BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Company

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    Great read, but a little short!

    Great read, but a little short!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Petalfur

    "Okay. I just dont want 2 people to get hurt in this. If things go weird."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Smokeseer

    Ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Dawnfur

    Im the owner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Mynt

    Is a pale gray shecat with misty blue eyes and a nice smile. She is a member of Thunderclan and is looking for a mate. She is only 11 moons, but she wants a cat to like her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Annex Star

    Beautiful gray she cat with clear blue eyes. Caring, kind, spunky. Must first join Ethereal at 'frankenstein' res one. Willing and wants to have kits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Lynxfur******* tap

    ** Golden shecat with white paws and light blue eyes. She has a striking pink nose.** Nice and confident, likes to smile.** Mate is looking. ** Other ask

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Great Book

    Picked this up on a whim a few years back, loved it. I now own all Max Barry's books and haven't been disappointed yet!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    A Real-Life Dilbert!

    As I started reading this book I kept feeling that it was a long string of Dilbert-like situations. My copy came with the donut on the cover and the donut is very prevelent throughout the story as a whole fiasco is created at the beginning of the book when Roger (one of the Sales people) complains about a missing donut. This leads to an employee firing and the dismissal of the food services department. The donut may also symbolize the company as a whole. The more I read the book I kept thinking of Terry Gilliam's movie Brazil, where Robert DeNiro is kind of running things in the background or the Wizard of Oz where the wizard is just a plain man who hides behind a curtain. The main protaginist is known mostly as Jones (his first name is Steven). Jones has a habit of asking a lot of questions even though all the employees tell him not to question anything. Little by little Jones gets to the bottom of what the company (Zepher) is really about. He has to decide if he wants to upset the balance or go along while being mesmerized by the mysterious 'Eve.' This was a fun book on corporate philosophy and the treatment of the workers as individuals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2007

    Excellent book!

    I couldn't put this book down. After completing Company I had to go out and by Jennifer Government which I am now reading. A great break from all the legal thrillers out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    Not nearly as funny as he thinks he is

    The premise of the book is far-fetched, but that's fine. It's clearly meant to be a satirical commentary on modern business practices. Even so, this isn't sharp-edged, intelligent satire. Instead, it's predictable and ultimately disappointing. Based on prior reviews, I had high hopes, but those hopes were dashed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2006

    Time for my union-negotiated coffee break...

    Humorous and meaningful, this book is for anyone with a job, whether in a cubicle or not, who feels like standing up and taking on the boss. Sit back, have another donut, and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2006

    Send Up of Corporate Life

    An insightful look into another drab, incompetent, soul-sucking corporate environment called 'Zephyr Holdings.' The premise is amusing with a real twist that makes this novel a shrewd corporate satire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    The Wav e of The Future?

    This is a lark, but while it seems totally unreal that a situation of no one knowing what their company does is not possible, I am certain that some management styles use this as a model. This is a book of the company is first and change is the only sure thing. Keep things a secret and you have a control over your employees and their behavior that is second to none. Of course, there is a certain type of worker who would not exist in this environment, but remember Enron and WorldCom. They managed to keep their staff in the dark and settle their winnings with the privileged few. This has the same tone to it. It is funny and easy to read, but at the same time you think 'is this necessary?' Doesn't anyone who works know that this type of mentality is alive and well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2006

    He's done it again!

    I was in the middle of reading The Kite Runner when this one finally arrrived (I preordered it months ago), but I immediately dropped everything else to read it. It's got a great plot twist early on, so I can't say too much about the story. It's about a guy who gets a job at a company and realizes soon after he begins that he has no idea what the company does. He begins a quest to understand the enigmatic mission of Zephyr Holdings, and that's when things turn a little strange. As in his others novels, Max Barry uses over-the-top parody to satirize the corporate world. This one's mainly about general management and office politics, so most everyone will see elements that they recognize. When you're not frightened by how familiar these characters and situations are, you'll be laughing. For anyone looking to comparison to his other novels: I think it's better than Jennifer Governement, but probably not quite as good as Syrup. It shares their theme of corporate satire but with more focus on general management. It's a quick read and a lot of fun, and I have a feeling it'll be one that I think about for a long time in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    Worth the wait

    I had read Syrup and Jennifer Government and had been waiting for Barry to come out with his third book. This was well worth the wait. The book has some great twists in it and I couldn't wait to finish it. The only problem is waiting for Max to come out with his next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2