Customer Reviews for

Common Nonsense: Glenn Beck and the Triumph of Ignorance

Average Rating 2.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly fascinating

I had pretty low expectations for this book, expecting nothing but name calling. But it turned out to be full of rich information about media, conservative politics, and the man Glenn Beck. I don't think I'll ever watch his show the same way again.

posted by PortlandLiberal on July 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

A Joke

This book is a joke, and is full of lies. Maybe thats why its collectimg dust on the shelves.

posted by 2570826 on June 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    Surprisingly fascinating

    I had pretty low expectations for this book, expecting nothing but name calling. But it turned out to be full of rich information about media, conservative politics, and the man Glenn Beck. I don't think I'll ever watch his show the same way again.

    16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    A Joke

    This book is a joke, and is full of lies. Maybe thats why its collectimg dust on the shelves.

    13 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    Waste of money

    Poorly organized, the "facts" were more opinion than anything, I was hoping for more and was left.... bored.

    11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    Name calling

    I did not buy the book, but if the rest of the book is like the sample it is just the leftist version of what the author says beck does. He says Beck just plays on peoples hate and fear for personal gain. This would be more convincing if there was less name calling and if the book was free. Always interested to hear other view points and I dont always agree with what beck says, but this was far from anything other than name calling for profit.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Just Another Liberal Hatchet Job

    Just another attack by the left on someone who doesn't agree with their socialist vision of America.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    We are a republic

    WE ARE NOT A DEMOCRACY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I'm a Glenn Beck supporter, but I always read both sides of the

    I'm a Glenn Beck supporter, but I always read both sides of the isle. (You know, keeping the enemy closer!) I found this typical, and rancid. It was unfortunate that I couldn't finish it...It just wasted my time. Maybe one day, when I can't find an opposing view that logical, sane, and a true dialog of opposition, I may pick it up again. Beck isn't perfect by far, and I don't always agree, but this wasn't even worth buying it in a few years with a "remainder" mark on the bottom.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Another liberal activist dressed up as a writer trying to prove how ignorant conservatives are.

    Not only does he try to save us from ourselves but also twists and manipulates facts to prove his pointless views and arguments. Again another right wing zealot that tries to convince us that we are to stupid or ignorant to think and thus shouldn't even have the right to vote. Not surprisingly again us conservatives are all painted as ignorants or racists.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    BS

    $14.27 For the E-BOOK?!?! And you're calling Beck a money grubber who's only in it for the cash?

    Moron.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    Balanced look at Glenn Beck the main

    Alexander Zaitchik has written a well-researched and thoughtful book about the conservative media superstar Glenn Beck.
    He traces Glenn Beck's life from his early days growing up in Mount Vernon, Washington to his time as a Top 40 disc jockey at various radio stations around the country to his eventual rise as a conservative pundit and multi-media personality.
    Mr. Zaitchik interviews a number of people who worked with Beck as he rose through the media ranks. Some have positive things to say about him; others have less than positive memories of him.
    Readers will discover, for instance, Glenn Beck sported a pony-tail during his Top 40 radio days, dressed as a banana for a publicity stunt, and loved to snort cocaine.
    Anyone who is interested in learning more about Glenn Beck will find this book illuminating.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Horrible book

    I onkygave this one star because you cant go any lower, this was horrible dont waste your time or money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3