Customer Reviews for

A Companion to Wolves

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

I really enjoyed this book, not only because of the mythological aspects, but also because of the complex relationships between the characters. New and interesting, this book grabs you and does not let go. A little graphic at times, but still amazing. I hope profoundly ...
I really enjoyed this book, not only because of the mythological aspects, but also because of the complex relationships between the characters. New and interesting, this book grabs you and does not let go. A little graphic at times, but still amazing. I hope profoundly that there will soon be a sequel.

posted by Anonymous on January 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good story but.....

The story line was indeed good and the characters well done but the graphic homosexual scenes were way ovedone and unnecessary.

posted by Anonymous on June 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    Amazing

    I really enjoyed this book, not only because of the mythological aspects, but also because of the complex relationships between the characters. New and interesting, this book grabs you and does not let go. A little graphic at times, but still amazing. I hope profoundly that there will soon be a sequel.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    Vikings, Wolves, Gay Romance

    A very original story of Vikings, wolves and the men who love them. Great Gay Romance.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Good story but.....

    The story line was indeed good and the characters well done but the graphic homosexual scenes were way ovedone and unnecessary.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating and unusual fantasy

    Wolfcarls are men who fight the trolls and wyvern when they come down from the north and are telepathically bonded with their warrior wolves. There has not been a major Troll excursion in almost a century so the ranks of men and wolves are below full strength. They live apart from the community as the wolfhealls and the males must bond. Njall is picked as part of this year¿s tithe, an honor that makes him defy his father who orders him not to go. He bonds with konigenwolf Viradechtis, an alpha who will grow up to lead her own wolfheall along side of Njall, now called Isolfr. He learns what it means to be a wolfcarl, as major aspects of his life has changed, but his love for his wolf makes him feel it is worth any hardship. However, the trolls invade the land, killing all who stand in the way of their horde. Isolfr and Viradechtis risk their lives to stop the raiders, but will fail unless a recluse who wants no part of them helps and even then they may still lose. --- This collaboration between two greats has led to a fascinating and unusual fantasy. Although the story line follows much of the usual coming of age quest saga, the plot goes much deeper especially into the relationship between the wolfcarl and his wolf than most Scandinavian mythos based tales thus the audience learns how wolf society works. Not for the squeamish. A COMPANION OF WOLVES is a delightful sexually graphic (running the gamut) save the realm fantasy. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Good but odd

    good book , but if you are not a fan of gay sex scenes,you will not like it, it didnt ruin the story for me but i could understand if someone duslikes it or could not get into it because of that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2014

    This is only the second book I have ever put down before finishi

    This is only the second book I have ever put down before finishing it. The first was Salmon Rushdie's The Satanic Verses, which is still the worst reading experience of my life. This book is a very VERY close second. While I don't mind strange or unfamiliar names, people changing their names, who is or is not a wolf, alluding the male on male rape, oh GOD I just couldn't stand anymore and I really REALLY tried. This is the first book I have ever deleted from my Nook instead of just archiving it. It was so bad that I didn't want to take up valuable reading space. I wasted my time and my money on this one. Sorry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Wolves and homosexuals........ FINALLY!

    Finally, my two favorite things in one book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Love the story

    Even though I thoight I was pronouncing everyones name wrong this story really draws you in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    To spirt

    U want me to go here

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Viv

    Suppy

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Darkfang

    I gtg. Twila isnt on so see ya.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Alex to jay

    Huh?

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2