great anticipation for the next Miford book - was surprised to learn we were going to go backward instead of forward - but hey I was game. Was so disappointed with Karon's latest book about Mitford. Yes, it had all the appropriate things, Dooley, Miss Sadie and all the hoopla but where was the story. Ms. Karon is a talented writer and the preceeding Mitford books were a joy in my life. Hopefully, she will get that edge back and go forward with some REAL stories of our beloved Mitford characters. Father Tim is not so far over the hill that lots of stories are yet to be told.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2001

    A Disappointment

    Having enjoyed the others so much, I was pleased to get the long awaited 'next' book. Then I was totally confused as I read about the wedding that had already taken place. It is a well written book, but the story line is a real disappointment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2001

    HUGE Disappointment

    I, like other Jan Karon fans, anxiously awaited the arrival of this book. I now actually resent having spent money on it, and the hour it took to read. The book lacked substance and any character development. Unlike her other books which bring many emotions out as I read them, this one left me feeling let down and actually angry. She's let her loyal readers down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2001

    THIS IS WHAT I WAITED FOR?!

    I can't believe this is what I waited for for nearly two years and then finished it in two days. Definitely not up to par with the other Mitford books which I loved. This should have been the third book so it would have been in sequential order and at least made sense. Better yet, Jan Karon could just have skipped writing it all together and saved us all some money. What was the point anyway? I don't need to read a whole book about the wedding! I want to know what happens next in the story line. Come on Jan, please get back on track and I don't mean with those next two books about Father Tim's thoughts and hymns etc. and those goofy Mitford snowmen either ( where they come in I don't know- never heard of them before!) Please- continue the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2001

    Incredible Rip Off

    I thought that I was purchasing another new and exciting saga. What I purchased was a repeat version. I was throughly disappointed and felt like I had been ripped out to the financial benefit of the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2001

    Disappointed Avid Fan

    As an 'avid' Mitford fan, I was disappointed with this book. I was expecting a 'new' episode in the lives of Father Tim, Cynthia and Dooley.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Should have been included in the major flow of the story

    This is mostly about Timothy and Cynthia getting married but goes into a lot more detail than when it was just mentioned in the other book. I love Jan Karon's writing, but think she should have put this in sequence and woven it into the other book and pushed out the material overflow to another book instead of writing this one. It almost looks like an afterthought on her part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    ADVICE: Should be read between book #2 & #3

    My mother introduced me to Mitford right after the last book was written. Handing me her stack of books (in order), she pulled this book out and inserted it between #2 & #3. She insisted that the wedding story should be read between the proposal at the end of Light in the Window (#2) and an already married couple at the beginning of These High, Green Hills (#3). She said that it would keep me from getting confused the way she was.
    I guess fans were so sad to not be given any of the crazy details about the wedding that they flooded Jan Karon with the request, so she obliged.
    Even though it is her sixth novel, it should be considered novel 2.5.
    Hope this helps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Enjoyed the book very much

    Felt like it was out of place in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    I Highly recommend this book, I purchased the whole series and I enjoyed them.

    Jan Karon to my suprise wrote this series with feeling for the simple life, which sadly is gone forever. I highly recommend that you purchase the all the books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    This was a gift to another person.

    I had read this Jan Karon and many of her other Mitford Series;
    I enjoyed the characters and the settings.
    Had to share it with my daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    Very Romantic!

    This book beautifully describes various characters' experiences or thoughts concerning love, courtship and marriage all against the backdrop of Father Tim's marriage to Cynthia. You are likely to find at least one character that shares your perception of love and marriage in a touching way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2003

    Loved it!

    I read the other reviews, and I have to disagree in a way. I loved getting to go back in time and pick up on some of the events that were alluded to but not disclosed to the reader in other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2003

    Warm apple pie

    This was the first book I read in the Mitford series. It's clear to me why the series is so popular. It was well-written. The book actually felt cozy and inviting. Each time I picked the book up, I felt the day's cares drift away. Good stuff. I'll be reading more Jan Karon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2001

    We want the story to continue

    I was a little nervous going back in time. Actually, I was a little surprised to find that I didn't mind it as much as I thought I would. But, I want Jan Karon to move on. I need another bit of Mitford. I read these books as slow as possible so they won't end. I love the characters and the town of Mitford. Give us another one Jan, soon please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3