Customer Reviews for

Communist Manifesto and Other Writings (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    The Ultimate For Understanding . . .

    Never have I fully understood what was so threatening about Communism. The concept, as explained by most, always seemed so benign. In such a large world, surely there could be some way to coexist. Why did it have to be one or the other. Reading this book has introduced me to the call for action brought about by the Communist philosophy - a total annihilation of every class other than the proletariat. While magnanimous in its acknowledgement of prior class struggles and accomplishments, it sees those revolutions and movements as only the beginning, not going far enough. The Manifesto clearly outlines that there must be antagonism to existing opposition parties with any means necessary. It's ending thought is a call for a forcible overthrow of all existing social conditions. Certainly the book advocates a me or them mentality.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Good quick read

    This is a very provocative book. Good start for anyone wanting to know more about communism and socialism.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    The Communist Manifesto

    William Murphy 04/05/?06 per. 2 The Communist Manifesto In Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels? book, The Communist Manifesto, Marx implies that no matter how important or how worthless you are, you are all equal. In Karl Marx?s historical nonfiction he mainly talks about having a classless society. In his book you have two classes 'the working class', also known as the proletarians, and 'the middle class', also known as the bourgeoisie. Karl Marx believed that the working class is the foundation of a surviving country, and as long as there was work, there was a working class. The Manifesto describes the struggle that the proletarians had when they were first created. As industry advanced, the number of workers increased, which made them realize that the working class was the majority and that they control the means of production. Karl Marx made the bourgeoisie the antagonist of the book. He tried to show you the negative things of the middle class such as how lazy and disrespectful they were to the working class. The setting of this book takes place all around the world, because Karl Marx had many followers of his beliefs. No country has ever succeeded in creating a communist society. In order to have a communist society there needs to be economic equality, no government, people own the 'Means of production', and no classes. 'The communists disdain, unworthy of one's consideration or respect, to conceal their views and aims. They openly declare that their ends can be attained only by the forcible overthrow of all existing social conditions. Let the ruling classes tremble at a communist revolution. The proletarians have nothing to lose but their chains. They have a world to win. WORKINGMEN OF ALL COUNTRIES, UNITE!' Karl Marx ends the Manifesto with that quote. What disappointed me about this book is how his communistic ideas never succeeded. You will never know if a communist society is a better method of running a country. I give this book a thumbs up and would suggest it to everyone.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2007

    A reviewer

    The historical context of this title supersedes all personal feelings regarding political idiology. While we may not agree with the implementation of Marx's ideas, every human being must appreciate the impact this work had on modern society. This is required reading for everyone who entertains the notion of seeking first to understand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    True

    His ideas of the working class and the struggles of the two of them has more weight then it did back then.
    Y

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Manifesto is Essential Read; Other Writings less so

    I purchased this book so as to familiarize myself with The Communist Manifesto, and I am glad that I did. The translation is easy to read, and I feel confident that I was able to understand and assimilate the main points that Marx is trying to get across.
    While I understand the historical importance of the other writings such as The Eighteenth Brumaire of Louis Bonaparte, I do not think that the addition of these works adds anything except additional pages to the book.
    Final Word: If you are purchasing this book because it is an affordable and effective translation of The Communist Manifesto, I say that you will get more than your money's worth. It is a piece of writing that everyone should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    That Marx

    The Communist Manifesto is a must read for anyone who is interested in political science or understanding what communism actually is. Many Americans, including myself, are taught from a young age that communism is evil, but we never get told what it even is. Although the manifesto will not give the reader a 100% view of what communism is and what it entails, the manifesto will certainly lay the groundwork. Marx lays out some ideas that, by most's standards, are somewhat radical, but he doesn't always convince the reader and he, like anyone else, errs by making generalizations and unsubstantiated claims. Nevertheless, the manifesto is a must read, and in reality this book contains two works by Marx and that manifesto is literally only 38 or 40 pages.

    Don't be fooled by countries like the USSR or China who get labeled "communist," as they have little or nothing to do with Marxist thought. Read the manifesto!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    very good book except for...

    The Communist Manifesto in all it's glory is an essential to add to anyone's library. The only problem I had with the book is having to read The Eighteenth Brumaire of Louis Bonaparte afterwards. It is a very boring and dull part in the book. If you plan to buy this, it is only worth reading the Communist Manifesto and the Theses on Feurbach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    Fantastic

    This book is amazing. Karl Marx and others have put to together a masterpiece. This book is more prevelandt nowadays then back in 1848. This book was very persuasive turning me into a Communist, because he strongly stated his case for the working class and against the buorgosies. I recommend this book for all who enjoy learning about different social and economic structures.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3