Customer Reviews for

Compel

Average Rating 4.5
( 495 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(312)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Even better the the first!

Read it in just a few hours and was absolutely in love with every word I read! So in love with these characters I just can't get enough!! Can't wait for the 3rd to come out :)

posted by Jazmine__ on June 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Author worth reading

If you are thinking about buying this book, please read Book 1 before. It explains almost everything you need to know and you will not enjoy this book unless you have the background. Book 1 was a free download so I figured no harm done if I didn't like it. Thankfull...
If you are thinking about buying this book, please read Book 1 before. It explains almost everything you need to know and you will not enjoy this book unless you have the background. Book 1 was a free download so I figured no harm done if I didn't like it. Thankfully, I did so I bought this book and will also buy the third, just so I will know what happens. There are some scenes that are not described well and you can tell it's vivid in the authors imagination but the writing doesn't help me in anyway. That being said, the author is very creative and gives great twists and turns. The one thing that I urge the author to do however, is to re-read her own work. What I found most annoying both in book 1 and book 2, are the errors. I'm not talking grammar errors that a casual reader may not catch but full out typos, wrong usage of words thanks to MS Word and an entire slew of other mistakes that overall cheapens the book. It made it difficult for me to continue sometimes because it was so very amateurish. The only reason I downloaded book2 is because the story is truly engaging and I wanted to see what happened to the characters and their journey. If you have nothing else to read and want to escape, this is worth reading.

posted by MeeraStarr on June 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 497 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Author worth reading

    If you are thinking about buying this book, please read Book 1 before. It explains almost everything you need to know and you will not enjoy this book unless you have the background. Book 1 was a free download so I figured no harm done if I didn't like it. Thankfully, I did so I bought this book and will also buy the third, just so I will know what happens. There are some scenes that are not described well and you can tell it's vivid in the authors imagination but the writing doesn't help me in anyway. That being said, the author is very creative and gives great twists and turns. The one thing that I urge the author to do however, is to re-read her own work. What I found most annoying both in book 1 and book 2, are the errors. I'm not talking grammar errors that a casual reader may not catch but full out typos, wrong usage of words thanks to MS Word and an entire slew of other mistakes that overall cheapens the book. It made it difficult for me to continue sometimes because it was so very amateurish. The only reason I downloaded book2 is because the story is truly engaging and I wanted to see what happened to the characters and their journey. If you have nothing else to read and want to escape, this is worth reading.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Even better the the first!

    Read it in just a few hours and was absolutely in love with every word I read! So in love with these characters I just can't get enough!! Can't wait for the 3rd to come out :)

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    LOVED IT!!

    I have been waiting for this since I read Demon Girl! It was well worth the wait. A very good read with lots of unexpected. Just when I thought that I knew what was going to happen next Rae shocked me. I could not put this book down. I can not wait for the next install and find out just what happens with Rae.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Shockingly well written for fantasy

    I have to say that I have found Demon Girl and Demon Day shockingly well written. Demon Day even more so than Demon Girl. The characters are compelling and complex, the story is not formulaic and I couldn't put it down. I read a lot of sci fi and fantasy and have resigned myself to enjoying fun stories written poorly. I am looking forward to the final installment. If I have a complaint, it's that the timeline seems too short. I don't think a psyche would stand up well to the trauma Rae has experienced in such a short time. I perceive the time as passing more slowly and am continually surprised by the references of how few days have passed.

    Well done Penelope! I can't wait to read more in the future.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    And It keeps getting better!!!!

    I didn't think it was possible but it was even better than the first book! I loved every single page and I swear my eyes nearly rolled out of my sockets with how fast I scanned the pages! Not to mention the ending was so beautiful and perfect it made me cry. Definately worth the read and one of my top favorite books of all time. I've read alot of books in my time so thats saying something!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Penelope Fletcher does it again!

    Demon Day sucks you in with its rich characters and unique storyline. Ms. Fletcher has a talent for description that puts you right in the middle of her vision for the book. I love this story and I can't wait to read the final installment! Read Demon Day and go on a fun filled ride of action, mystery, and intense emotion as only Penelope Fletcher can create.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Mind blowing

    I serioussly dont know where to start. You have to read the first one to fully understand. At times i was super superr lost in the begging of the 2nd book. But it only made me want to read the book more. When i got in the middle of the book i did get slightly overwhelmed as did the main character did as well when she figuared out all the answers that were confusing in the begining. This book is great. Leads from one action to another. Even leaves off at a really good part so i HAVE to see the 3rd book! This book is about 700 pages long & is worth every page! Towards the end i just couldnt put it down -Paigee

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    So good!

    Can't wait for the third!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    well worth the wait .. love it

    this book has greater detail than the first .. this world was opened in my mind so clearly .. would be a great book for the makers of avatar .. thrilling action and emotion
    i will be waiting patiently for any this author writes in young adult class

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Love these series!

    I love the Rea Wilder series! If you love a great book, read all three books. Can't wait till november when the new book comes out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Rae Wilder Novels GREAT....

    A real NOVEL! In depth devlopement of characters in this trilogy. Must Have for SciFi readers who also want a bit of Romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Penelope Fletcher does it again!!!

    What a great an unexpected follow up to book one in the Rae series. This book won't let you down if you've read the first one. I can't wait to start book 3. Good job Ms Fletcher!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Loved it

    I loved this second book in the series. Im about to start the third one. Theres a few errors in grammar but nothing too hard to overlook. This is a Great series to read. I couldnt put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Good

    I highly recommend reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Talent, pure talent.

    I love this author. Like most of the others rating this book I was hooked from the first book. Demon Day is even better than the first book, giving you so much more of an insde look into Rae's new world. I laughed, I cried, this book takes you through the entire range of emtions. You will not be sorry if you buy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    This book was awesome a page turner

    this book is awesome I cannot wait to read the next book. I hope is just as exciting. I cannot wait to read will recommend to my friends. I love to read great books.
    Terri Nelsn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Keeps you reading

    Loved book 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    *WickedReader*

    This was a good book in a decent series i liked the world and most of the charecters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Loved it

    Great writing hard to put down and so glad she doesn't drag out the love triangle i hate that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    gripping story in a great series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 497 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25