Customer Reviews for

Common Sense

Average Rating 4
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Reminds me of a current system in place, and not just on a governmental aspect.

Think of and compare Capitalism vs. Monarchy. Then think of and compare Kings vs. Corperate and Fame Giants. Ya know, the big dogs at the top whose families inherit generations of wealth, ownership, land, and fame. Now think about how carefully interagrate and infuse...
Think of and compare Capitalism vs. Monarchy. Then think of and compare Kings vs. Corperate and Fame Giants. Ya know, the big dogs at the top whose families inherit generations of wealth, ownership, land, and fame. Now think about how carefully interagrate and infused Capitalism has been introduced into not just politics but also the direction of the Progress of a People of not just our nation but as entire global regions; not just of our own constitution but as theirs or any hope for theirs as well... People should remember the firey desire of our forefathers for freedom. All the struggles they forced themselves to confront and suffer through just for a Freedom of the People... For a better tomorrow. Our forefathers were of not just a few but of an entire generation of free thinking men and women. Our forefathers bled in more ways then imagined on any battlefield. THEY BLED NOT FOR RICHES OR FAME BUT FOR AN IDEA! The Idea that ALL men are equal, all are worthy of equal opportunity and consequence regardless of the riches or rank of power they hold. No man less important then the next. No man deprieved of any available opportunity currently at the current pace of Civilization as the next man. I hold the torch of ALL my forefathers before. Learn from humanities story that has been told thus far..

posted by Anonymous on April 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Thought provoking at the very least.

I can't say that I liked this one, but I didn't hate it and I actually found it fairly interesting. It was intriguing and as Paine made his arguments for why we should revolt I kept having to remind myself of the time that this was written. It really made me think had w...
I can't say that I liked this one, but I didn't hate it and I actually found it fairly interesting. It was intriguing and as Paine made his arguments for why we should revolt I kept having to remind myself of the time that this was written. It really made me think had we not had people like Paine in our history where would we be today? How different of a world would we live in if there had not been revolutionists?

The language took me a bit to get used to. I realized how nice the dictionary feature on the nook really is... There were quite a few times that I had to look something up because I was lost as to what Paine was trying to get across.

Overall I think it was a compelling piece of literature. At the very least it was thought provoking and gave me a better idea of the place America was in politically and socially before the revolution.

posted by Jennmarie68 on October 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Reminds me of a current system in place, and not just on a governmental aspect.

    Think of and compare Capitalism vs. Monarchy. Then think of and compare Kings vs. Corperate and Fame Giants. Ya know, the big dogs at the top whose families inherit generations of wealth, ownership, land, and fame. Now think about how carefully interagrate and infused Capitalism has been introduced into not just politics but also the direction of the Progress of a People of not just our nation but as entire global regions; not just of our own constitution but as theirs or any hope for theirs as well... People should remember the firey desire of our forefathers for freedom. All the struggles they forced themselves to confront and suffer through just for a Freedom of the People... For a better tomorrow. Our forefathers were of not just a few but of an entire generation of free thinking men and women. Our forefathers bled in more ways then imagined on any battlefield. THEY BLED NOT FOR RICHES OR FAME BUT FOR AN IDEA! The Idea that ALL men are equal, all are worthy of equal opportunity and consequence regardless of the riches or rank of power they hold. No man less important then the next. No man deprieved of any available opportunity currently at the current pace of Civilization as the next man. I hold the torch of ALL my forefathers before. Learn from humanities story that has been told thus far..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    An Important Read

    This work played a key role in beginning the Revolutionary War. While young compared to his peers, Paine offered thought provoking insight as to why revolution was the only answer to the problems the colonies faced in dealing with a monarchy.

    In spite of his open anti-Semitic views, Paine makes valid points about the huge flaws in the British monarchy of the time. Student and/or friend to such notables as Franklin and Jefferson, Paine gathered the threads of their thoughts and wove a tapestry readable by the average person. Information became public in a brief and readable style born of the mind of Mr. Paine. He is the line that connects the founding fathers to the typical citizen.

    A valued addition to any Revolutionary War buff's library, this is highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Common sense by thomas paine

    Must reading for those who want to restore America to the people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    This is a must read for anyone political science major

    It's what our country was built upon and was the foundation for the Declaration of independence and the Constitution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    REQUIRED READING

    This should be required reading in every school in America. After 200 plus years it has lost none of it's luster or timeliness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Yay!

    This book is highly informative. In my social studies class we learned about this and i wanted to read it for myself. :) :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Great book but long

    Thomas paine wrote a great book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    I loved reading this!

    For the first time ever, I felt like I truly got a sense of what our forefathers &the American people of the time were thinking. This helped me understand & more fully apreciate al the historical books about our that I've since. Every American should read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Love history read!!!!!!

    Must read love history

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Enjoyed it.

    A good document for insight on our nation

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    A must read

    I feel that every American should read this pamplet by Thomas Paine to see why America is a great Country and that we need to go back and revisit the reasons that made us a great Country and heed the words of Thomas Paine....America was founded on the values of one King and that is God Almighty and our country is run by a President and Senators and Legislators that "We the People" vote into office and can and should vote out of office if they do not representate "US" the people of the United States of America. Our country is not about any person per sei, but about "WE the People" and we need to make out country the greatest.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2004

    America's History

    Thomas Paine helped the colonies realize that they had to break apart from Britain and become their own independent country. It is very well done and it explains why the American colonies had to become independent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4