Customer Reviews for

The Company

Average Rating 3.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read! What's Not To Like?

    I'm not sure what book those other bitter,crab-apples reviewed, but It certainly wasn't "The Company" by KJ Parker (the cover of the book is not what sold me; the cover is not even particularly eye catching). What sold me on "The Company" was KJ Parkers well written military fantasy that had me hooked at the book store. This book is a rich multilayered story that mirrors the complexity of the abandoned island, where few things are what they seem. A genre bending story packed with intellect, friendship and betrayal.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    Disappointing.....

    I thought it was great all they way up to the last 10 pages. The ending wa anticlimactic at best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    dark gripping military fantasy

    The war ended seven years ago. Many soldiers left the military to return to civilian life. This includes four friends who never see one another anymore as that reminds them of comrades who died when the Confederation needed them now stoic over being alive but struggling with adjustment as many other vets are doing too. Their former commanding officer General Kunessin visits the quartet to remind them of the pledge they made while still uniform. They honor their vow to settle on a peaceful utopian island that Kunessin has found for them. He will fund their colonization. The men find wives financially desperate enough to willingly marry them in a group exchange of vows and accompany them to Kunessin¿s paradise. Everything is fine until gold is discovered. --- THE COMPANY is a dark gripping military fantasy that is a parable on the life of vets when the war is over. The story line is fast-paced from the onset as the audience gets a taste of how society turns its back on those who risked their lives when they are no longer needed for combat. The island is their escape from a reality they cannot readapt to, but even there society intrudes once gold is found as once again they are expendable. K.J. Parker will have readers pondering whether we are truly doing all we can for vets and their families. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A descriptive bore

    This book took forever to finish simply because I kept putting it down and delayed picking it back up except I finally wanted to finish it just to be done with it. The story takes place I would guess in the 1600's, before guns as the characters used bows, arrows and swords and wore chainmail. The main characters were in a war together but afterwards, after much time apart, come together again to populate an island with wives. The only interesting part of this book is the ending however it does leave questions to be answered. Read this if you have alot of patience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Proof that the cover and synopsis sells a book

    After reading this book's synopsis on the flap, you'd think that this would be an engaging, interesting fantasy read....but, boy, would you be mistaken. There are just so many things wrong with this book, the main ones being: the story is meted out in baby spoonfuls, giving us tidbits of the characters' pasts (which aren't interesting and too far between to boot), the story takes much too long to get going (they actually get to the island about halfway through the book, with boring build-up to keep you "entertained" until then).
    But the biggest problem with the book is the characters: these 5 main fellows maybe the most boring, ill-crafted characters in any book I have ever read. Not only are they not interesting, but it's hard to tell them apart, which is also due to the ridiculous names in this book (Now, I love fantasy, and understand the concept of creating fantastical names, but these were retarded: my favorite was Proiapsen (what?), another bad one was Achaiois) But the main thing is you just don't care about them: there is nothing engaging or interesting about them, and you find yourself wondering why the author chose these characters to carry a book.
    The characters are horrible, the story slow and lousy, and the writing is bleh at best. Save yourself 25 bucks and steer clear of this novel and read the much better fantasy out there.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Company is a fine example of what a good inset cover description can do for the sale of a book. The Romance paragraphs that try to woo you in to purchasing this book is very well written and you get more plot twists from the inset than the book.

    K.J. Parker sets this story in a fictional land and centers around a group of 6 men infamously known as the Line Busters. The Line Busters were a famous company of men that were sent in to a battle to "bust" the enemy's lines to allow the pike men following them to break through the line and rout the enemy. The main characters of this book are the most famous line busters who survived more than 30 encounters where previous line busters would last one or two. Sound exciting? I thought so too but that's where the excitement ends. You are spoon fed bits and pieces about the Line Busters encounters in the war and most of the novel attempts to explain what happened to the line busters after the war. One of the Line Busters has found an Island that was forgotten by the government and being familiar with the paperwork and lack of oversight, decides he will take ownership of the land and achieve his life long dream of being a farmer. However he can't do it alone so he sets off to get the rest of his line buster crew to join him.
    The novel goes on to explain how the line busters handle women and marriage, indentured servants to do the heavy lifting while adding in a few unexpected twists along the way. The Novel reads like the Oregon Trail software games of years ago where you have to equip your team with all of the essentials they'll need and handle the aftermath of unexpected events such as storms, floods or fires.
    A better example of this genre would be Joe Abercrombie's First Law trilogy. Finely crafted characters mixed in with a subtle fantasy angle and exciting plot twists make this a must read trilogy.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1